Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,130 个评分
279 个审阅

课程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

热门审阅

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SS

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

筛选依据:

51 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 75 个评论(共 272 个)

创建者 yashar k s

Jan 01, 2016

Best

创建者 Zainul

Dec 10, 2015

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.

创建者 洪崧貿

Apr 21, 2018

I'm an engineer with material science background. This course reminds me a lot of knowledge with simple way and make things clear. I hope that i can use these useful knowledge on my work.

创建者 Zhou M

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

创建者 Murilo P

Feb 22, 2017

This course was very useful to remind me the basic concepts of Material Properties and there usage on in modern engineering applications. I learnt the real meaning of the concept “structure leads to properties". All this knowledge acquired will be applicable in my day to day job duties in the automobilistic sector, giving me more base during a technical discussion. I recommend this course for any Product Design Engineer.

创建者 Ángel A B

May 30, 2016

Great course to review the topic of materials. I am currently working as a mechanical engineer and it has helped me to refresh the fundamental concepts covered during my degree. The material is presented in a clear way and I think this is a good approach to the subject.

创建者 Mikhail K

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

创建者 Lingyan J

Apr 05, 2016

Very useful for a Mechanical Engineer to know more about Material

创建者 Mohammad H S

Feb 10, 2016

I really thank to Coursera Community and University of California, Davis for organizing this useful course. I reccomend all the students who are studying Engineering majors.

Come on friends and join us.

创建者 Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very concentrative! The teacher demonstrates the basic concept and acknowledge that every engineer should know. Very impressive. Thanks!

创建者 Manas S

Jan 14, 2017

Helps you improve your knowledge about the metallurgical concepts.

创建者 Eduardo J M S

Nov 17, 2017

very interesting and educational. Nice

创建者 SHUBRAJIT B

Apr 25, 2016

It was a good learning experience.

创建者 Radhik R

Jan 18, 2017

Awesome course sir

创建者 Daya S D

Sep 16, 2016

Well designed . I especially like the way Prof is explaining stuffs with very ease.

创建者 Navneet Y

Aug 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course!! Thanks.

创建者 ZAKI A

Dec 08, 2016

Nice course, all related to engineering especially MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

创建者 Jamie S

Jul 11, 2017

An excellent short introduction to materials science for engineers. If you haven't already read Shackleford's textbook, this video lecture series would be an excellent primer.

If you have recently studied undergraduate materials science or engineering then you will not need this course as it doesn't have time to delve too deeply into the theory. However, if you are like me and a few years out of education, it's an excellent albeit brief recap of materials and failure modes. It's possible to binge at 2x speed and complete this series in a day.

创建者 Christian C S

Jan 10, 2016

Great materials and a great instructor!

创建者 Osmar d S S

May 03, 2016

Excellent course to get the first contact with material science discipline.

PS.: Professor Shackelford is very didactic in his explanations.

Great professor.

Osmar Santos

Santa Branca-SP / BRAZIL.

创建者 Guillermo G T

Oct 22, 2016

Excelent content! Definitely a good explanation to refresh old concepts about material science.

创建者 PRAKRTHI A N

Dec 06, 2015

I am very excited to take this course

创建者 Jaikumar L

Jul 05, 2017

lucid explanations for complex concepts- enjoyed listening to the lectures

创建者 Anish H V

Oct 18, 2016

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

创建者 Aditya P B

Sep 09, 2017

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.