Chevron Left
返回到 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的评价和反馈

4.7
511 个评分
94 条评论

课程概述

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

热门审阅

GW
Feb 18, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

JP
Jun 2, 2020

It’s a great project requiring good application of java. Some steps were hard to follow but understood them after some time. A good project to end a specialisation course. Cheers.

筛选依据:

76 - Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的 89 个评论(共 89 个)

创建者 Guangchen X

Feb 28, 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

创建者 SHREYANSH J

Oct 21, 2019

Wonderful course learned a lot by making a recommendation system...but some assignments are bit hard to understand what they want from you but everything else is fine. Everyone must take this course

创建者 Deepika J

Nov 29, 2020

We can view this project only using Duke's Platform. It would have been much better had this capstone guided us in deploying our project in the form of a web-app.

创建者 Kerstin K

May 28, 2017

Course was good, great programming assignments.

But you can forget the discussion forums. No Mentors or Staff really present.

创建者 罗杰彬

Feb 11, 2016

It's a great course. Students build a simple search engine step by step in the course.

创建者 FANGRONG P

Feb 19, 2016

The project is a little bit easy yet tedious, a good practice of using Java though.

创建者 Alexandre C

Jun 16, 2017

Nice introduction to Java and programing principles in general

创建者 Roberto R

Mar 9, 2017

it was another nice exercise

创建者 Lei H

Jun 10, 2018

Very interesting project!

创建者 William G

Nov 15, 2020

This is the only course I didn't like in any way. Enforced bad naming conventions to make a programme already built run with a website is more like three steps back than any steps ahead. For those who don't care about completing a specialization I would advise to spend your time somewhere else. You won't learn anything from this course. But it does get you that nice certificate - worth it? You decide.

Course 2-4 of the specialization are amazing though.

创建者 Ahmed N A

Sep 5, 2019

Once again the lecturers decide to give you 30% of the project and tell you to complete it. The first two weeks tells you to build a flimsy base for your application and the other two tell you to pull your crap together and go back and fix it. I don't understand what the point of that was, why didn't you make me do it right from the start? It was more frustrating than helpful but it wasn't a bad project, just poorly handled. Hard to call it my own when

创建者 Martin G

Jul 18, 2018

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system

创建者 Dionte J

Mar 17, 2020

I submitted a question to the forum back in Oct. 2019 for assistance with the last course in this specialization. It's now March 2020, I have gotten no feedback from moderators or course instructors, and this was the last course I needed to complete to earn my certificate. However, I refuse to continue paying a subscription fee for a course that isn't monitored or maintained.

创建者 Артем Р А

Jan 8, 2021

useless and unprofessional