Chevron Left
返回到 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life 的评价和反馈

4.6
406 个评分
140 条评论

课程概述

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

热门审阅

ST
Jun 20, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB
Jun 23, 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

筛选依据:

51 - Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life 的 75 个评论(共 142 个)

创建者 Deniz A

Apr 6, 2020

This was a great course with lots of examples and ideas to think about. As a psychology student, I find lots of concepts to think about, with my background information from various personality theories.

创建者 Tina G

Sep 3, 2018

I learned a lot about what self-knowledge and how it can enhance my life. The lectures and forum discussions were very thought-provoking. The meditative moments were an added bonus!

创建者 Prashant S D

Jul 6, 2020

A really good course about different philosophical ideas from several philosophers about the examination of life. The teaching technique is really good and easy to understand.

创建者 DANIE G

Oct 22, 2020

It was such an amazing experience to understand and learn how to know ourselves better. I really enjoy the activities and the lessons about the topics and it is engaging.

创建者 Tammie T

May 10, 2021

Great philosophy course. A lot of abstract concepts here, so it would be helpful if the speed of the Prof's speech is slower, to allow more room for contemplation.

创建者 Peter H

Dec 21, 2020

A highly informative course that took its students on a clear step by step journey through a variety of philosophical thought. Enroll, you won't be disappointed.

创建者 Nur W B A W

May 17, 2020

This was incredibly fun and relatively easy to follow. The additional readings were also helpful in painting a better picture of the topics. Very recommended!

创建者 Björn v M

Sep 12, 2021

​I found this course very interesting and challenging, I feel that I have learned a lot about the great thinkinker and philosophers. I want to learn more.

创建者 Kathleen B

Sep 6, 2020

I wasn't sure what to really expect but this was a great course to get me thinking and challenge me along the way. The meditative moments were SO lovely.

创建者 Everlinda A

Aug 3, 2020

This online course is really great. This has been an eye-opener for me examined my life. I also, would like to learn more about this. Thank you so much.

创建者 Alexandra R

Jul 18, 2020

Very interesting course and very inspirational.

The Tutor is very serious, charming and convincing, even inspiring.

I can only recommend.

创建者 rebecca r

Sep 7, 2018

this course was super well explained, lovely to watch, and very easy to absorb and apply to self through the introspection questions.

创建者 Luis C O

Sep 6, 2018

Wonderful course. Congratulations prof Mitch. Keep up the good work. Very interesting the meditations. It was a wonderful initiative.

创建者 Michael S

Aug 24, 2020

A brilliant course. It teaches much ability to think and much useful knowledge. Also it is very engaging and a pleasure to take.

创建者 Dimitris A

Feb 18, 2021

My Gratitude to the Teacher. He was Great. Thank you so very much Sir! Be well and keep influencing people the best way possible

创建者 Chen Y

Jun 24, 2021

This course opened another door for me to know myself better. It really helped me to be more aware and be in the present.

创建者 dh

Feb 9, 2019

Good content just a technical issue some of the modules repeat themselves even though they have different names.

创建者 Mystery L

Feb 10, 2021

It was a pretty good course. It was interesting but I already though of most of the theories being discussed.

创建者 Kathleen R

Jan 15, 2019

Fascinating subject. Course was well-designed, good lectures and interesting readings. Highly recommend.

创建者 马秀欢

Jul 25, 2019

It's really useful and helpful,especially the extra materials applied in it. Thank you for everything.

创建者 Samiksha S

Sep 9, 2021

Great course to start philosophy lessons and knowing yourself. Amazing tutor and teaching material.

创建者 Joe G

Sep 8, 2018

Very well-done online course packed with knowledge. This was my favorite Coursera course thus far!

创建者 Imogen H

Aug 28, 2021

m​otivated me to think more about other topics- taught in such a lovely way thats easy to follow!

创建者 Christopher L

Aug 26, 2018

Great introduction to basic, Philosophical concepts and thinkers largely by way of Descartes.