Chevron Left
返回到 Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Measuring Disease in Epidemiology 的评价和反馈

4.7
622 个评分

课程概述

Epidemiological research is ubiquitous. Even if you don’t realise it, you come across epidemiological studies and the impact of their findings every single day. You have probably heard that obesity is increasing in high income countries or that malaria is killing millions of people in low income countries. It is common knowledge that smoking causes cancer and that physical activity is protective against heart disease. These facts may seem obvious today, but it took decades of epidemiological research to produce the necessary evidence. In this course, you will learn the fundamental tools of epidemiology which are essential to conduct such studies, starting with the measures used to describe the frequency of a disease or health-related condition. You will also learn how to quantify the strength of an association and discuss the distinction between association and causation. In the second half of the course, you will use this knowledge to describe different strategies for prevention, identify strengths and weaknesses of diagnostic tests and consider when a screening programme is appropriate....

热门审阅

HV

Aug 6, 2020

This was a phenomenal learning experience, the hands-on approach made it feel always relevant, the instructor was brilliant and the materials were always suited to my learning expectations.

JV

Oct 11, 2019

The develop of this course was amazing,. There were some difficults but in my opinion, the Lecturers were so clear in general giving us the information. It was a great experience for me.

筛选依据:

101 - Measuring Disease in Epidemiology 的 125 个评论(共 133 个)

创建者 Teresa C G

Oct 3, 2021

Excellent course!

创建者 simisola a

Nov 14, 2019

Very informative

创建者 RENE C M

Mar 23, 2021

excelente curso

创建者 Laura L G G

Jan 31, 2022

very helpfull

创建者 Kendra E

Feb 27, 2022

Pretty good

创建者 Jefferson A G V

Oct 26, 2020

fantastic

创建者 Avana P

Jul 27, 2019

very good

创建者 karlenys t

Mar 28, 2022

Love it

创建者 John Y

Dec 17, 2019

I

创建者 Adele L

Aug 24, 2019

F

创建者 Michael S

Aug 1, 2020

For those completely new to epidemiology or those that English is not their mother tongue, the terminology and associated synonyms may be challenging. I went back many times, reviewing previous lectures to insure that I had a good grasp of the terminology. This enabled me to fully incorporate "academic' epidemiology into real-world epidemiology. Each medical discipline has it's own unique terminology such as prevalence = risk, but to a "new" student in epidemiology using prevalence in one context and then risk is a similar but different context could be challenging. I would certainly suggests using Gordis's text in epidemiology, which I dusted off from my years ago as a student..

创建者 Kate D

Sep 23, 2019

This course was helpful and informative. However, the structure of the quizzes, particularly how specifically correct the answers have to be entered was extremely frustrating. I highly recommend making all quiz questions multiple choice going forward. Additionally, there were a few times throughout the course when the instructor would audibly describe a formula or calculation but not visibly display it. Visually displaying all math calculations done in the lecture would help me learn it much easier.

创建者 John C E J

Jul 15, 2020

The information is presented in an understandable manner, however, there is a great deal of frustration when taking the quizzes and tests due to how the system reads your answers. Overall, I enjoyed the topic and the instructors and would still recommend the course those interested in epidemiology.

创建者 Susana V L

Sep 10, 2021

Easy to follow and very well explained. Videos are of high quality and short enough to squeeze into the day. Main criticism: the quizzes over index on metric calculations rather than metric choice and interpretation.

创建者 mohamed g

Sep 30, 2019

The couse is excellent but the quizzes answers should be multiple choices not open answer and after passing the quizzust provide us with the right answers of the wrong answered one

创建者 Mohd. A H

Jul 9, 2020

Great course that builds up concepts gradually and really respects your time. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a gentle introduction to some basic epidemiological concepts

创建者 Isabel

Jan 15, 2022

G​ood overview on basic epidemiological statistics that are also taught in med school - very comprehensible recap for me, thanks!

创建者 Adeela A

May 23, 2020

I love the course. However, I wish that instructor had a bit more clarity of materials when providing information!

创建者 Maria J C P

Mar 14, 2021

siento que le faltaria deporto unos talleres de práctica pero por lo demás me pareció muy concreto y practico!

创建者 Yanhua X

Oct 1, 2019

Very clear explanation of the measurement concepts, using intuitive examples.

创建者 Ivan K

Nov 19, 2019

it was wonderful, the exams were brain-stimulating

创建者 Gisele R

Dec 19, 2019

It was challenging but a good experience.

创建者 Tim R

Jul 9, 2019

Very clear, lots of exercises

创建者 Raluca B

Mar 6, 2020

I had quite high expectations from this cours and ICL. The course is a basic introduction to epidemiology, good for understanding basic concepts. If offered in the future, I hope the organisers will improve on the following: (1) focus more on interpretation of various frequency and measures of association. I believe this was not stressed enough and it is paramount. More practical examples in the lectures. Ensure the quizzes have the correct solution in the quiz feedback, sometimes it is not present. On week 4, the last quiz, question 17 does not correctly record the correct answer. Also, in terms of terminology, I found it limiting to speak only in terms of "disease", as opposed to "outcome", since epidemiology doesn't only deals with disease, but rather outcomes of interest which can also be positive (i.e. survival, etc)

创建者 Kelly H

Dec 7, 2021

I enjoyed the course content. I found the questions challenging and would like to see more sample questions to practice prior to the unit quiz. I found some of the questions in the quiz for each chapter were not clearly demonstrated in the video and were very challenging to understand. A work book for practice include steps on how to get to the answers if not achievable by the student.