Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,105 个评分
227 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

热门审阅

LA
May 25, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK
Oct 11, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的 200 个评论(共 232 个)

创建者 Anup K

Sep 7, 2019

Good Course

创建者 ONUOHA C A

Jun 24, 2019

Outstanding

创建者 Ignacio E F

Oct 29, 2020

Muy bueno!

创建者 Eddy A S M

Jun 3, 2019

Excelente!

创建者 Albert N

Oct 20, 2021

V d and u

创建者 Wentao ( Y

Dec 11, 2020

great!!!!

创建者 Luis S

Nov 17, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Jesús A O D

Apr 5, 2020

Ecxellent

创建者 Jeshua R G

Mar 6, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Shakil A S

Feb 16, 2021

amazing!

创建者 Lida M

Nov 11, 2019

Thanks.

创建者 Kim S J

Jul 9, 2020

Good!!

创建者 JANAKI K

Oct 25, 2021

good

创建者 Trushal K

Jul 21, 2021

Good

创建者 Tanvia Z

Jul 14, 2021

创建者 pablo p

Feb 23, 2021

.

创建者 fabien M

Apr 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course.

I noticed a strong acceleration from week 2 to week 3, and in some case, it may be difficult for non native English speaker to answer correctly to the question (as it is formulated), event with years experience of high level business english (including in legal/contract analysis).

The course covers many aspects, but one may have to wait a little for some parts to be clarified (you may experience a lot of questions before getting the answer some lectures after

创建者 Camila E R

Feb 2, 2021

It was wonderful! I just would like to have a section where to ask for questions to be answered by the teachers, because the foruns sometimes made me more confuse and unconfident...

At the end of the course, I still don’t know:

- How to discover in R that BMI is higher in men

- What to do with variables with many missing values

Thank you for the course. I will keep doing the other courses...

创建者 Sumaiya I

Jan 30, 2021

Overall the course has been satisfacory and helped in learning and refining the key statistical concepts in Public Health. It could be more helpful if videas were a bit longer and a bit more elaborative, as sometimes it became tough having a clarity on given topics and those times had to resort to google searches or youtube videos on the given topic.

创建者 Salsabeel I M

Apr 20, 2020

Indeed the course is great as a start. It is very focussed on public health, so it is suitable for those who are interested in medical research. It introduces the hypothesis formulation in an amazing way. In addition, it highlights the main commands in R that will set some grounds, yet one needs extra self-practice.

创建者 Michelle W

Oct 13, 2019

The instructor is clear and engaging. I enjoyed the real world examples that were used. My only reason for less than 5 stars is the amount of reading in week 3/4. I very much prefer videos to introduce the concepts, and then perhaps additional readings for further information... More video please!

创建者 SAVINO S

Sep 20, 2020

Very nice introduction, not so much watching but actually doing and reasoning with your head. This helps you going with your own pace. The professor is nice and informative and the course is well built. I liked to have the chance to explore some R and R studio along the studying. Well done!

创建者 rob v m

Feb 8, 2020

Excellent course. Step by step approach. I appreciated the video's and the learning material in the background presented in the accompanied papers. In addition, the exam questions and quizes were in line with the discussed subjects.

创建者 Shaswat L

Aug 3, 2019

This course covers up the very basic and important aspects of Statistics and Hypothesis Testing. What could have still been added were some more complex scenarios where this knowledge can be used and Hypothesis could be formulated.

创建者 Amu o c

May 17, 2020

wonderfully delivered lectures. however as a newcomer to R statistical software, i had a tough time trying to complete the course. i guess there is a need for a beginner like myself to have an introduction to R