Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Calculus

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Introduction to Calculus 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,715 个评分
541 条评论

课程概述

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

热门审阅

SV

Aug 30, 2020

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

KP

May 16, 2020

This course was great and very well explained; it has given me a solid understanding of calculus as well as the tools needed to differentiate, find integrals, etc. I highly recommend this course.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to Calculus 的 25 个评论(共 540 个)

创建者 Rodney M

Mar 09, 2019

I've tried a couple of calculus courses on Coursera. The others i've tried, assumed too much pre-calculus knowledge and did not provide adequate quiz's and problems. Also, they did not ease into new topics as much as i liked.

This course has not only been the best i've seen on Coursera, its the best mathematics course i've done fullstop. Everything is explained right down, right down to the simplest explanations. Many things are referred again to previous videos in the course if something is covered by another video.

I'd really like to shake the professors hand on this course. Magnificent work.

创建者 Marcus S

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent introduction to calculus. Clearly explained, great to have some history in there (I'd like more!).

It sets a cracking pace, so do set some time aside to really get the most out of this course. Highly recommended. Gives a great basis to delve into higher mathematics beyond high school.

创建者 Arman M

Jul 25, 2019

This professor explained all topics covered in a year long calculus class in the span of five weeks. I highly recommend taking this course either to learn calculus or for a review.

创建者 Matt W

Oct 14, 2019

Awesome Class. I have much respect for the instructor. I wish he was my Professor when I was a undergraduate taking Calculus. I'm going to go back and practice, practice, and practice! This class was a awesome review! I haven't had to use any of these concepts in my job for a LONG time. I will be using calculus now in my job. Most people don't use it. I will be! This class is probably the best class I had, so far, in Coursera Platform. I desire to take another class from this Professor.

This class was well presented and well explained. I didn't have to look at a text book for this class.

The readings were highly informative.

Thank you, Sir you helped me enjoy Calculus, Finally!

创建者 Andy F

Apr 23, 2020

This is one of the greatest course that I had the pleasure to attend. I would recommend it to anyone, whatever their field of study or level; just to open their minds about the beauty of one of mankind's greatest achievements, but also to develop a more rigorous, rational and analytical way of thinking. The latter adjectives are exactly what characterize this course. The lectures are straight to the point, the additional readings are of higher quality than anything that you'll ever expect to find in the most classic textbooks on the subject (trust my words, I have an extensive collection of these). And of course, David Easdown's way of presenting along with the graphics in the videos are as clear as crystal.

This is not a full course in calculus but an introduction. So, it has the imperfections of any introductory courses and should be taken as a complement to more advanced courses tailored for your needs. Yet, this single course has achieved the phenomenal outcome of being interesting both to students working on their A level and someone like me who's currently doing a PhD in Economics. I learnt much more here than anywhere since I first started calculus 10 years ago; I came for a refresher before attacking more advanced topics, and I'm leaving with a deep understanding of how things (which I thought irrelevant) are interdependent and make full circle.

For future attendees, have an open mind: go along with the pace of the course, attempt all the exercises and don't overestimate your understanding. At the end it pays off.

Thanks to David Easdown and his team for their passion and for putting the full course free of charge. I hope that the advanced course will come soon.

创建者 Kirill I N

Feb 02, 2020

During this course, I figured out that my pre-grad included neither derivatives, nor integrals (schools in province are bad). It was not a problem during my bachelor's studies in Linguistics, but became a huge issue now, once I've begun my Master's in Data Science. Finally I feel my studies getting easier, and my skin becoming cleaner and smoother every day (not really).

Seriously though, this is one of the courses (especially comparing to those from Russian universities) that feel like they were actually being meant to be studied by human beings. Furthermore, it does not require a full payment (or financial aid, at that) to take tests, which are also by far more numerous and frequent than I am used to (a huge plus).

To sum up, one of the best courses I've had a fortune of taking (so far). It felt really beneficial, considering I have to virtually build up my base from nothing in a very limited amount of time: exams are coming, and I still have a whole "statistics" field to cover. Moreover, it gave me a solid foundation which now allows me to (for now) selectively add urgent things like Taylor series and get into multivariate calculus. Still, when the times are better and less chaotic, I am most definitely looking forward to the other courses from the University of Syndey.

P.S. Additional kudos to Mr.Easdown, you've made the course that much better. Thank you!

创建者 Allan C T R

Apr 03, 2020

Amazing Explanations..... I love how the course is sequenced and it provides not only the mechanical solutions to calculus but also the theories behind each module and topics... Great Course

创建者 Md. H H S B

Apr 26, 2019

its awesome course...

