Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Calculus

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Introduction to Calculus 的评价和反馈

4.8
stars
389 个评分
91 条评论

课程概述

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

热门审阅

AM

Jul 25, 2019

This professor explained all topics covered in a year long calculus class in the span of five weeks. I highly recommend taking this course either to learn calculus or for a review.

MA

Mar 29, 2019

its a very interesting course and i really want to learn this so thanks coursera community and specially the speaker for providing such a wonderful and handy knowledge and notes.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to Calculus 的 25 个评论(共 92 个)

创建者 Rodney M

Mar 09, 2019

I've tried a couple of calculus courses on Coursera. The others i've tried, assumed too much pre-calculus knowledge and did not provide adequate quiz's and problems. Also, they did not ease into new topics as much as i liked.

This course has not only been the best i've seen on Coursera, its the best mathematics course i've done fullstop. Everything is explained right down, right down to the simplest explanations. Many things are referred again to previous videos in the course if something is covered by another video.

I'd really like to shake the professors hand on this course. Magnificent work.

创建者 Marcus S

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent introduction to calculus. Clearly explained, great to have some history in there (I'd like more!).

It sets a cracking pace, so do set some time aside to really get the most out of this course. Highly recommended. Gives a great basis to delve into higher mathematics beyond high school.

创建者 Arman M

Jul 25, 2019

This professor explained all topics covered in a year long calculus class in the span of five weeks. I highly recommend taking this course either to learn calculus or for a review.

创建者 Md. H H S B

Apr 26, 2019

its awesome course...

Mentor is skilled and explains everything clearly.

But if anybody has little bit pre-calculus knowledge it will be more helpful.

创建者 Moneer R A

Jun 16, 2019

An Absolutely incredible course. Well structured, and David Easdown is the best math instructor I've ever had. Thank you University of Sydney, and Coursera. And Please make a more advance calculus course as a continuation from this one.

创建者 Joseph V M

Jul 04, 2019

While the material is at an introductory level, it is comprehensive. The exercises are well-structured and the lectures clear.

创建者 Jason B

Jan 25, 2019

Professor Easdown is an amazing teacher and made something that is often perceived as difficult to be fun. The course covers a great deal of information in a short time, but Prof. Easdown is thorough and breaks topics down into understandable sections. The addition of colorful examples and historical facts adds a relaxed tone to the course, which is exceptionally helpful.

创建者 Max W

Jun 08, 2019

An excellent course that not only teaches the fundamental of calculus, but also goes beyond a typical math course and explains why and how the equations arise, instead of merely asking you to memorize them. The instructor is phenomenal and helps to show the elegance of calculus and how all these applications naturally flow from a few basic principles.

创建者 James M

Feb 06, 2019

This is a great course and anyone interested in getting into a more detailed study of Calculus should start here. The only suggestion I have is to make the answers to the weekly exams available because it helps to know which ones were incorrect.

创建者 muhammad a

Mar 29, 2019

its a very interesting course and i really want to learn this so thanks coursera community and specially the speaker for providing such a wonderful and handy knowledge and notes.

创建者 Rojs A

Aug 31, 2019

Builds the idea of calculus from the ground up. Explaining everything steps by step and giving great examples. Overall great course.

创建者 Daniel H

Feb 28, 2019

I Loved how you could have the option to look over the notes instead of the videos to complete the course at a faster rate.

创建者 Sarthak G

Jan 11, 2019

The teacher is great and if you are beginner this course is really for you

创建者 Amr F A

Jul 27, 2019

Great course .

thanks for the efforts .

创建者 Rafael P R

Feb 19, 2019

Excellent and interesting course

创建者 Sesinam d Y

Aug 17, 2019

Took this course as a refresher since it has been a few years since I bothered with calculus and pretty much forgot most things. This course really doesn’t assume too much pre-calculus knowledge and instead contains a pre-calculus refresher that lays the groundwork for the calculus in later modules.

Although a few times I needed to pause the video lectures to give myself enough time to understand the logic in later modules, overall the video lectures were presented in a straight-forward and engaging manner. David Easdown communicated concepts concisely and his way of speaking and enthusiasm for math helped keep me engaged with the video lectures. The readings are also well put together and allow you to go over video material (plus more for certain lessons) at your own pace. Practice problems were mostly easily although a few could be a bit more challenging (but not too much). As much as I would have liked a few more challenging problems, it is an introductory course, so the current question difficulty makes sense to me.

