Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,572 个评分

课程概述

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

热门审阅

JM

Aug 1, 2020

Excellent course for physical therapists wanting to learn how to critically review the research literature. For those of us who completed physical therapy school > 15 years ago, this course is a must!

DW

Sep 27, 2020

Well organized and informative content. Dr. Wilson was an engaging and knowledgeable faculty member; I look forward to enrolling in another course under his leadership.

Calvin E Woodland, EdD, PsyD

筛选依据:

526 - Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的 550 个评论(共 553 个)

创建者 Ibro Z

Aug 8, 2020

HH

创建者 Majdi A A

Oct 4, 2021

y

创建者 ayse m y

Dec 11, 2020

.

创建者 Syed J H

Aug 31, 2020

n

创建者 Blue W G

Jan 17, 2021

It was a very interesting and insightful course but it was also quite a bit difficult,(for me). Being it wasn't for your novice run-of-the-mill casual course taker. The course involve quite a bit of focus.

I really did appreciate the questions that popped up while going through a lesson. These questions made sure that you were actually paying attention and not in the kitchen making a cup of coffee, good thinking professor.

The end of the module quizzes were hard to pass because they were so few questions. I had to continuously take 3 of them over and over. In the end the point was drilled home, whatever I didn't know, I knew and I knew, I knew

创建者 Julia W

Apr 24, 2021

Overall, this was a good course. I liked the way the information was presented. However, I think the professor laughing all the time, especially inappropriately when talking about death, is quite a distraction. The example on hitting your head with a hammer was also not of good taste. The information presented was very helpful overall, but it does tend to make one more cynical, especially the unit on bias. I almost stopped the course. I think there needs to be some balance on bias as that can occur in all studies. This unit made me feel cynical rather than just skeptical. I also felt he was 'reaching' for biases.

创建者 Beatriz A R

Sep 8, 2020

Hola . Soy músico y me siento muy feliz de culminar este curso. me costó bastante. quiero expresar mi admiración por los médicos y todas las personas que trabajan en la salud de los seres humanos. Es algo muy difícil. Dios los bendiga grandemente. Mi admiración absoluta al Dr.F. Perry Wilson. Dios lo bendiga . Se puede mejorar la traducción al español por favor. Gracias a Coursera y a la universidad.

创建者 Basel A

Jun 17, 2020

I really enjoyed this course with the handsome presenter. It was chock-full of valuable concepts in understanding and analysing medical studies. I learned to be professionally sceptical about even renown journal papers. Bias is almost inescapable, replication is the cure for that. Adjustment is needed to reduce the pain of confounders, random trials are the best to eliminate them though.

创建者 SANAE M

May 9, 2020

I really enjoyed watching the lectures. The Professor made them fun and easy to understand. The only problem I faced is the lack of resources; whenever I needed to review a certain concept, I had to see the whole corresponding lecture from the beginning. I just wish there were a document that sums up all the ideas or links to useful free material on the internet.

创建者 Made A A

Jun 16, 2020

Everything is very well explained. Some lack of various example meaning that the example provided was the exact definition of the terms which may be not what it seem in a real study. Otherwise, everything is good, there are a variety of visuals, changing scenes, relatively short video per session (match my attention time-span).

创建者 MD.RAKIBUL H R

May 9, 2020

At the middle of course, it was quite difficult for me to understand all those jargons. It would really be helpful if you could focus more on discussion than introducing those jargons. But I must say that it was really informative and helpful. I am looking forward to have more of these types of courses. Thank you so much.

创建者 Sharon L

Mar 19, 2021

The presenter was excellent - real world examples and sense of fun, easy to understand explanations. The content was perfect for what I was looking for - particularly liked the session on how to do an effective search in PubMed - so helpful! The scoring in the end of module assessments drove me bananas.

创建者 Sinmoy J L

Apr 29, 2022

Concise and relevant in the present situation where social media have turned into a hybrid of encyclopedia and editorial page of a newspaper. If someone want to make sense and differentiate between information and misinformation, recommend this course.

创建者 Michael E S

May 24, 2020

Much good information on observational studies. Thin on RCTs and amount of distortion of results in observational studies compared to RCTS. No information on the amount of distortion of results with various biases in RCTS.

创建者 Amanpreet K

Jun 22, 2020

It was well explained course but I feel sometimes the class was too long. I learnt a lot and enjoyed the funny examples given by the course provider.

创建者 Hasib R

May 12, 2020

Relating medical science with statistics. The course was awfully designed and each course materials are selected well enough for beginners.

创建者 natasa t h

Jan 26, 2021

I enjoyed every lessons of this course , I found it really educational and I could learn new things. Thank you !

创建者 Helga S

Jul 18, 2020

Lot’s of dry information presented clearly and with humor. Thank you Dr. Wilson! I admire your work ethics.

创建者 Ohoud A

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting, informative course

it did add a lot to me

Thank you

创建者 Prachi B

Mar 6, 2021

I can differentiate between an actual study and an under study

创建者 W.A.R. S

Nov 26, 2020

the teaching method is very active and powerful

创建者 Raquel M L

Aug 10, 2020

Fantastic course. Very engaging speaker!

创建者 Hein M T

May 11, 2020

Very interesting and informative course

创建者 Ahmed A

Aug 2, 2020

it was very good and useful, thank you

创建者 Rashirlyn A

May 4, 2021

A very informative course.