Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Calculus

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Introduction to Calculus 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,956 个评分
909 条评论

课程概述

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

热门审阅

CN

Nov 13, 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

AF

Apr 8, 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

筛选依据:

76 - Introduction to Calculus 的 100 个评论(共 920 个)

创建者 Leonardo C M

Jul 19, 2020

This is a great course to take for people who are not at all involved in Calculus maths. I was new at it and I truly believe I have learned a lot. Excellent instructor and very comprehensive materials.

创建者 Thiago S d S

Mar 26, 2022

Excellent course. Great didactics, well-organized material, step-by-step explanations, with constant presence and support on the forums. I recommend!

创建者 Matt O

Apr 3, 2022

David did a great job explaining the concepts. The discussion and notes really helped with the practical questions on the quizzes. Thanks!

创建者 Adam E

Mar 15, 2022

W​ell paced and comprehensive course. Definitely harder towards the end but the material is presented with clarity and enthusiam.

创建者 Lesweni A M

May 10, 2022

Thanx very much to uplifted my self with big opportunity in completion of my course

创建者 Mau G

Jun 26, 2020

Very good course. The teacher is amazing!

创建者 Daryl J S

Jun 26, 2020

Great calculus refresher course!

创建者 Vaibhav K

Sep 20, 2020

Though I will acknowledge in advance that I was already familiar with pre calculus but had lost the touch due to a few years gap. Course was excellent and I guess most of the concepts are reinforced once again. The notes at the chapter end will help greatly in revision.

创建者 Ana M T

Aug 9, 2019

It is a great curse to learn the basic topics about Calculus, but it really is an introduction. The exercises aren't dificult, so I can't deep into this topics. Even though, the way it pretend to introduce the topics was great; I like it so much.

创建者 Veethika G

Aug 15, 2020

its a very good learning process for anyone who is starting or already knows calculus you will get your fundamentals revised as well as learned.

创建者 Fred V

Oct 18, 2020

Useful for teenage learning, catch-up learning, as well as refresh-learning. However, in the discussion forum, instructors verge on arrogance and indulge in fallacies. It is surprising to see, nowadays, instructors who blind students with their oversized egos.

创建者 Chris

Oct 2, 2020

Coursera woudn't let me unenroll from the course.

创建者 Karin S

Jul 28, 2020

This course is extraordinarily tough. I thought the illustrations were very helpful with connecting concepts and there were times I got excited seeing where things were going mathematically. The professor is very helpful and is very excited about the subject, which I greatly appreciate.

My only thing is that this course is horribly misnamed, but maybe the US and AUS have different standards for what is considered to be an introduction to calculus. You pretty much have 2 weeks pre-calc and then cover all of calc I over 3 weeks, plus some extra things to where I found it a bit overwhelming at times. If you're looking to level up your skills, he gives you some very helpful tools with which to do so.

创建者 Soohyun Y

Jun 5, 2021

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn calculus or brush up on their calculus. This course is so well designed and taught. The notes were incredibly helpful, and I feel that Professor David Easdown did a great job of explaining concepts and challenging his students. Furthermore, serious kudos to the video editor (and if it also happen to be the professor, double kudos). The visualizations were incredibly helpful in understanding the concepts faster. This course really boosted my confidence in learning while enjoying the process. If Professor David Easdown and his video editor were to do another collaboration, I think I would take the course regardless of the subject.

创建者 Suren S R

Sep 23, 2021

I had learnt elementary Calculus in college. Later in my MBA, I had to apply calculus and I realised that the way we had been taught calculus in college was very mechanical. Learn formulas, techniques and diifferentiate or integrate. This course was indeed an eye opener. May be a little late in the day, since I am 62, but I could understand how immensely helpful Calculus can be in solving real-life problems. Amazing that Isaac Newton and Leibniz thought through and developed this really brilliant branch of mathematics so many years back.

My complements to our teacher of this course. He is absolutely superb. Thank you Univ of Sydney for offering such a great course in Coursera.

创建者 Joy S

Aug 23, 2020

Thank you! This course was exceptionally well-organized and engaging. Dr. David Easdown is a passionate lecturer, and I very much appreciate how attentive and active he is on the forums supporting students and answering questions. As a person with a weak mathematical background who has been intimidated by calculus courses, I found the material provided the right level of challenge (the the video lectures/notes could move quickly through more advanced applications of the techniques we were studying, but I wasn't overwhelmed by the practice problems--it was a good balance). I have built some confidence in being able to tackle more advanced courses in the future. Thanks again!

