Chevron Left
返回到 Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe

学生对 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe 的评价和反馈

4.6
135 个评分
63 条评论

课程概述

Perhaps no other relic of the European Middle Ages captures our imagination more than illuminated medieval manuscripts, or those documents decorated with images and colored pigments. Serving as windows unto a lost world of kings, ladies, faith, war, and culture, they communicate complex visual and textual narratives of Europe’s collective cultural heritage and patrimony. In this fashion, illuminated manuscripts are dynamic messages from our communal past that are still relevant today in fields like graphic design and typography. In this seven-week course, students will explore the material creation, content, and historical context of illuminated medieval European manuscripts. Students will acquire an introductory knowledge of their distinguishing characteristics, their cataloguing and periodization (when they were created), the methods utilized to produce them, and their historical context and value. Student achievement will be assessed using not only traditional multiple-choice quizzes, but more importantly will be evaluated based on individual student projects. In their final projects students will either (1) produce a board of commented images about medieval manuscripts or (2) prepare a physical manuscript using medieval methods. The best of these peer-evaluated projects will be posted on the Deciphering Secrets website, which is our collective citizen scholarship web presence that encourages and supports our global citizen scholars appreciation and contributions to transcription of medieval manuscripts. Finally, we wish to highlight that this course is an exciting international collaboration between the University of Colorado (USA) and Universidad Complutense Madrid (Spain)....

热门审阅

K

Jan 26, 2018

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

JS

May 4, 2017

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

筛选依据:

26 - Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe 的 50 个评论(共 64 个)

创建者 Eugenia R

Oct 10, 2020

Great way of learning not only about history but also about the valuable objects that are the manuscripts!

The best part of the course is learning through the hands-on projects! Great addition for the online classes!

Thanks for this amazing opportunity!

创建者 Emily d B

Aug 12, 2017

I loved it! Although one can only touch the surface of this field in such a short time frame, I learned a lot. I liked the combination of medieval history and manuscript making. It helps putting it all in perspective.

创建者 Angelina B

Jun 5, 2019

So, far I am not too far into the class however, it is extremely satisfying the level of information that one person can choose to attain via coursera. The time frames are tight, but flexible thankfully.

创建者 Kenneth K

Jan 27, 2018

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

创建者 Joy S

May 5, 2017

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

创建者 Luna S

Jun 23, 2022

Very interesting insight of the history of manuscripts. The course is nicely paced, the videos are very well prepared and the activities are really fun to do. I recommend it 100%

创建者 Ivan S

Jan 21, 2018

It was amazing course full of new information and things to know, full of activities and works for creation own medieval manuscript. A lot of thanks for all people who done it!

创建者 Jax L

Sep 19, 2017

This is definitely a must for anyone with an interest in history. The combination of the historic backdrop and the practical nature of manuscript studies makes it even more

创建者 Natasha L

Jul 10, 2022

Fantastic class. Learned a lot. Great info for anyone interested in art, history, or books. Love that there were two types of assignments. Good mix of reading and video.

创建者 Марина П

May 12, 2018

Excellent! Just one problem. There probably not too many students so it takes more time to grade your peer reviewed assignement and you have to wait.

创建者 Theodora P

Mar 3, 2019

Exceptional! I am a Historian and a Historian of Art, from Athens Greece. I am really impressed by this course and its scientific aspect.

创建者 Mitzi A R C

Apr 28, 2021

So interesting! Thanks! Fue un curso realmente interesante! pero sobre todo me ha ayudado a saber más sobre los manuscritos! GRACIAS!

创建者 Suzanne H

Feb 16, 2021

Wonderful experience to work on my own Illuminated Manuscript.

Always a pleasure to follow a course that has depth and richness.

创建者 Darryl L L

Sep 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. Be aware that the hands-on assignments are liable to take more than five hours each.

创建者 Roger F

Aug 7, 2018

A very interesting and enjoyable course. The Hands-on project is very worthwhile but there is quite a lot to do.

创建者 Beatriz m d

Jul 14, 2021

Me ha gustado mucho este curso.No puedo hacer los pares,no hablo inglés.Para mi,el curso está terminado.

创建者 Cecilia C

Jul 14, 2017

Very illuminating and interesting Course! I really enjoyed the combination of theory and hands-on!

创建者 Yasemin G

Jun 25, 2022

A​ very good introduction to palaeography and codicology for anyone pursuing a history degree.

创建者 Laëtitia J

Oct 26, 2018

Complete, and very high quality ! And last but not least, creative and funny :) Many thanks

创建者 JOHN Q

Dec 11, 2017

Interesting and enjoyable course. Thanks for all the work in preparation of the course.

创建者 Miguel J S

May 16, 2022

This course is very good and interesting. This course helped me in my typography class.

创建者 Ben F

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent. I really enjoyed the course. I learnt loads, both theoretical and practical.

创建者 Linda O B

May 3, 2021

I enjoyed learning the history of Medieval Europe and the process of bookbinding.

创建者 Imelda F

Jan 25, 2017

Very challenging and also a lot of fun. I learned a lot and want to continue

创建者 Emily L

Aug 10, 2017

Great course, very informative, and left me inspired to learn more!