Chevron Left
返回到 Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony 的评价和反馈

4.7
88 个评分
48 条评论

课程概述

This course is about how music works. It is about the relationship between the technical and aesthetic details of music. It is also about how developing a meaningful theoretical vocabulary can help you think and talk about musical style, and how learning that vocabulary can expand your appreciation for music. In this course you will learn music theory not by looking at theory itself, but by listening to, looking at, and—yes!—writing your own musical examples. By hearing, seeing, and writing yourself, you will learn about classical, modern, ancient, pop, jazz, and folk styles. Through lectures, relevant examples, and numerous practice assignments, we will examine fundamental aspects of melody. We will move into working with two voices and counterpoint, and finally to three voices and the beginnings of harmonic function. This is an intermediate-level course for musicians and composers who already have some understanding of music theory through previous study. If you are a musician or composer looking to build a deeper understanding of music theory for composing, performing, or improvisation, you have come to the right place. If you are an amateur lover of music or, perhaps, play a musical instrument and want to develop a deeper sense of appreciation for music theory, aesthetics, and history, you are also in the right place!...

热门审阅

AW
Jul 4, 2020

Great survey of Western music. I found it more of an appreciation of listening to music rather than a formal music theory course. There's lots of opportunity to learn different styles of composition.

HS
May 5, 2020

It's not simply a course but it's a journey through decades of music. What a fun way to learn! Especially with such an interactive and amazing instructor.

筛选依据:

26 - Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony 的 49 个评论(共 49 个)

创建者 Éric T

Jun 12, 2020

Super interesting course, quite challenging but very rewarding. Marc is a fantastic lecturer! He brilliantly manages to convey his excitement for the topic. I wish there were more courses offered by him on Coursera!!

创建者 Dennis T R

Feb 24, 2020

Clear and informative. A little background in music theory will make the content easier to understand and apply. The focus is unique and generates thought. Music theory can be fun for everyone. Thanks.

创建者 Joao P N

Jan 17, 2021

Professor Marc Lowenstein made me learn music theory and music forms analysis in a very rich and enjoyable way! Marc is a fantastic teacher, I look forward to enroll into another course he may offer.

创建者 Philip R

Mar 28, 2020

A very useful and interesting overview to melody and harmony. I loved Marc's sense of humour. It has motivated me to study the subject in more depth.

创建者 Wang S

Sep 17, 2019

I'm Chinese, and not good at English. But with a dict in my hand, I enjoyed a lot in this course. Thanks the teacher very much.

创建者 Octave H

Oct 12, 2020

Extraordinary course, with great lessons, even tho english isn't my native language. Really helpful and well made

创建者 Lori C S

Jan 10, 2021

This was a very interesting and enjoyable course. I definitely know more about music know than when I started.

创建者 Nestor G P

Aug 23, 2020

A wonderful course with content that provides knowledge and allows you to experiment and discover.

创建者 Joy S

Jun 8, 2020

lecturer is very skilled in his lecture delivering. thank you sir for teaching such a nice course

创建者 Juan N

Jul 25, 2020

Great course! You will learn a lot of stuff on music theory and will have fun by doing it!

创建者 Sally P

May 24, 2020

Hilarious and ingenious! All I miss is another course by Mr Lowenstein. Encore, Encore!

创建者 Mary C d C P J

Jul 17, 2019

If you want to learn about melody this is the perfect course. I totakky recommend it.

创建者 Sophie

Nov 21, 2020

Excellent course. Thank you so much. Looking out for another one please!!!

创建者 Ashish D A

Sep 16, 2020

Thanking Mr. Marc Lowenstein for teaching this amazing course.

创建者 Enzo I

Jul 29, 2020

great trainer, very good balance between theory and practice!

创建者 Vinícius G d M

Oct 29, 2019

excelente conteúdo, abrangente, profundo e simples.

创建者 Martin B

Apr 17, 2020

Great course I learnt a lot.

Thanks Marc

创建者 Hibran T

Sep 20, 2020

You are going to love this one.

创建者 Andres B

Dec 21, 2019

gracias

创建者 Armando M

Jul 13, 2020

Este curso hace un buen trabajo explicando las características principales de la música de distintas épocas, desde los cantos medievales hasta el Siglo XXI. El profesor trata de hacerlo muy ameno y con el mínimo de teoría posible. Sin embargo, para aprovechar el curso es necesario saber un poco de teoría musical. Por lo menos saber escribir y leer música y poder tocar algún instrumento y/o cantar una partitura. Esto es por los trabajos a realizar (en caso uno quiera el certificado). Igual si no piensas hacer los trabajos, el curso no vale tanto la pena. Vas a componer música, escribir en distintos estilos y evaluar las composiciones de otros compañeros del curso.

创建者 Justin J C

Dec 19, 2019

Pretty good, although the explanations are pretty lacking. I found myself being confused after several videos, even though the topics are somewhat elementary

创建者 Pedro L A D

Jun 27, 2020

Very difficult, explanation are not clear, much talk and many slang language...

创建者 Andreas L

May 31, 2019

annoying, everything. The prof, the whole approach, ...