Chevron Left
返回到 Managing as a Coach

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Managing as a Coach 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,015 个评分
293 条评论

课程概述

Do you (or do you want to) manage employees? Have you ever wondered how to get better performance out of those you manage? Are you unsure if you are communicating effectively with your employees? If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, then this course – and its associated specialization – is for you! Leadership and management responsibilities have changed dramatically, particularly in the last decade. In order to be an effective manager in increasingly fast-paced and complex organizational environments, coaching has become essential. In this course, you will learn what coaching is and learn how to differentiate between it and all of the other myriad roles managers are expected to perform – managing, mentoring, leading, and training. You’ll learn about the importance of strong leadership and learn to describe your current point of view as a leader, and evaluate when to adjust your thinking in order to be more effective in managing and leading in a rapidly evolving workplace. And finally, you’ll be introduced to the Thought Model, a coaching technique you can use to develop better thinkers and better performers. So if you’re ready to learn all about how to be a more effective and valued manager using coaching techniques, join us as we explore more successful managing through coaching!...

热门审阅

JW

Aug 27, 2020

This was a great course to help reinforce the need to approach issues with the mindset of a coach. It will enable me to have much more productive conversations with people as we work through problems.

EM

Nov 18, 2017

A great course for the beginners. The videos are short and easy to comprehend. The slides can be downloaded in PDF - i find it very convenient as i can share some of those slides with my colleagues.

筛选依据:

1 - Managing as a Coach 的 25 个评论(共 288 个)

创建者 Pia A

Jun 23, 2019

Wow! This course has been applicable not just to the challenges I'm facing as a new manager, but how I approach challenges in areas outside of work as well. I feel like the last 2 modules were teaching me how to think in a whole new way, while the first 2 shaped my perspective as to what my responsibilities as a manager are.

创建者 emmanuel m

Nov 18, 2017

A great course for the beginners. The videos are short and easy to comprehend. The slides can be downloaded in PDF - i find it very convenient as i can share some of those slides with my colleagues.

创建者 Petr M

Dec 10, 2018

Very practical basics for all managers with some knowledge how to lead a team, but without big picture and background principles. I will use it for all my people willing to start with management.

创建者 Érika A C

Mar 02, 2016

Excelente curso. Explicações claras e consistentes que me fez refletir sobre minhas ações no trabalho e sobre minha carreira.

Valeu muito a pena e não vejo a hora de começar o próximo.

创建者 Subramanian V

Jun 28, 2016

This Course is Excellent, bu all means.

Teaches the Nuances of all the Roles: Leader, Manager, Mentor, Trainer and Coach.

The Trainer Kris Plachyis awesome. Excellent Delivery Skills.

创建者 Daniel F R

Nov 06, 2018

Loved the course!!! Really straight to the point. Worth studying.

创建者 Dr. V K A

Jul 21, 2020

The Course was an eye-opener. I have been Coaching quite a few Managers, since years. And had used the TAB (thoughts-attitude-behaviour) concept a lot. But Prof Plachy explained the Thought Model exceptionally well with her examples related to the corporate world. I used the RAFT approach right away (twice since yesterday) and it is truly amazing. So, not just the content is well structured, but the delivery too is great. In addition, peer reviews helped understand some other nitty gritty which I was missing out. The questions asked in between the videos were well-timed--kept me alert all along.

Looking forward to more courses from University of California, Davis.

创建者 Navi C

Aug 23, 2020

This course has taught me how to be more accepting of the fact that sometimes when we have issues with our staff, employees or just people in our lives, sometimes it's our own view that needs to be inspected in order to see what the real problem is. We make decisions based off of our own way of thinking but sometimes we need to step back and analyze the situation with a different perspective. Managing as a Coach has also made me realize that there's much more than just managing a team, you need to be able to manage them, lead them, mentor them, train them and lastly, coach them.

创建者 Mohammad A R

Aug 29, 2020

This is a simple common sense course that helps you integrate and strengthen your learning and practices as a Manager. Using practical experiences and real-life examples the course makes you understand the role of a manager and the requirement of coaching. Using the thought model the course teaches how to analyse a problem and also provides tools to find out desired results using the same model backward. I personally liked the contents and deliberation of the course and these are useful for me.

