Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models 的评价和反馈

4.8
442 个评分

课程概述

This is the second of a two-course sequence introducing the fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. It builds on the course Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis, which introduces Bayesian methods through use of simple conjugate models. Real-world data often require more sophisticated models to reach realistic conclusions. This course aims to expand our “Bayesian toolbox” with more general models, and computational techniques to fit them. In particular, we will introduce Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, which allow sampling from posterior distributions that have no analytical solution. We will use the open-source, freely available software R (some experience is assumed, e.g., completing the previous course in R) and JAGS (no experience required). We will learn how to construct, fit, assess, and compare Bayesian statistical models to answer scientific questions involving continuous, binary, and count data. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development, explanations of the statistical modeling process, and a few basic modeling techniques commonly used by statisticians. Computer demonstrations provide concrete, practical walkthroughs. Completion of this course will give you access to a wide range of Bayesian analytical tools, customizable to your data....

热门审阅

JH

Oct 31, 2017

This course is excellent! The material is very very interesting, the videos are of high quality and the quizzes and project really helps you getting it together. I really enjoyed it!!!

CB

Feb 14, 2021

The course was really interesting and the codes were easy to follow. Although I did take the previous course for this series, I still found it hard to grasp the concepts immediately.

筛选依据:

126 - Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models 的 145 个评论(共 145 个)

创建者 Robert d J

May 16, 2022

Excellent

创建者 Owendrila S

Sep 28, 2020

Very Good

创建者 JOYDIP M

Aug 9, 2020

helpful

创建者 Md. R Q S

Sep 23, 2020

great

创建者 MD F K

Aug 27, 2020

good

创建者 clement c

Dec 13, 2019

Awsome course overall. I took one star away for the capstone project's correction system that I think could be improved. If felt this system to be too rigid. Maybe allowing people to give points 1 by 1 intead of just a few options (0, 3 or 5 points) would help. I also feel like too many points are awarded for criterias that are beside the point of the course (5 points for the number of pages, 5 points for knowing how to write an abstract, 3 points for redacting the problem to be answered). This skills however important were not taught in this course and are unfair to evaluate in my opinion.

创建者 Khoa M

Oct 1, 2021

The course was really great for me to start using R and build models. But it was really challenging. And the final peer-graded submission really threw me off due to the late / lousy markings for my submission and lack of available submissions for me to mark. Still an enriching and challenging course overall!

创建者 Henk v E

Sep 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed participating in this course, and I do think that I learned a fair number of skills of real conceptual and practical value. Thanks to the instructors' team for their dedicated efforts.

创建者 Eddie G

Jan 21, 2021

Very comprehensive and challenging course. The explanations/rationale could be done better In the statistical programming parts.

创建者 Daniele M

Feb 11, 2020

Classes are very good, but people do not put much effort on peer review coments.

创建者 Eric A S

Jan 12, 2020

This course gives a very good introduction to Bayesian modeling in R using MCMC.

创建者 Satish C S

Oct 13, 2021

The course is very helpful for those who wanted to learn the Bayesian modeling.

创建者 Dziem N

Jun 22, 2020

The programming examples are excellent. Thank you...

创建者 Stéphane M

Feb 25, 2019

Good balance between courses and codes exercises

创建者 SANDRA H M

Jul 17, 2020

I think this course is hard.

创建者 Vittorino M C

Jul 31, 2020

I learn a lot, thank you.

创建者 Maxim V

Feb 13, 2020

This course requires quite a lot of preliminary knowledge on the subject. I had to complete the previous course ("Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis") in order to be able to proceed with this one, and still was apparently missing some essential information towards the end. I would add one more course to fill the gaps and make a specialization out of the three resulting courses.

创建者 Leon K

Jan 28, 2022

H​igh quality videos and lots of examples. Nonetheless, in some cases I felt that key concepts (e.g., Metropolis-Hastings algorithm) were only introduced on a technical/formulas level whithout giving an understanding why it works. From time to time, an overview on things would have been nice. E.g., when do I actually use which method. This is why I can only give 3/5.

创建者 Juan J G T

May 3, 2022

Te obliga a hacer una prueba final abierta, debiese ser opcional, entiendo sirve para la clasificación, pero si ya aprendiste los contenidos esenciales y no te interesa el curso para certificar ya, lo encuentro innecesario

创建者 Serum N

Feb 26, 2020

Such shallow course. You will be better off reading chapter1 of Bayesian data analysis. Don't waste your time here.