Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,398 个评分
621 条评论

课程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

热门审阅

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DP

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very good short course. Was very useful and informative. The videos were very creatively made. The shorter duration of each videos was an added plus to get the solid attention of the viewers

筛选依据:

26 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 50 个评论(共 614 个)

创建者 REALINO P

Apr 19, 2020

I studied this particular course way back in my college years since I am a Mechanical Engineering student here in the Philippines but I found this way of teaching more informative and conducive for learning even with just a short span of time. Thank you Dr. Shackelford. Thank you, Coursera.

- Real Prado, Mechanical Engineer.

创建者 Mikhail K

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

创建者 Sivaraman V

Jun 15, 2020

I regret and feel very much i why i did not take this course long before. Fantastic and lucid explanation of related concepts. This course had delivered the entire material science in a nutshell. Thanks to Prof. James and other behind the scene engineers who made this course possible.

Best Regards

Sivaraman Visvanathan

创建者 Kashif S Q

Jan 21, 2017

Thank you sir for teaching in such a different and unique way. The way you teach is indeed very unique and it always kept me attentive during your lecture. Now i have understand all those concepts in a more better way and i am certain that this will help me in my future carrier as a material engineer. Thank you Sir

创建者 Md. F H

May 30, 2020

It was really awesome experience with University of California, Davis. I Would like to thanks professor Dr James F Shackleford, who are really properly explain each and every topic of this course very understandable way.

I would like to thanks coursera to give me opportunity and accept my Financial Aid.

创建者 Gokul S

Jun 26, 2020

The course was very good, each topic led seamlessly into the next. The explanations were excellent. If there was any flaw, it was that it was too short. However, the course was everything that was advertised and I truly believe that I refreshed a lot of concepts while learning some new ones.

创建者 Louis C

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting choice of topics. An interesting mix of new material and things I had learned differently in various other disciplines (physics, chemistry, geology). Good course but not recommended if you haven't done high school and university chemistry unless you are very brave!

创建者 BALAJI P

Jun 09, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Knowledge-hungry mind was sated with superb content of lectures and videos. The explain of defects, fracture and phase diagrams & TTT, in particular, were simply awesome and they have added more depth to my existing Mechanical Engineering knowledge.

创建者 Paolo M

May 31, 2017

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

创建者 Sai G

Jun 18, 2020

This course helped to understand the concepts behind various phenomenon such as plastic deformation,creep, Fatigue, Fracture toughness. This course gives me very important basic knowledge in Material Science. I'm feeling strong in fundamentals of material science. Thank you.

创建者 KILAPARTHI S K

May 02, 2020

I am thankful to Coursera and course instructor Dr.james Shackelford sir for explaining material science in detail by the 10 things every engineer should learn and mostly in this course which heart touches are ''structure leads to properties''. thank sir for your efforts

创建者 Anish H V

Oct 18, 2016

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

创建者 John K

Oct 18, 2018

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

创建者 Suyog M A

May 29, 2020

This course is very essential for engineering student. Important topics from material science and metallurgy are discussed here.Nice to learn the important concepts of material science .and how the material behaves in the relative tempreture is nicely taught.

创建者 satti M R

Jun 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load(h.w. & test)was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

创建者 SriNikhil K

Feb 23, 2019

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

创建者 VADALI V

Jun 28, 2020

Thankyou very much for this wonderful course. it has been interesting right from the first video until the end. the concepts have been explained in a very lucid manner. Quizzes were interesting too. All the essential topics have been covered very well

创建者 Shrikant B

Apr 30, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY USEFUL TO LEARN 10 THINGS WHICH ARE IMPORTANT TO KNOW MATERIAL BEHAVIOR. THE NEW THINGS WHICH I HAVE LEARNED FROM THIS COURSE ARE: USES ARREHENIUS RELATIONSHIP IN MATERIAL SCIENCE, THE MECHANISM OF DIFFERENT TYPES OF FAILURES.

创建者 Archisha B

Jun 27, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. The concepts were greatly explained, with experiments and mathematical expressions. The teaching style was really easy to understand. Even the slightly newer and complicated topics were easy to understand.

创建者 Pranshu A

Apr 07, 2019

This course was extremely helpful to me regarding the knowledge I gained. Moreover, I am very thankful that this course was provided to me under financial aid and I could avail such an experience which would not be possible otherwise.

创建者 Tavone S

Feb 19, 2018

This course was very helpful, as a up-coming student for material engineer I gained a enormous amount of useful information to help me progress though me first year of college. Thanks for the basic understanding of Material Science.

创建者 Sujoy S

May 31, 2020

Covers a lot of Material basics and helped give emphasis on a lot of small concepts which our colleges had skipped in classes. Quizzes were also fairly challenging and a good way to do well is taking down notes from time to time.

创建者 Y S R R

May 15, 2020

very good explanation about all the fundamentals of the material science.Teaching will be a little bit fast what I felt.Experimental facilities whatever you have shown in the lectures gave a good understanding of the subject.

创建者 Mahima D

Jun 22, 2020

I being a metallurgy and materials science graduate took those course for refreshing my basic knowledge. I would highly recommend this course to all engineers, especially those doing research in developing newer materials.

创建者 ILAIYAVEL S

May 30, 2020

Thanks Professor for the wonderful presentation

It will help me this course to my college students

Dr.S.Ilaiyavel

Associate Professor Department of Mechanical Engineer

Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering

Sriprumbudur.