Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,154 个评分
282 个审阅

课程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

热门审阅

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

筛选依据:

76 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 100 个评论(共 275 个)

创建者 Ethan R

Dec 02, 2016

This is a recap of the most important things taught in Materials lectures on an engineering course. It is quick, concise and highlights what should be kept in mind when working with different materials. The only new material for me was the last thing on semiconductors which I found very interesting.

The only thing that could be significantly improved is the section on alloy phases. It's is an important topic and I think more time could be spent on that subject to provide a more well rounded understanding of the topic. However 9/10 things done well and the other being a bit rushed is still 5 stars in my book.

创建者 Sahil B

Sep 08, 2017

Except for the semiconductor part the complete course was easy to understand and concise

创建者 Hanan A

Jan 04, 2017

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

创建者 Mateus C d S

Sep 25, 2017

Amazing course!!!

创建者 Luiz F U

Sep 22, 2016

Indeed, very nice lessons of important concepts in Materials Engineering. Helped me a lot.

创建者 Mustafa A

Sep 15, 2016

Excellent,all important properties of materials like tensile,modulus etc are perfectly explained

创建者 Alaz T

Oct 10, 2016

This is a course that made the topics clear and foundations of materials clear! I strongly recommend it for engineers.

创建者 JOHN Q

Dec 20, 2015

What a wonderful course and wonderful review of stuff I hadn't reflected upon in years. Thanks so much

创建者 Saad U B

Dec 12, 2016

Fantastic Course!!

创建者 Michael T

Feb 02, 2018

very useful for industry and technician laboratory

创建者 Safdar K

Jan 17, 2016

awesome

创建者 Fernando J d M

May 27, 2018

Interesting subject, clear explanations and a good professor.

创建者 Blair L

Oct 11, 2017

Loved the intuitive, ultra-concise approach. Professor Shackelford balances real-world testing, applications, and history with a minimalist overview of the mathematics. His segments on atomic-level mechanics help the student gain sight-unseen intuition for the phenomena that inform the math. A concise and memorable way to get a cursory understanding of the important concepts. His book is great too.

创建者 MOHD. F

Jun 19, 2017

A very basic but great way of teaching!

Looking more from you, Professor.

创建者 Curtis B

Jul 12, 2017

well structured and intuitive.

创建者 Werner B

Apr 15, 2018

Good course with very useful content, definitely useful to help enrich development and problem solving programs at work.

创建者 Gabriel M G

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent professor and excellent materials and lectures. Also, a very good textbook.

创建者 Annamalai S

Jul 31, 2017

Really interesting and easy to understanding

创建者 Erin M

Sep 15, 2017

This is a good refresher of mechanics of materials, but goes into the atomic level and semiconductors.

创建者 Ahmad S H

Apr 30, 2016

One of the best courses I am taking so far

创建者 Katarzyna C

Sep 18, 2016

Great introduction to material science :)

创建者 Kartikay G

Nov 14, 2017

Great Course!

创建者 ATHITHANAMBI

Dec 02, 2016

THIS VERY USEFUL COURSE FOR ALL THE ENGINEERS.

创建者 OM S

Jan 28, 2017

OK

创建者 Melvyn N

Jan 25, 2018

Good course summarizing the basics and fundamentally important topics in Materials Science. I wish I had taken this earlier during my university days to have a better appreciation of Materials. Good professor, easy to understand. I do wish there was a little bit more hands-on/calculations involved so that it would be a little easier and a little more helpful in taking the theory and making it a little more practical.