Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的评价和反馈

4.8
118 个评分
48 条评论

课程概述

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong....

热门审阅

LT

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

AR

May 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! That must mean I am weird, but proof awaits a properly performed statistical study of the population who also "attended" the program.\n\nAllen J Rovner, MD

筛选依据:

1 - Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的 25 个评论(共 52 个)

创建者 Kenneth A

May 25, 2020

Honestly an excellent course! I teach online. I take courses online and I have spent an embarrassing number of years studying at universities. This was a very good course.

The best part (aside from the professor's obvious intellectual enthusiasm for the subject matter and that COVID is absorbing all the world's newsprint and electrons right now) is that the professor really taught to the big take-ways. Not only did he summarize them at the end, but he really focused the course on creating an intuitive understanding of the key points and did not get too involved in the details that one is doomed to forget.

创建者 Diane F

May 26, 2020

As a retired college professor who was involved in online learning in its infancy, I am impressed with the outstanding utilization of lecture + graphics + internet.

This particular course is a must-view for everyone, particularly during a pandemic when social media proliferates with phony bits of data masked to look and sound like scientific bits of data.

An added bonus for me is Dr. Wilson's humor and narrative style.

Thank you for offering this most excellent course.

创建者 Clifton L

May 14, 2020

Professor Perry is an excellent teacher. I learned quite a bit from this course. His presentation of the material and his use of his personal anecdotes and the studies from the medical literature helped a novice, like myself, to understand the material more effectively and efficiently. There is so much misinformation today regarding the medical research surrounding the COVID 19 pandemic. I am going to encourage all of my colleagues to take this course.

创建者 Chan C H H

May 15, 2020

I will definitely recommend anyone that has little experience in reading medical literatures but wants to have an insight into understanding the basics of medical statistics. Dr. Wilson is very engaging and this will undoubtedly help me read literature with more caution when it comes to choosing journals for submitting my assignments. It will also allow me to learn to debunk some of the myths that my friends falsely believe in too!

创建者 Lohithasree B

Apr 30, 2020

I am currently a 7th grader who has a special interest in medicine. I found this course very helpful and personally learnt so much! This course was extremely engaging and fun to participate in. I enjoyed every part of this course from the videos to the quizzes. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in medicine and likes research.

创建者 Višnja Ž

May 12, 2020

Amazing course, I learned a lot. Thank you for pointing out all the different 'red flags' we should immediately be aware of and look for. The lecturer should do another course as soon as he can, and I expect that he continues to use the many funny scifi references. Thank you for making this.

创建者 Amber U

May 21, 2020

This course is fantastic. I have a PhD and consider myself very analytic, but I was unaware of the vast majority of issues discussed here. I will never look at medical research the same way again, and I will always look more closely with everything I learned in this course in mind!

创建者 Nadia H

May 03, 2020

Excellent course providing a sound introduction to to topic. Content was enjoyable, lectures were engaging and presented with flair. Highly recommend to anyone who makes any life choices based on research they might read online, hear in the media etc

创建者 Jaime H

May 20, 2020

This course was excellent. Quality content that was educational, informative, and entertaining. Dr. Perry was factual and provided great examples. I would highly recommend this course, and I would take any other courses that Dr. Wilson offers.

创建者 yewei g

May 09, 2020

Interesting course, amazing video examples, great teaching! Thank you so much! As an investor, I will no longer be intimidated by medical researches anymore. BTW, I think this course is invaluable in this crazy COVID-19 new world.

创建者 Christiana L

May 19, 2020

This is the first MOOC that I've ever finished after attempting millions (take that as you will). It was very informative, engaging, fun, and timely! Thank you Dr. Wilson and the rest of the staff for this amazing course.

创建者 Kevin M

May 03, 2020

Incredibly good presentation of what can be a difficult subject to teach. Examples were great, style of delivery was relaxed and friendly. I loved this course. I'm a 65 year old male and am excited to continue to learn.

创建者 Giulia N P D G

May 14, 2020

Incredible course. All amazing, how Dr. Perry teaches is unique. The material is easy to understand. I would recommend you 100% to enroll in this course.

创建者 Michael V

May 15, 2020

A course every health professional should take. Informative and entertaining...that speaks volume for a course on medical research!

创建者 Héloïse B

May 15, 2020

Great course. Very informative and fun way to learn more about statistics. I would definitely recommend.

创建者 Kristina J

May 13, 2020

Definitely recommend to learn this topics!

创建者 FRANCESCO A F

May 17, 2020

Amazing course!! Prof. Perry Wilson, got me interested since the very first lecture, and led me to the end of the course in no time! I recommend taking the course, especially if you are a Med-School student, because it will make your life that easier! I would also like to point out for any non-english student that nothing in the course is too complicated to understand, so it's a win-win!

创建者 Joy B

May 30, 2020

Excellent course. I liked the non-medical references used to explain ideas. I LOVED the interviews. My only complaint is that when the instructor moved to a different board it took a bit of time for the camera to follow him.

创建者 Wee K N

May 02, 2020

Very interesting course delivered by a lively instructor with humorous touches. Fun and easy to understand. There are some errors in the answers for the quizzes but the learners should be able to figure out.

创建者 Mary C

Jun 01, 2020

This was the first online course that I've ever taken, and it was a pleasant surprise. The Professor was engaging, the material was challenging, but well presented, and overall, it was an excellent course.

创建者 Robin R

May 18, 2020

Excellent. I wish all my friends would take this. Funny, engaging, breaks down topics that would intimidate many people in easy to understand ways. And thanks for adding in the topical research on COVID-19.

创建者 Lam A T

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

创建者 ALLEN J R

May 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! That must mean I am weird, but proof awaits a properly performed statistical study of the population who also "attended" the program.

Allen J Rovner, MD

创建者 Leonardo M

May 17, 2020

I really enjoy this course, the way concepts are presented makes it easy to understand them.

I hope there will be more courses in the future deepening the concepts learned.

创建者 Cozma V

May 25, 2020

Great introduction to medical research!

A lot of real cases presented in a easy to follow, fun and informative way.

Would love to see a part 2 of this course.