Chevron Left
返回到 Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management 的评价和反馈

4.7
137 个评分
48 条评论

课程概述

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

热门审阅

SM

Jun 21, 2020

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

TC

Jan 17, 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

筛选依据:

1 - Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management 的 25 个评论(共 48 个)

创建者 Sabine

May 30, 2018

I have enjoyed the course very much. It is well structures and offer a good overview of the various steps towards EBM of LMEs. It is also a great source of information and references about current TDA-SAP efforts in various LMEs. The graded activities are interesting and provide the opportunity to work more specifically on one or 2 examples of TDA-SAP. The grading process it self is a bit difficult as each question is sort of a good or bad options only , there is no room to provide a more refined assessment such as yes main elements were provided but failed to fully answer the question and deserve a 3/4 grade but choice is only 0/4 or 4/4. The feedback we get from the graded activities is therefore limited.

创建者 Amy P N

Jun 17, 2020

Absolutely brilliant course! It gives so much great information to really get to grips with LME assessment and management, as well as lots of resources to fully engage with the topic. The videos and readings were all easy to follow and the assessments were never too hard, but definitely gave opportunities to really look into the topic in depth. I really do recommend this course if you're interesting in marine ecosystems and their conservation.

创建者 Arturo M

Jun 25, 2018

Very recommendable course, with high quality teaching classes and a wide knowledge offer from ecosystem characteristics to effective marine management. Very easy to follow, starting from the basics in the first weeks and going deeper and more difficult in the study while advancing in time. Tasks and activities very challenging and interesting, the best ones those qualified by the other students of the course. A really good learning experience!

创建者 Loyiso V

Jun 28, 2018

This programme is quite impressive. As a student, I often finished my work during last minutes. But the way it i structured and created, I find my self learning many concepts and enjoying it too. It is a well developed and amazing way of learning and teaching. I hope that some else tries it, as my first online course, it definitely won't be my last. Thank you to all the members of the LME.

创建者 Andrés T

May 17, 2020

A very good course, with tools and good information by experts in the field. Highly recommended to understand the management and analysis of the large marine ecosystems on the planet.

Un curso muy bueno, con herramientas y buena información a cargo de expertos en la materia. Muy recomendado para comprender el manejo y análisis de los largos ecosistemas marinos en el planeta.

创建者 RAAD K A J

Dec 26, 2019

في تاريخ الأمم المتحدة لا يمكن أن يقال دون الحرب العالمية الثانية. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن تجربة هذه النتائج الحرب في تأسيس الأمم المتحدة، تهدف إلى الحفاظ على عالم يسوده السلام وازدهار الأمم. وعلى النقيض من هذا المثل الأعلى، في بعض الحالات فشل الأمم المتحدة في إنهاء الصراعات الأهلية، مما يدل على الحد من الأمم المتحدة. أعتقد أن الوقت نحن بحاجة إلى إصلاح شكل إدارتها قادم.

创建者 Katherine H

Sep 25, 2018

I thought this course was excellent! It is the first online course I have completed, and I found it interactive, engaging and informative. The information was conveyed through a good mix of media, and the assignments and quizzes at an appropriate level to retain one's attention and make one think !

创建者 Abderrahmane K

May 17, 2020

A general review of LME assessment and management. You will learn the meaning of LME and some aspects related to their assessment and management. You will have access to plenty of resources and documentation related to this subject.

I recommend to all marine biologists.

创建者 Sarah M

Jun 21, 2020

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

创建者 Tanya C

Jan 17, 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

创建者 Muhammad A R

Jul 27, 2020

This is really an excellent course particularly those who are interested in marine ecosystem-based management. I will surely recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

创建者 Natalia M

May 09, 2020

Wonderful course! The agenda is extremely interesting and very well organized. When you finish it, you feel a little more hope for the future of the planet. Thank you!

创建者 Richard G

Feb 20, 2020

Good course, especially for the money. It won't make you an expert, but it's a good place to start. Course participants were pretty timely in reviewing submittals.

创建者 Divyangana K

Apr 18, 2020

The course is great for beginners. The assignments are not too daunting, but rigorous enough

Some more addition in global perspectives section would be great.

创建者 Laura M Á T

Jul 03, 2020

Excelente curso, organizado en todo el proceso, super enfocado, excelentes instructores muchas referencias, y buenísimo para mi carrera de biología marina

创建者 Ajay S

Jun 29, 2020

Professor Moloney & Dr. Sherman made a truly eye-opening course. Short enough to fit into most schedules, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Highly recommend.

创建者 Md. M U R

Jul 04, 2020

This is an interactive course. Those are highly recommended to whom are related to the management of marine ecosystem.

创建者 Dane L

Sep 26, 2018

Great course but the volume levels of the videos need to be adjusted. Difficult to hear even at maximum volume.

创建者 paulina t z g

May 22, 2020

Extremely useful course for people interested in sustainable management of the oceans. Hightly recommend it.

创建者 Ekemini O

Feb 01, 2019

I have enjoyed every bit of this course. It's very interesting and engaging. I've learnt a lot. Thank you.

创建者 Leticia M

Feb 06, 2020

Very interesting, great information. 100% recommend it for anyone interested in marine ecosystems.

创建者 AGYEMAN N A

Oct 18, 2018

A VERY INFORMATIVE COURSE. I RECOMMEND EVERYONE INTERESTED IN ECOSYSTEM MANAGEMENT TO TAKE IT

创建者 Sofía I A C

Jul 26, 2020

Great course!! so happy I did it...and excited to apply what I have learned on my LME.

创建者 Md. A A

May 04, 2020

Very interesting and enjoyable course. I have learnt many things from here.Thank you

创建者 Juliet D

May 19, 2020

It was excellent. I would love to do another one like this in the future.