Chevron Left
返回到 Magna Carta and its Legacies: Freedom and protest

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Magna Carta and its Legacies: Freedom and protest 的评价和反馈

4.5
33 个评分
14 条评论

课程概述

This course examines the roles that Magna Carta has played historically as well as the importance of Magna Carta today. It aims to equip students with a critical understanding of Magna Carta and its significance around the globe. Students will find out what Magna Carta is, how it came about, and why many believe that it remains one of the most significant documents in history. We will investigate why Magna Carta was perceived as 'radical' in its day, why it continues to be the source of numerous debates, and why its anniversaries are celebrated widely up until the present day. Magna Carta's most recent anniversary took place in 2015, when the 800th anniversary of Magna Carta's sealing on the meadows of Runnymede in Surrey was celebrated....

热门审阅

筛选依据:

1 - Magna Carta and its Legacies: Freedom and protest 的 14 个评论(共 14 个)

创建者 PILAR V

May 2, 2020

This course was complete in historical and political views regarding the Magna Carta.

It explains in detail all the implications throughout history and the impact in everyday life after 800 years.

The instructors were knowledgeable, and it was easy to understand the lectures.

My only complaint was some reading materials were not accessible, when I clicked on the link it said was an error.

Overall this an enjoyable experience.

创建者 Claude S

Jun 10, 2020

A very interesting course. I personally would have preferred a course more focused on the original Magna Carta, the problems that led up to it and the study of the main antagonists. Nevertheless, I understand that at the dawn of its 800th anniversary, it was more important to stress Magna Carta's impact over time and effectively, the study lessons proved that there was more to this document than meets the eye.

创建者 Shivam A

Jul 21, 2020

One should definitely join this course if he is interested in knowing the first brick of democracy and statutes. Magna Carta is the first written statute that helped us protect the fundamental and natural rights of the public.

创建者 Kabir M

Sep 29, 2020

As an Indian citizen, I think the traditions of Magna Carta definitely reflect in the constitution of India as well, and obviously I am bound to, some extent, look at the traditions in a critical perspective. But overall the course has really achieved what it set out to do, that is that it really made the history of Magna Carta in UK and the lands which would eventually become the commonwealth clear. Though I think the creators of this course have avoided having the hard conversations on the dark aspects of the British Empire by just focusing on the impact of the Magna Carta on the American Constitution, and avoiding the conversations from former South East Asian and African colonies

创建者 russell p

Sep 14, 2020

i am particularly interested in Magna Carta because the Cathedral's 1215 version used to be rolled up unbelievably in a drawer in my office in the Cathedral .

The course is excellent and informative and i would recommend any one with the slightest interest in Magna Carta and world history to enrol on the course

创建者 Beatriz m D

Dec 20, 2019

It has been a good course.It is always good to know the politics of other countries.Ihave not done thepeer task because I cannot access the certificate.Thank you,Bea.

创建者 Sana A

Jul 18, 2020

It was highly beneficial and informative. Moreover, this course will help me to write more about human rights and their relevance with other fundamental laws today

创建者 Tomas B

Oct 25, 2020

A very great and interesting course about Magna Carta.

创建者 FRANK A

Aug 21, 2020

A very interesting course

创建者 Andrés M G O

Nov 8, 2020

very good course

创建者 Angela R

Sep 17, 2020

I thought that this was a very interesting class. As an American, Magna Carta is something that is really only taught in World History classes, it is not a basic topic of study for all students. It really should be, and I am glad that I was able to really learn about it in such depth.

创建者 Sebastian S

Nov 20, 2020

An excellent course, however, if fails to address validity of Article 61 in present time.

创建者 Joy S

Nov 4, 2019

I learned that there is way more to Magna Carta than just the history

创建者 Kritika M

Aug 26, 2020

Overly stretched out. Not much new stuff to learn in it. Also, a bit biased towards Brits in the beginning. Enjoyed the frankness of discussion towards the end about the dark side of Magna Carta and the acceptance of the fabrication of its legacy. Could have been a 2 weeks course.