Chevron Left
返回到 Microeconomics: The Power of Markets

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Microeconomics: The Power of Markets 的评价和反馈

4.7
940 个评分
185 条评论

课程概述

We make economics decisions every day: what to buy, whether to work or play, what to study. We respond to markets all the time: prices influence our decisions, markets signal where to put effort, they direct firms to produce certain goods over others. Economics is all around us. This course is an introduction to the microeconomic theory of markets: why we have them, how they work, what they accomplish. We will start with the concept of scarcity and how specialization according to comparative advantage helps us achieve more than we could alone. Next we model a marked using the tools of Supply and Demand and learn what well working markets accomplish and what their limit are. We end by exploring the impact of government intervention on perfect markets. Examples are taken from everyday life, from goods and services that we all purchase and use. We will apply the theory to current events and policy debates through weekly exercises. These will empower you to be an educated, critical thinker who can understand, analyze and evaluate market outcomes....

热门审阅

FP

Jan 19, 2020

Excellent course on the principles of markets and the effects of taxes and subsidies. Really enjoyed it and learned a lot. You definitely start to see the world around you in a different way.

WS

Mar 05, 2020

I really liked this course. The lecturer is able to convey terminologies clearly in a short time. The problems are more sophisticated and worth time thinking instead of just toy questions.

筛选依据:

1 - Microeconomics: The Power of Markets 的 25 个评论(共 184 个)

创建者 Jie H

Mar 01, 2016

The professor is very thorough and clear in explaining the key concept of microeconomics. Although no math background is needed to take this course, I recommend some prior exposure to calculus to get an even deeper insight from this course.

创建者 Larry L E

Sep 28, 2016

This is an excellent intro to microeconomics under the standard model, taught by an excellent professor. I would take more courses from Dr. Stein, and in fact have enrolled in the 2nd piece of her microeconomics course, "How Markets Fail." Examples are very good, standard terminology is used, even when it shows a free-market bias, such as used when discussing taxes and subsidies. Given that Adam Smith insisted that government structures were necessary for the proper functioning of markets (e.g. contract law, free flow of information), such bias in the terminology is disturbing - but so it has been for a long time.

For several years I taught a course in community college, "Calculus for Business and Economics," which focused on the applicability of calculus, the mathematics of change, especially non-linear change, to microeconomic principles. This course would have been a perfect pre-req for that course, better than the usual 1st-term college micro course, in that it summarized the key elements and demonstrated them graphically, leaving an opening to discuss such topics as elasticity and surplus when the demand and supply curves are non-linear.

创建者 Xiao L

Oct 19, 2017

I took the Microeconomics course in university, and I have read some textbooks of it. But none of them can compete with this course. Learning on Coursera is really organized and comfortable. And Professor Stein really reveals the philosophy of economics behind figures.

创建者 Ben O

Mar 10, 2018

Dr. Stein is a terrific lecturer who has significantly increased my interest in economics - high as it already was. I'll be signing up for the "Market failures" course... as soon as my head stops aching from the highly beneficial, if somewhat painful reshaping of my outlook on the world that this bit of education resulted in. Also, much thanks to Rick Nimo - the mentor for the course - for his invaluable assistance.

Ouch. And kudos to both on a job brilliantly done, from another professional educator. :)

创建者 Jing L

Sep 29, 2017

I learned a lot about fundamentals of microeconomics from this course. I will view the finance news with a fresh and deeper perspective from now on. I find the instructor Rebecca very effective in introducing abstract concepts through examples, walking through examples slowly and carefully, and making remarks and conclusions along the way. Some of her comments on the real-world economy is also really thought-provoking. I look forward to the next course to learn about when and how market fails.

创建者 Dinesh R

Jan 17, 2017

I am an engineer with a deep interest in Economics and Finance. I have read about (and even taken classes on ) demand & supply before, but no one quite explained it like Rebecca Stein does in this course. She distils the essence of this very fundamental concept and presents it with simplicity and clarity in a unique manner that somehow sticks in my head.

Thank you Dr Stein. I breezed through this course in record time, and immediately signed up for the next one.

创建者 Yining G

Jun 12, 2020

Highly recommend this course for someone wanna learn some stuff about microeconomics. In this course, there is no much mathematical issues to proof some of the diagram, so even a person without knowledge about advanced mathematics can get through it. With the second part--- Microeconomics: when market falls, you can grasp all the main contents of microeconomics principles.