创建者 Alvaro U M

Sep 5, 2020

El profesor es muy entretenido, sobrio, explica bien y se detiene en los conceptos. Se nota que "vibra" con lo que enseña. Los apuntes excelentes, sin grasa, claros y precisos. Los ejercicios destinados a la comprensión de los conceptos, no muy difíciles lo que ayuda a entender la materia y no complicarse con artilugios algebraicos. Las referencias históricas y relaciones con matemáticos que construyeron el cálculo, notables.

En Chile, estamos en plena pandemia (al igual que el resto del mundo), pero nos ha pegado muy duro. Tomé este curso para olvidarme un poco de la contingencia. hacía muchos años que no veía estos temas. Valió la pena. Nada que decir. Excelente.

创建者 Marwin d C

May 28, 2021

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken on Coursera. Professor Easdown explains the subject clearly and with great passion. The accompanying notes are excellent. Every bit of the material is explained in details and you will be able to solve the assignments and quizzes with the knowledge provided by the videos and notes. Note, however, that this is a short but dense course. You will probably have to invest a great amount of hours per week if you want to finish it within 5 weeks. But be assured that this is a GREAT investment of your time. I now feel ready to go deeper in calculus taking some more advanced courses. Thank you so much Professor Easdown

创建者 Brian L

Feb 23, 2021

This is a brilliant course by David Easdown. As someone who is rather 'long in the tooth' I found that the course provided much needed engagement of the mental faculties during the UK lockdown. It' was also like reading a good book - just did not want it to end! David's presentation is remarkable - no words are wasted and every sentence is delivered with sublime precision and with obvious enthusiasm. Enjoyable, challenging and immensely satisfying throughout. The notes are just right and the exercises are incredibly absorbing and fun to do. I do hope that David and the Univ of Sydney can find the time and resources to put on a further course.

创建者 Abhay V R

Jun 4, 2021

Going into the course, I hadn't done calculus in over 13 years, and I was quite nervous about whether I'd be able to get my head around these topics again.

Thank you so much Prof. Easdown for creating a fantastic course - while I can't claim to have mastered everything on offer, I do believe I am now more than proficient at basic operations, and better yet - my fear of calculus has been replaced (at least partially) with curiousity. I'm really excited about using this knowledge to do well in grad school, where I will be pursuing a master's degree in environmental management.

Thank you so much once again Prof. Easdown.

创建者 Adam M

Feb 19, 2022

Great course! Professor David Easdown has a great way of communicating information, is enjoyable to listen to, and has a very enthusiastic attitude towards teaching, which makes this course even more enjoyable. Eventhough this is listed as an intermediate mathematics course, David Easdown made it easy to understand every step in working, and has put a lot of effort into the notes accompanying every video to supply even more information and understanding, with plenty of examples to see how certain techniques work. Overall, I am really pleased with this course and how much I've learnt.

创建者 Anna K

Feb 18, 2021

Excellent course! I studied Calculus for two years in Russia and enrolled in the course mostly to learn the vocabularly in English, but I also enjoyed a great explanation of the subject and numerous excercieses that helped me to revise the material that I studied long time ago. I enjoyed the videos and the pdfs of the course very much! The course is well structured and allows to cover a lot of material in a short time. The teacher of the course, David Easdown, is a great encouraging presenter! He even replied himself to the question that I had. Thank you, David! Keep it up!

创建者 柳梦璃

Feb 1, 2021

This is definitely the best calculus course I've ever taken! The teacher is so passionate and has a good sense of humor. I am so grateful that he explains the reasoning processes for all the formulas and theorems. This is the first time for me to understand the beauty and simplicity of math. I am impressed by the elegant and useful "e", and I am surprised to know the association between the exponential function and the logistic function (which I use a lot in biostatistics). Thanks again for this amazing course!

创建者 Terry F

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent course materials and explanations for the most part. Exercises were very useful as were the notes provided with the different sections. There were only a couple of things where the instructor presented an idea which needed to be used to solve a type of function without adequately giving the origin of the idea and how it worked. I would absolutely take another course from this instructor and this has made me interested in taking another math course to progress beyond the material presented here.

创建者 Murat E

Aug 17, 2020

İnstructor David Easdown has been created a great course. The course is nourished with both so educative videos and notes. I also really loved instructor's sketches :) which are complete masterpieces. I had taken this course with some previous calculus experience and now with completion of this course I can easily say knowledges here developed my comprehension. I wish to thank David and other people who helped to create this course. I look forward to see new courses coming soon :D