Chevron Left
返回到 Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

学生对 多伦多大学 提供的 Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 的评价和反馈

4.8
8,309 个评分
2,440 条评论

课程概述

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

热门审阅

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

筛选依据:

2176 - Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 的 2200 个评论(共 2,453 个)

创建者 Carl L G C

Jul 3, 2020

This is a course for those looking for a good overview of how psychological concepts could be applied to how we can react functionally during this pandemic. It does not, however, add anything new for those who are already well-versed in psychology. It might, in fact, be somewhat disappointing for people who have already read a lot of studies on managing anxiety. Nevertheless, it is a good refresher and reminder of what we can do to manage our anxieties.

创建者 Ayushi

Jul 6, 2020

I found the course very organized content-wise. It was a good choice for not including too many technical details as the course is meant to be for everyone. But I would like to see more lectures on how to control our mind and behaviour with more correlation to human psychology.

Overall, the course was enjoying and it definitely helped me. I had the course to look forward to while starting my day.

More lectures with more content would be really helpful.

创建者 8026

Jul 11, 2020

Hi! Prof. Steve Joordens your course was extremely helpful to me and made me realize how important it is to be healthy mentally and have an effective mind control, it made kinda prepared to face my anxiety and depression with the guided relaxation audio that you shared in this course! grateful for your knowledge sharing & Also a big appreciation to the front line health workers! thank you coursera for providing us with this course!

创建者 Miriam S B

Feb 3, 2021

La verdad es que esta muy bien el curso, muy bien explicado con ejemplos muy claros para que se entiendan bien los conceptos.

Si que es verdad que para mi al ser sanitaria había muchos términos que ya los conocía y ratos se me hacia algo mas pesado, pero en general muy bien y encuentro que puede ser muy útil.

Sin duda un curso que recomiendo, sobre todo si no se tiene nociones básicas de sanidad.

创建者 Michelle V L

Apr 29, 2020

This is very timely for COVID-19 and the our lives in general. A good balance of theory and practice to get people to understand enough of brain “wiring” and things to DO. It removes the feeling of trying to become movers and shakers of the world, and to realize to physically distancing and strengthening social connections is a personal and civic duty. Thank you!

创建者 AKHILA A

Jul 4, 2020

This was a really insightful course. It gave me a lot of takeaways and reminded me of the little things that I could do as an individual although we are in this pandemic. I loved the concept that it is not meant to be a period of social distancing but physical distancing with connection to people via virtual platforms on a physical and emotional level.

创建者 Laura G

Aug 31, 2020

This course is a great exercise in self-reflection and has amazing suggestions for those struggling with circumstances created in response to COVID-19. The course is developed with neuro-typical people in mind and is quite short, preventing it from thoroughly exploring how some of the concepts could be applied for neuro-diverse individuals.

创建者 Nikki K

Nov 12, 2020

This course was provided in a personable manner - using a conversational style that makes it appealing and accessible for anyone. I appreciated that it didn't dive heavily into academia, but provided useful examples and practical tools for managing your own personal mental health situation during COVID-19.

创建者 Mary T

Dec 28, 2020

Rather than providing a key word (or, trigger) for the relaxation response, I think it would have been better to set up the technique by teaching the students how to select a key word that would have particular impact for themselves. "Beach" will not necessarily have a positive mental image for everyone.

创建者 Nirvana H

Jun 12, 2020

Thanks for the valuable information, I would like to ask for further references to be added at the end of every lecture.. this may help us to gain more information about anxiety, depression and so on.

Another point, the certificate is not related to Tornoto University! What is written is only coursera!!!

创建者 Susanne M S

Dec 1, 2020

Hello,

I enjoyed this course. Especially because it's so relevant to the situation we're all going through right now.

Thank you Professor for taking the time to share what you know to help others.

I look forward to more content Eg. You mentioned you may do another course on depression.

创建者 Aldo M R

Sep 5, 2021

Gracias por la mágnifica oportunidad de aprender relevancia sobre el control mental para afrontar el covid 19,muy nesesario en nuestra sociedad que sirve de mucha ayuda para apaciguar el stress, la ansiedad y depresión en momentos tan críticos de la salud pública, muy agradecido.

创建者 DAVID D J V H

Aug 7, 2020

Muy buen curso para aprender a controlar nuestras emociones no solo por lo que esta pasando a nivel mundial, creo que son técnicas aplicables a muchas situaciones donde nos sintamos "amenazados", pero pues principalmente funcionan es este tipo de situaciones actuales.

创建者 Ruhulamin S

May 9, 2021

I liked this course a lot. I was in depression during COVID-19. The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

创建者 Cigdem T Y

May 6, 2020

I found the presenter's style very compassionate. I found the topics and offered methodology very effective, simple and honest. My only recommendation would be perhaps a little bit shorter presentations and less repetitions. Thank you, all the best and stay well!

创建者 bilal s

Oct 15, 2020

Its an amazing course that help you discover your self, and deal with depression, anxiety. It also let you think in investment and discovering new hobbies and learning new thing that will help you.

In addition it teach you to let go of bad thoughts.

Thank you!

创建者 Christian M F

Aug 30, 2020

I like the charisma and simplicity of the author of the course. The course is very short, for sure you can generate other additional videos to cover other additional strategies. Congratulations for your generosity and desire to help others.

创建者 LaShawna O

Jul 23, 2020

Thank you for helping me understand how to let go of things I can't control to reduce stress/anxiety through breathing, pausing, physical social distancing, connecting verbally with positive people and re-calibrating essentially. Thank you!

创建者 Jofe M M G

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and expertise despite having a very simple gadget. I agree with you that it is the message and teachings that are more important. Keep up the good work and good intentions of helping others. God bless.

创建者 Mohammad A

Jul 29, 2020

The course is very effective in a pandemic situation like corona virus, and it help us to know circumstances and work according to the situation. In such scary situation how we should keep our mind stable can understand from this course

创建者 Anusha T

Apr 25, 2020

Takes into consideration the influence of COVID on the mental health of people, around the globe. Along with providing information and techniques that are not only relevant during this pandemic, about also helpful when this is all over.

创建者 dhanashree m

Oct 13, 2020

I am dealing with a lot of anxiety at the moment , but this course helped me to kind of take control over my emotional state , and bonus it has shown the practical ways to cope with it ,it was really helpful and easy to understand .

创建者 Konstantina C

Mar 8, 2021

I think it is helpful to add also other meditation styles even as a reference, so that people dont get discouraged if one style doesnt work for them. this is why i put 4 instead of 5 stars. thank you for all the info and ideas. <3

创建者 Dr M

Jul 6, 2020

Enjoyed the course, very useful and lucid presentation. However had to take the course twice to get the certificate. made some enrollment mistake in my first attempt. hence even after completing it, could not get the certificate

创建者 Paula C A G M

Apr 16, 2020

This course was extremely interesting and I´ve learned a lot of useful things. Sometimes, in my point of view, content was repeated and summerized too often, but in general I am very glad I assisted that course. Thank you so much!