Chevron Left
返回到 English for Journalism

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Journalism 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,410 个评分
792 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

CS

Jul 12, 2020

I'm grateful for this course because I've gained different essential skills especially about journalism. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for this great and unforgettable opportunity.

MA

Feb 18, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

筛选依据:

201 - English for Journalism 的 225 个评论(共 777 个)

创建者 Pilar B

May 31, 2021

This course was excellent. I never imagined i could learn so much about my professional career through an online formation. Thanks for democratizing knowledge!

创建者 Elena O D

Apr 30, 2022

this course is really relevant to me. The lessons are very interesting and very educational. Everything ithat i learned from here is very useful in my field.

创建者 Khalil u R K

Aug 28, 2018

I am truly glad to learning English for Journalism, new aspects, new areas of modern electronic media etc , and will definitely recommend it to people I know.

创建者 Ilya R

Aug 16, 2017

It was a good introductory course on journalism for the beginner. I recommend it to you if you want to understand media and think about journalist profession.

创建者 Плешков А О

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you so much John and Eve! You are incredible fellows! I hope that a new audience will find you and the course will become even more popular! Good luck!

创建者 Astrophel S

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent source of knowledge to polish english language skill for Journalists or Journalist to be whose native language is not English. Highly recommended.

创建者 Fozia K

May 14, 2017

It's great opportunity for all those people who couldn't manage to complete their education...

I really enjoyed learning and different mental assessments....

创建者 Sharumathi K R

Jan 31, 2017

Really a helpful and informative course. A way to enhance both journalism skills and English Language. It has a good timeline of the lesson and assignments.

创建者 Priscilla P

Sep 17, 2016

The course is great! I loved! The contents are in line with the current reality of Journalism. Congrats to the teachers and the Pennsylvania University. :)

创建者 Xènia P C

Sep 28, 2020

It is surely a good way to improve your communication skills and your journalistic vocabulary if you are not familiar with the field! I really enjoyed it!

创建者 Ajay M

Apr 30, 2017

English for Journalism is a very good course to be done by any journalist. The trainers and faculties were very co-operative. Thank you for their support.

创建者 Michiko H

Sep 16, 2016

This course is good for my English ability. A lot of people all over the world entry this course,and I could read the stories they wrote. The experience

创建者 Diana M

Jan 9, 2022

It is a really useful course. The videos are really clear and the teachers use the most accurate vocaburary for you to understand it. Really recomended.

创建者 Zoya R

Jul 31, 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. Everything is legible and thorough. We could have taken some photos, as journalists often have to do this in printing press.

创建者 EDMAR G (

Apr 27, 2022

I GAVE IT 5-STAR FOR A REASON THAT IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE AND IT HONE AND INSPIRE ME TO BECOME A JOURNALIST SOMEDAY. THANK YOU FOR THIS OPPORTUNITY.

创建者 Vanesa d P N A

Jun 8, 2020

Me parece que es un curso muy didáctico, que deja grandes enseñanzas y está muy bien estructurado.

Muchas gracias por hacer estos espacios pedagógicos.

创建者 Dasarathan

Mar 10, 2021

This course is my first step in to the online learning platform. Yes, I have learnt abundantly from this course! Hope to learn more in coming future.

创建者 RALPH J S

Apr 17, 2022

This online course has helped me learn more about journalism, ethics, and writing an article. English for Journalism will help me in writing stories

创建者 Sandra E A

May 17, 2020

This course is extremely helpful and is exactly what you need if you’re a beginner. The teaching is very systematic and I had a great time learning.

创建者 Sriram K

Jul 16, 2020

This course gave me many insights. Methodology designed in such a way to learn theoretical and practical aspects. This is very much useful for me.

创建者 ELIZABETH M A

Sep 25, 2020

Muy buenas referencias sobre la historia del periodismo y útil para conocer el correcto uso de los tiempos verbales en las redacciones en inglés.

创建者 Tayyaba

Nov 27, 2018

It was very helpful course. I have learnt many things regrding journalism and English grammer. I have improved enough after finishing the course.

创建者 Sylvie T

Sep 26, 2016

It's only 1 word: stunning! The material, the instructor, the animation, the sample, the design. Proficiat and it has to continue in next batch.

创建者 Zacarias J

Mar 6, 2022

Wonderful course. Easy-to-understand materials and teachers who explain in a way that the student understands the subject. Super recommended!!!

创建者 Rizza M M R

Apr 25, 2020

The experience of learning through online has never been better.Thank you for making my first online class memorable Coursera team. More power!