Chevron Left
返回到 肯尼迪的半个世纪

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 肯尼迪的半个世纪 的评价和反馈

4.6
304 个评分
79 个审阅

课程概述

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

热门审阅

JN

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

KS

Oct 22, 2015

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

筛选依据:

51 - 肯尼迪的半个世纪 的 75 个评论(共 79 个)

创建者 Dean J M

May 09, 2016

Clearly great content and multimedia in this course, and the story-telling method was very much enjoyable. 5 out of 5!

创建者 Darlene M

Mar 14, 2016

The legacy and assassination of JFK impacted my life greatly. As a 7th grader in my grade school, we held an election and I ran and won the election as JFK. I remember exactly where I was when the assassination occurred. I have studied President JFK ever since so this course was highly interesting to me and appreciated hearing a new perspective on his legacy and learning of his influence on his presidential successors.

创建者 Mohd N K

Aug 14, 2015

Very interesting and comprehensive course on JFK.

创建者 Ann M D

Feb 23, 2016

I found this very informative. The only negative comment was the amount of times Professor suggested students to read his book suggests that the motive of the course is to sell more copies of the book.

创建者 Игорь А А

Jan 23, 2017

It's very interesting!

创建者 Leah G

Apr 07, 2017

I enjoyed the course and the book very much. Kennedy's life, presidency, and legacy is a fascinating topic in modern American political history, and Professor Sabato took an interesting approach to it. I'm too young to have as visceral a reaction to the stories as my parents do, and partly I wanted to understand that generation of Americans and the effect that these events had on them better. Also, the Kennedy years were such an interesting historical moment, a time of great change and great potential (for both good and awful things). It was very interesting to listen to the professor trace the historical effects of many of the events of those days, and to see him measure the impact on later presidencies and world events. It was a brief class, and even the book couldn't go into enough detail for many of these topics, but I thought this was a good overview, and it merely sharpened my interest to learn more from other sources with other perspectives or areas of focus in the future. A very interesting and stimulating course.

创建者 mansi g

Oct 02, 2018

easy

创建者 Amal A E I

Sep 05, 2018

Very good Course , I really enjoyed it

创建者 Francisco M P

May 29, 2019

I have bought the book

创建者 Olivia H

Jun 05, 2019

Thanks Larry Sabato you're a legend! This course helped me so much and I chose to do my A level history coursework on Kennedy and got a good mark, in part due to this. Loved it :)

创建者 Clifton L

Jun 20, 2019

Great exposition of President Kennedy's influence in American politics

创建者 Valentina B

Jan 24, 2016

History made easy, helps understanding a lot of the things going on now in the scenario of politics in America

创建者 salamades

Aug 22, 2016

A nice course about Kennedy. I didn't know much about him and this course make me able a little more to understand his qualities and his drawbacks.

创建者 Joan E F

Sep 01, 2015

E

创建者 Abdel-Rahman H

Jan 22, 2017

The course is really really great, the reason that i gave it 4 stars not 5 is only because the professor has been frequently promoting for his personal book!

创建者 jean j

Oct 15, 2015

good course. professor tries to sell his book too much. it's emba

创建者 Amelia R

Feb 01, 2016

Great course! I definitely enjoyed watching every single video and doing my own side reasearch on things I wanted to learn a little bit more about. I did buy the book, but that is also something I didn't like about the course. It seemed like the course's sole purpose was to get us to buy the book. There were so many moments where it would have sufficed to expand or explain something a little further, instead of just giving us an inconclusive idea and then tell us to check the book. This made it look and feel more like an advertisement for the book. But despite all that, I learned a lot and it was a great topic and wonderfully prepared. You just have to ignore the book deal.

创建者 Mohamed M A

Sep 03, 2015

Nice course, it's content is highly tied to it's title. It gives you an overview over the US presidents since JFK not only him, also some information before he took the leadership.

You can finish it in 5 days or less !

创建者 Maria K

Jan 04, 2018

It was interesting to learn about the influence of Kennedy.

创建者 Tom D

Jun 14, 2019

No other students took the course with me, so there was no interaction with students o professor.

创建者 Jim C

Oct 16, 2017

I wish there was more about his life and career, less on following presidents. Half the course focused on the assassination, which is misleading

创建者 Vicky

Oct 31, 2017

Professor Sabato explains everything in a really nice manner, slowly enough to not get confused and fast enough to not get bored. The course in itself is well organised and the material provided (videos, photos, recordings etc) is a "nice touch". I am really glad I followed the course and I would recommend it to anyone, since the topic is important not just for humanities students. Also the workload is so little that allows even the busiest of you to follow it, I promise! I had fun and I cannot wait to buy the book. Thank you!

创建者 Hugh G

May 17, 2018

The course spent too much time on the details of the assassination; the discussion of the following half century was weak, with a peculiar emphasis on tax cuts and military action -- did terrorism 'restore purpose' to America's foreign policy? The frequent exhortations to consult the professor's book for important details were particularly vexing.

创建者 kjj2015109044

Nov 26, 2015

g

创建者 Manuela P

Sep 29, 2015

I wish a more extensive exam was administered. I think it was far too easy to pass. Gives the impression the course was not to be taken seriously, while, quite on the contrary, it was interesting and would deserve much effort.