Mentor is skilled and explains everything clearly.

But if anybody has little bit pre-calculus knowledge it will be more helpful.

创建者 James M

Feb 06, 2019

This is a great course and anyone interested in getting into a more detailed study of Calculus should start here. The only suggestion I have is to make the answers to the weekly exams available because it helps to know which ones were incorrect.

创建者 Moneer R A

Jun 16, 2019

An Absolutely incredible course. Well structured, and David Easdown is the best math instructor I've ever had. Thank you University of Sydney, and Coursera. And Please make a more advance calculus course as a continuation from this one.

创建者 Jean H

Jan 02, 2020

Well structured course, fast paced and very challenging. First three weeks were a much needed precalculus review that gave a strong foundation. Last two weeks on derivatives and integrals were gruelling but comprehensive. For the complete beginner this course makes the subject possible as long as you take each bit, one tiny piece at a time and understand it before moving on. Nearly gave up but glad I didn't. Just wish there was a next step. So many of the other maths moocs expect you to be a genius with too many leaps in explanations without explaining how you get there. This one is an exception in that it makes no dangerous assumptions about your knowledge. Calculus is a road block that keeps many out of science. This course goes a long way to removing that block. Please do more courses to build on this.

创建者 Raphael R d S

May 09, 2020

An Amazing approach. It's posible enjoy all thing in all modules because the course's prof. presents as much default Calculus topics as wonderful applications about the covered subjects.

创建者 muhammad a

Mar 29, 2019

its a very interesting course and i really want to learn this so thanks coursera community and specially the speaker for providing such a wonderful and handy knowledge and notes.

创建者 Joseph V M

Jul 04, 2019

While the material is at an introductory level, it is comprehensive. The exercises are well-structured and the lectures clear.

创建者 bella w

Dec 17, 2019

wish they did practice questions with an example of how they found the answer.

创建者 David P

Dec 07, 2019

Easily the best Math course I have ever taken. Offers the flexibility to stop and rewind the narrative, but unlike just reading a text, the instructor conveys his own infectious interest and excitement. The instructor anticipates aspects that may be more challenging, and offers background material to help the learners understand. I was supposed to learn all this thirty years ago, and it never made sense until now. Cannot recommend highly enough.

创建者 Michael L

Jun 03, 2020

This course was perfect for me as I hadn't taken calculus since 1970 as an undergrad. I needed the algebra and trigonometry tune-up that is provided at the beginning, and thereafter the material flowed beautifully. Thanks to Professor Easdown for his relaxed yet rigorous style. He incorporates just what I wanted, an appreciation of mathematics as an art. Bravo Professor! Michael Leahy, Chicago, Illinois USA

创建者 Chuck M

Aug 09, 2019

I want to thank Prof. Easdown (and SU) for an excellent course. The material was organized and timed at exactly the pace that was perfect for me. In addition, Prof. Easdown was consistently accessible and prompt responding to my questions and feedback. I don't see a next course, but I hope there will be one and look forward to progressing with the next course in the series.

Thank You Prof. Easdown!

创建者 Jason B

Jan 25, 2019

Professor Easdown is an amazing teacher and made something that is often perceived as difficult to be fun. The course covers a great deal of information in a short time, but Prof. Easdown is thorough and breaks topics down into understandable sections. The addition of colorful examples and historical facts adds a relaxed tone to the course, which is exceptionally helpful.

创建者 Max W

Jun 08, 2019

An excellent course that not only teaches the fundamental of calculus, but also goes beyond a typical math course and explains why and how the equations arise, instead of merely asking you to memorize them. The instructor is phenomenal and helps to show the elegance of calculus and how all these applications naturally flow from a few basic principles.

创建者 Keeran P

May 16, 2020

This course was great and very well explained; it has given me a solid understanding of calculus as well as the tools needed to differentiate, find integrals, etc. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Vitaliy P C

May 17, 2020

Hands down the best class I've taken on Coursera thus far (my 5th). Incredible instructor, superb video, amazing notes. Could not recommend it any higher. Will seek out again. Well done!

创建者 Solmaz G D

Apr 10, 2020

it was so informative and every things was planned intelligently all trough the course . I enjoyed and learned a lot of studying this course . Thank you for all your efforts.

创建者 Rojs A

Aug 31, 2019

Builds the idea of calculus from the ground up. Explaining everything steps by step and giving great examples. Overall great course.