Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,922 个评分
606 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

热门审阅

RD
Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
Jun 2, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

筛选依据:

251 - Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的 275 个评论(共 595 个)

创建者 ALEXI G M C

Aug 21, 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

创建者 Sara S X

Jun 13, 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

创建者 K. J R

May 16, 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

创建者 Malathi J

Aug 30, 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

创建者 Angela K

Oct 22, 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

创建者 chalchitrart

Aug 1, 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

创建者 Isabella F L

Aug 24, 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

创建者 Susan W

Dec 4, 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

创建者 Lydia V P

Apr 21, 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

创建者 savithri i

Jul 23, 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

创建者 Likhitha B

Jul 30, 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

创建者 Vijay R

Jan 30, 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

创建者 Rachelle W

Aug 21, 2021

Terrific course! Well-structured, interesting, and informative. Enthusiastic applause for the prof!

创建者 Anuradha R

Jun 26, 2021

very informative at one level and interestingly put together, i personally benefitted a lot. thanks

创建者 Donna M J

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

创建者 Kravchenko O

Oct 2, 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)

创建者 Καλλιόπη Κ

Jan 5, 2021

I loved the way professor presented the course. I made me to be curious to explore more about it.

创建者 Дина

Dec 2, 2017

Very useful course in which you can learn a lot about your memory watching your favourite movies!

创建者 Игорь К

Apr 30, 2021

Excellent course. The teacher explain material in good interesting form. Provide many examples.

创建者 Fran E

Jan 8, 2021

Great course! Like watching a movie review and and learning about memory. What could be better.

创建者 A. E H

Apr 19, 2018

Really entertaining way to learn about memory, I really enjoyed this course. Thank you so much.

创建者 Tran T H L

Sep 11, 2017

Very informative, entertaining and useful course for your own interest and personal development

创建者 Lilly G

May 7, 2020

I'm a high schooler taking this course, and it is absolutely amazing and easy to understand.

创建者 Eddah K

Jun 18, 2016

It was an eye opener. I learnt a lot about memory. I also discovered a number of new movies.

创建者 Radhika

Jul 30, 2017

One of the best courses on Coursera! One is bound to have great fun completing this course.