Chevron Left
返回到 English for Media Literacy

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Media Literacy 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,362 个评分
366 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

热门审阅

DT

Jan 27, 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

Feb 09, 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

筛选依据:

326 - English for Media Literacy 的 350 个评论(共 359 个)

创建者 Zhanna B

May 25, 2018

This course is very useful for me. The course allowed me to improve media literacy and English skills. Due to this course, I learned a lot about the features of the presentation of information by traditional and social media. I especially want to note the qualitative lessons of grammar. Many thanks to the teachers of the courses for the admirable multimedia lessons. Best wishes!

创建者 Supitha N

Jun 08, 2020

Well organised curriculum and interesting course work! Would definitely recommend it to someone who is interested in the introduction to Media Studies, and not very confident with their English. However, it might be too easy for someone who seek more challenging tasks regarding media fields.

创建者 Julia E

Jan 23, 2018

Great course, but the word studying to me was very distracting. I think everyone can look up the meaning and pronunciation of a word in a dictionary, so it does not make sense to overload the course with that. It is either media literacy, or language studies.

创建者 Anastasia Y

May 26, 2020

The course has a very logical structure, interesting articles, and quizzes. Games made this experience more fun and exciting. But I would only recommend this course for people with a Beginner/ Intermediate level of English, so it won't be boring for you.

创建者 Pham D H

Feb 01, 2018

I like the syllabus arranged to guide students to know more deeply about the media literacy and media analysis. In my opinion, the assignment need to be more often and more challenging about grading criteria. Thank you for your supporting, tutors!

创建者 Hasan M H M

Jan 31, 2019

Every thing is nearly perfect . just if you have a supervisor or a professor who gives an hour or 40 minutes as a conversation with students at least once or twice during this course. It will be great.

创建者 Jaaziel B P

Oct 13, 2017

La iniciativa es buena, nos ayuda a todos los interesados en aprender el inglés como segunda lengua ya que esto nos abre nuevas oportunidades en este mundo laboral muy competitivo.

创建者 Laura R

Jul 12, 2020

I wish I knew the course is for begginners before starting it. It was pretty easy to understand and I enjoyed learning. Overall, it was a great experience.

创建者 Lin Y

Apr 15, 2019

It is like an English course for those who would like to evaluate the social media sources (for beginner). Everything is in an organised way. Good.

创建者 Phạm T T

Feb 27, 2018

An interesting course which helped me to think more critically while swimming in the ocean of information polluted by the media.

Really like it,

创建者 kouassi n c

Mar 28, 2017

très bon cours même si j'ai eu du mal par moment mais cela m'a permis d'avoir une autre vision de la langue anglaise.merci

创建者 Isobel C

Jul 23, 2017

Really enjoyed it! Found the jumping between knowledge and verb/vocab exercises a bit odd, though.

创建者 Yerden Z

Mar 04, 2020

It was my first course online!

it was great! looking forward to take part in other courses as well

创建者 Ayat B M S A

Dec 13, 2017

It was very good course and easy to study and help to understand a lot of terms

创建者 Nguyễn Q V

Aug 02, 2017

This course helps me knows more about media in my country

创建者 obaike i

Mar 08, 2018

Very invaluable. Kudos! #TeamCoursera

创建者 Myrna C

Jan 25, 2018

This course has help me to understand

创建者 Osama S

May 08, 2017

helpful, entertaining and easy course

创建者 Mayen G P

Nov 23, 2017

THANK YOU SO MUCH HELPING ME LEARN..

创建者 Hsu C

Jan 29, 2020

For a starter, it is a good course.

创建者 Kristel L

Dec 17, 2017

Pretty basic but ok, it was good.

创建者 李玳汶

Nov 06, 2017

The contents are really enriched.

创建者 samba s

Nov 10, 2017

A very interesting course!

创建者 Қабибуллаева А Ж

Apr 04, 2020

Its fantastic course!

创建者 Dave L E

Sep 05, 2017

It is a nice course