Overall, If anyone is looking for a well-put together introduction to calculus course (even as a refresher), I would highly recommend this course.

创建者 Diego R G

Jun 04, 2019

Excellent course! I learned so much in such a short amount of time. It's an excellent introduction to calculus and a good way to increase your mathematical skills. The lectures are great and the readings allow you to get all the information at your own pace and are a good way to get familiar with proper mathematical language and notation without being hard to read (if you have paid attention!). The quizzes and exercises are challenging enough to make you think and feel rewarded for being able to solve them, but not enough to make you want to quit them (in fact, I had a lot of fun doing them!). My advice to other people that want to take the course is not to rush it and to do all readings and exercises (try to get a perfect score in all the exercises and to understand all the questions before attempting each week's quiz). I am grateful to the University of Sidney and to professor David Easdown for making a calculus course of such high quality accessible to everyone. I feel more confident in my math skills and ready to keep learning more advanced stuff

创建者 Jean H

Jan 02, 2020

Well structured course, fast paced and very challenging. First three weeks were a much needed precalculus review that gave a strong foundation. Last two weeks on derivatives and integrals were gruelling but comprehensive. For the complete beginner this course makes the subject possible as long as you take each bit, one tiny piece at a time and understand it before moving on. Nearly gave up but glad I didn't. Just wish there was a next step. So many of the other maths moocs expect you to be a genius with too many leaps in explanations without explaining how you get there. This one is an exception in that it makes no dangerous assumptions about your knowledge. Calculus is a road block that keeps many out of science. This course goes a long way to removing that block. Please do more courses to build on this.

创建者 Matthew W

Oct 14, 2019

Awesome Class. I have much respect for the instructor. I wish he was my Professor when I was a undergraduate taking Calculus. I'm going to go back and practice, practice, and practice! This class was a awesome review! I haven't had to use any of these concepts in my job for a LONG time. I will be using calculus now in my job. Most people don't use it. I will be! This class is probably the best class I had, so far, in Coursera Platform. I desire to take another class from this Professor.

This class was well presented and well explained. I didn't have to look at a text book for this class.

The readings were highly informative.

Thank you, Sir you helped me enjoy Calculus, Finally!

创建者 Michael C

Aug 08, 2019

This course was exceptional as a refresher for someone (me) who hasn't engaged in calculus in over 13 years. Professor Easdown communicated concepts in a straight-forward, easy to understand manner. It shocked me how he introduced so much material, so quickly, so concisely, and so thoroughly. The readings followed and expanded on the videos exceptionally well and will serve me well as reference sheets for the future.

This summer, I attempted 3 other processes to learn Calculus, each leaving me more lost and frustrated than the prior method. I only wish I had found this course earlier! If any seek a good introduction/refresher to Calculus, I recommend this before anything else!

创建者 Chris A M

Jan 18, 2020

The lessons were delivered clearly and explained the content thoroughly, delivering both mathematical methodology and history, allowing students to grow and develop an appreciation of the mathematical concepts. The tutor was superb with his teaching methods, and often replies to questions on the forums when a question seems to difficult to overcome.

Would definitely recommend to future students who are new to the concepts behind calculus, as the high quality of the content provided gives clear insights into what-seems-to-be difficult concepts.

创建者 Kochetova S

Sep 12, 2019

It was my gretest pleasure to listen to the lectures of Mr. Easdown. I liked Math at school, our teacher was very knowledgable and passionate about the subject. I've met just a couple of such great teachers like him. Mr. Easdown now is one of them. Even though I started this course just to refresh logarithms, I could not resist to finish it and always looked forward to the next lecture. Moreover, I would love to attend another course made by Mr. Easdown!

创建者 David P

Dec 07, 2019

Easily the best Math course I have ever taken. Offers the flexibility to stop and rewind the narrative, but unlike just reading a text, the instructor conveys his own infectious interest and excitement. The instructor anticipates aspects that may be more challenging, and offers background material to help the learners understand. I was supposed to learn all this thirty years ago, and it never made sense until now. Cannot recommend highly enough.

创建者 Gregory S

Jun 01, 2019

Excellently presented course with a great instructor. David Easdown's enthusiasm for the subject helped keep me motiviated. It does require a lot of work per week to keep up with the suggested schedule of the course, but just keep in mind they are not hard deadlines and your progress is not lost if you do not meet them. If you want a great introduction into one of the most interesting and useful areas in maths, give it a go!