Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,019 个评分
623 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

热门审阅

RD

Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

Feb 6, 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

筛选依据:

576 - Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的 600 个评论(共 612 个)

创建者 Kousay a

May 18, 2016

Memory is an important topic to learn about.

创建者 elisa G d R

Sep 17, 2016

Was very Interesting! I learned a lot!! Tks

创建者 Janette V C

Oct 24, 2018

Muy buen curso sobre temas de psicología

创建者 Taska H

Mar 14, 2022

Loved it would do it again.Great course

创建者 Britta G

Jul 6, 2016

Very interesting in an entertaining way

创建者 Caroline B

Sep 1, 2017

Very interesting and easy to follow !

创建者 Aleksandro d S S

Feb 23, 2020

Very interesting and useful course.

创建者 BK L

Sep 16, 2021

Good! Great learning course

创建者 Ivan

Oct 31, 2017

Fun and informative course.

创建者 Eckstein B M

Aug 7, 2017

this subject is interesting

创建者 Shirley K

Jul 7, 2020

fun course glad I took it

创建者 George L

Jul 19, 2016

Great movie selection.

创建者 Marc M

Feb 15, 2018

Very interesting !

创建者 Chan J T

May 28, 2017

Great Course!

创建者 Nanditha G

Dec 28, 2021

it was nice

创建者 Djana R

Jun 1, 2018

Good course

创建者 merit s

Oct 10, 2016

Interesting

创建者 Angie T S

Jun 29, 2017

Gracias

创建者 김명자

Jan 20, 2018

I

创建者 Safwa A

Oct 3, 2017

i

创建者 Liz A

Oct 10, 2020

The course is good - even excellent but it's difficult to compare it with other courses I've been on that are substantial, detailed and provide a way into the . It's nice and basic. Only one book is used as reference material (which you'd have to buy, and it's written by the lecturer himself), no links to research papers, self tests, or anything at all outside the course , no suggested reading lists. All the testing is done through basic quizzes - (but they're good!) no essays, self-reflection assignments, no check your knowledge embedded in the videos. I found it very interesting. Technically - videos are in nice chunk-lengths, (short and focussed) but the sound is a bit faulty: some hiss, and low volume-level , - which is more obvious as the lecturer is softly spoken. He is easy to listen to however, though. Occasionally audio and video are not together. The music used to start each video sounds like an off the shelf jingle.

创建者 Helen F

May 5, 2016

I appreciate the effort that went into making this course as well as obtaining the film clips. Having said that, if you want to go deeper into the psychology of memory this course is probably not for you. As I progressed through the weeks, I found myself becoming less and less interested since I already know the basics of memory and psychology. I felt I wasn't learning anything new but the clips of films allowed me to see the films in a new light. Maybe if I had bought the book that goes along with the course, i would have gained more insight but as a standalone course, it rates just three stars.

创建者 David D

Sep 26, 2016

I liked this course for the wide range of movie excerpts which underscored a memory malfunction. The scenes were often emotional, quite surprising such a short moment could be so charged.

However the main emphasis of this memory module was to explore malfunctioning memory, to the side of pathology. This was done professionally without a doubt. However this was not what I personally was looking for although one learns about dementia, alzheimer, etc, which is interesting as they will affect most of us in someway or another.

创建者 Jorge R

Jul 29, 2021

Pros: The concept and the structure of the course are great. I feel psychology+cinema is a perfect combination. Plus Dr. John Seamon is a very agreeable and knowledgeable psychologist. You will want to meet him from the very first lecture. /// Cons: The course is too easy/superficial. It does not contain, in my opinion, challenging information or content that can be applied in our profession. Because of that, I truly enjoyed the course as a leisure activity but in any case would I pay 40$ for a diploma.

创建者 Paripsa P

Apr 26, 2020

While some of the material was insightful in the sense that it helped explain important concepts of memory through movies, I felt like certain movies as case studies could have easily been skipped; movies like 50 First Dates did not really teach us anything significant about memory other than the fact that it was an incorrect depiction of memory loss. Cutting down on some such lectures would have made the course more concise and enjoyable.