Chevron Left
返回到 医学神经科学

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 医学神经科学 的评价和反馈

4.9
2,309 个评分
670 条评论

课程概述

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

热门审阅

MG
Jan 14, 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT
Nov 21, 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

筛选依据:

226 - 医学神经科学 的 250 个评论(共 662 个)

创建者 Loredana C

Jul 31, 2020

Such a great course! I am a neurosurgery resident and this helped me in neuroanatomy, neurochemestry and clinical practice! The videos are great and profesor White is just amazing to watch!

创建者 Matthew S

Jun 1, 2021

Simply the best MOOC ever on coursera. Very hard and time consuming, but the knowledge one gets from this MOOC is worth the effort. Thank you Dr. White, I am going to miss your lectures.

创建者 Luis C

Sep 9, 2017

An excellent course for my medical specialty (physical medicine and rehabilitation) in which the knowledge of neuroscience are based on treatments aimed at neurological rehabilitation.

创建者 Michael M

Jan 30, 2019

This course was really a fantastic experience. Professor White provided very well presented tutorials and his wealth of knowledge and commitment to teaching was very much appreciated.

创建者 Shilpa A

Nov 17, 2017

I found this course extremely useful. It was exactly what I needed and expected. A structured study of the brain and the spinal chord starting at the cellular level. A perfect course!

创建者 Venkateshwaran S

Nov 23, 2018

Excellent course . Thank you to Dr White and all the staff at Duke University. Will hopefully have chance to meet Dr White in person ito Thanks .Ignited by interest in Neuroscience.

创建者 Lee R

Jun 12, 2020

A truly excellent course, presented in an engaging format by Professor Len White. Many new avenues are now open for me to explore as a result of gaining this new level of knowledge.

创建者 Ruth H

Nov 22, 2017

fantastically taught course. so well structured..thoroughly enjoyed the challenge and has motivated me to learn more in the field of neuroscience.Prof White is an excellent teacher.

创建者 Raúl E P

Mar 16, 2017

Very nice course. I enjoyed and learned a lot! Just to give some comments to improve it, it will have been nice to have more clinical cases during the course. But, I like it a lot.

创建者 Dengrong J

Jul 17, 2018

Very comprehensive and in-depth! Dr. White explains things nicely. A wonderful part of this course is that it always links the science of nervous systems to the clinical symptoms.

创建者 Emma S

Aug 31, 2017

This is a very detailed and well-taught course. Prof White's enthusiasm for both the subject and teaching is apparent, and it's hard not to be infected by a love for neuroscience.

创建者 Eva P d A R

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course, I am deeply grateful for having the opportunity to enroll in Medical Neuroscience and learn so much. Thank you very much, professor White and the rest of the staff

创建者 Renato B B

May 12, 2019

Excellent Professor , excellent course, I learned a lot, improved my knowledge, evolves a lot. I'm very grateful

Renato Bestetti , MD , Ribeirão Preto , São Paulo State , Brazil

创建者 Sharvaree D

May 1, 2020

Excellent course.

A bit difficult though.all credit to Prof Leonard White for making such diff course interesting and understandable.

Thanks to the entire team of DUKE UNIVERSITY.

创建者 beatriz a c

Oct 26, 2016

Amazing course and very complete. I do not advise it to beginner students, since it goes very deep into the study of the brain. But I totally recommend for high degree students.

创建者 Srinivas

May 17, 2020

Big Thanks to Dr. White , Ellen Vos-Wisse & his team. This is the best course experience I ever had with MOOCS and offline-classes I attended. My heartful regards to Dr. White

创建者 AP

Sep 19, 2019

Amazing. This is what my medical neuroscience course in graduate school SHOULD have been. Dr. White is an excellent instructor, and the supplementary materials are excellent.

创建者 Hermenegilda K

Jul 21, 2016

Wonderful. You need a lot of motivation beacuse it is full of (great) content, so the "lazy days" may come, but even if you fail to finish this course it is totally worth it.

创建者 Яшанина А А

Sep 8, 2021

Thank you so much for the opportunity to study !!! It means a lot to me! I discovered many new resources and became more confident! Thanks to Ph.D White. You are awesome !!!

创建者 Sina K

Mar 10, 2021

Best course on Neuroscience. If you are a medical student and among all the parts of the body, you are interested in brain I would really advice you to take this course .

创建者 Rogerio d L e S

Jun 9, 2017

Excelente curso, superou todas as minhas expectativas. Recomendo a todos o desafio de superar a si mesmo dedicando aos estudos. Curso "Qualidade" de 1º Mundo. Recomendo.

创建者 David C G

Oct 16, 2016

The best course I have ever studied through internet. I quit due to a matter of not enough spare time to devote. I hope I will be able to finish it in the near future.

创建者 Jessica P E

Sep 6, 2020

I love the way Prof White explains the materials. It was not boring at all and I was able to understand easily. Thank you so much Coursera for providing this course!

创建者 Sushmita A

Sep 26, 2016

Four months back, I barely knew few terms in the context of Brain. And today, I'm capable of diagnosing neurological disorders. Immense amount of knowledge gained!

创建者 Khristine P

May 8, 2020

Very good course. Dr. White and his team did an excellent job making this seemingly daunting course into a more understandable and a more relatable one. Thank you.