创建者 Kiera R K

Nov 02, 2016

While I was only auditing this class, it has easily been the MOST useful Coursera class that I have taken thus far. The examples were realistic and relatable and helped me see where I can improve by increasing my self-awareness and giving me tools to think through current and future situations. This is a great and informative class, particularly if you are a fledgling manager like myself or finding yourself stuck and/or feeling disconnected from your staff!

创建者 Joshua B

May 24, 2020

Straightforward if you've had experience at the manager, VP, director, or c-suite level. I found it to be a nice refresher because even as a CTO I always need to keep learning and I have multiple mentors and coaches. Two minds are better than one and it is always good to have diversity and collaboration to cultivate a culture of inclusion, trust, transparency, and opportunities for growth. Enjoyed the course. Thank you.

创建者 Kerry T

Jun 06, 2019

I love this course - I'm a new manager who inherited a challenging employee and I needed coaching skills quickly. The content is excellent, and the assignment really drove home the point. I am actually using my peer assignment as my plan to address a critical performance issue with my employee. I feel much more confident in my skills as a manager and coach, and I look forward to putting it all into practice.

创建者 Elizabeth S

Mar 25, 2018

This is a great course where the coach also learns about him- or herself and easily understands how to apply the thought model in coaching conversations. It is a welcome method that simplifies complicated situations where the coachee is empowered. This is what I have found extremely valuable because coachees do not want to be manipulated but understand and learn during the coaching conversations.

创建者 Sarah V

Oct 26, 2020

I think this is an excellent course! Kris really knows her stuff, covering critical skills for managers that they may never have learned in class or on the job. I love the emphasis that managers really need to understand themselves, their point of view and thought processes in order to be successful in helping their employees be successful. Great course!!

创建者 RAJ R B

Mar 20, 2020

The Course is actually very well designed. Its a must for all they can do better with little guidance. The Thought Model if applied properly can give expected results which means the performance can be planned and delivered as per plan. A very powerful tool indeed not just for corporate success but for all walks of life.

创建者 Silvia C R

Jun 19, 2016

I really enjoyed this Module, sometimes we are a Manager or Coach without the idea of the activities and full definition of what we have to do. Understanding and reflecting on the responsibilities and actions of a Coach is very important, this is what I take as a great learning and experience of this Module. Thanks!

创建者 William M F

Jun 22, 2016

To the point and powerful. I like the assignments and I was surprised with how much we focused on our own thought model and value system rather that external circumstances & people. I expected a course on "how to manipulate (coach) different personality types. It turns out that good coaching starts with me.

创建者 Bernard D V

Jan 16, 2018

First course of the specialisation "Coaching Skills for Managers Specialization ".

You will learn what is coaching, why it's necessary and how it's linked to leadership.

It's a really good course and I learnt a lot. This course is offering an original point of view about coaching and management.

创建者 mun c F

Jul 04, 2020

The course has one main point - the thought model. Yet the instructor brings us through concepts, examples, exercises etc. to gradually develop us before unleashing the thought model on us. By then it become very easy to understand what this model is all about and how to use it well.

创建者 Ana M

Sep 30, 2017

I am following all the courses of the specialisation "Coaching Skills for Managers"and I am finding them really valuable. The teacher is very knowledgeable and also extremely good at explaining concepts. It is a good mix of theory and practice. Recommendable course for all managers!

创建者 Samat K

Apr 11, 2019

The course is useful and practical. The materials are accessible and comprehensible. The pace of the presentations and presenter is just OK.

I could get understanding of different roles of a manager, importance of coaching, and the factors that helps and hinders the coaching.

创建者 Diana C

May 24, 2018

The thought model taught in this course is a game changer for learning to utilize a neutral perspective toward any challenges you face at work. You will learn the difference between a circumstance/fact and a thought or belief and your life will be so much less stressful.

创建者 Martyn L M

Jun 10, 2017

Every course in this series was excellent ... so practical ... so oriented to those of us who are not professional coaches, but rather those of us who oversee daily operations and are helped by learning coaching and many of the other helpful components of this course.

创建者 Nitin N

Mar 02, 2020

Thanks to Kris plachy. she is one of the best tutor I ever had.In this course I learned about different roles of a manager, importance of coaching, and the factors that helps and hinders the coaching. I would highly recommend this course to budding management guys

创建者 Maurice E

Jun 28, 2018

The course flowed smoothly and was easy to follow along. The instructor is professional and very well spoken throughout the production. The peer reviewed exercise keeps one involved with other learners and really helps to make this an enjoyable experience.