Ps: might be a bit difficult for total beginners

创建者 Anthony T

Mar 16, 2016

Originally I take this course as a refresher. I did my MBA at Cardiff University in Wales quarter of a century ago. But the standard of the course has proved to be rather challenging. I have found Dr Stein an excellent teacher. Her lecturing style is such that I hung onto every word she says, even though I know most of the contents. I am looking forward to the sequel.

创建者 Saransh G

Feb 15, 2016

Wharton goes on to prove why it is one of the best B-schools in the world. The course content is presented in a beautiful and crisp manner. Focus on concepts and teaching them both qualitatively and quantitatively are the highlights of this course. A must-do to get started in Microeconomics.

创建者 Swagota S

Jun 01, 2020

This course is very interesting as well as very informative course. The arrangement of the topics for this course is very educative. Personally, I like studying Microeconomics. Moreover, the Course instructor Prof. Rebecca Stein made this course more interesting, more attractive.

创建者 Wee-Teng T

Jul 11, 2020

Course is conducted in an easy to understand method. Lecturer was able to explain very clearly the concepts and provides very good example. This is a course that I would strongly recommend to people who would like to understand the concept of supply and demand. Excellent course!

创建者 Brady B

Aug 03, 2020

Moderate difficulty, but the problem sets are rewarding when you figure them out. Basic algebra principles needed to set and solve equations for various concepts. Course instructor is very knowledgeable. Hits the main concepts of micro very well.

创建者 Ankit A

Oct 22, 2016

I enjoyed learning the "Microeconomics: The Power of Markets". The Video tutorials were great. Explanations given by the professor were easily understandable and further numerical examples practice followed by quiz enhanced the learning. Thanks.

创建者 Arshdeep S

Mar 09, 2017

This is an amazing course for Microeconomics. The primary reason is that everything is well explained and so it's not as difficult to grasp the concepts. I would recommend everyone to give this course a shot, you'll learn some neat stuff!

创建者 Delali K K

Aug 17, 2019

It has been a very interesting journey of learning, content is on point and very interesting. If your intention is just to run through the course and get a certificate them am sorry, you need to find time and study. I enjoyed the course.

创建者 Pracheta D

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent explanation of basic economic concepts. Looking forward to more courses by Ms Rebecca. Thank you so much for your great work. Loved the videos & quizzes. They have certainly enriched my knowledge of economics further.

创建者 Eli E

Apr 27, 2020

In terms of material, how interesting it was and the instructor's teaching it was definitely a 5/5. Although, the videos were a little too long sometimes and made me lose a bit of interest, overall the course was a 5/5/

创建者 Faris Z B

Apr 30, 2020

Amazing course. I went to Arizona State University and took this course during my undergrad. Yet, I found this course on the subject was much more informative and easier to understand as well as put into practice.

创建者 Roy H

Aug 27, 2020

Just took HBS CORe and this course definitely does an equally strong job! Minus the thousands of dollars in tuition money! Wonderful way to supplement that knowledge with a deeper understanding of Microeconomics.

创建者 Diogo M

Jun 05, 2020

Meu favorito até agora.

A professora parece muito simpática e tem domínio do assunto.

Gosto da forma como ela explica os conceitos e da forma como os testes são aplicados.

Estou ansioso para concluir este curso.

创建者 Enikoe B

Aug 15, 2020

logical and comprehensible progression of material, clear presentation of figures and calculations, concise and clear description of concepts, written and video content perfect for all learners

创建者 Felix P

Jan 19, 2020

Excellent course on the principles of markets and the effects of taxes and subsidies. Really enjoyed it and learned a lot. You definitely start to see the world around you in a different way.

创建者 Wenwen S

Mar 05, 2020

I really liked this course. The lecturer is able to convey terminologies clearly in a short time. The problems are more sophisticated and worth time thinking instead of just toy questions.

创建者 Juan R

Jun 07, 2020

The professor was clear and concise. I learned a lot without ever feeling overwhelmed. The quiz questions were relevant to the material covered and improved my understand of the material.

创建者 Arin P

May 17, 2020

The information I gained during this course will surely help me in becoming a better economist in the future and I found all the concepts quite easy as they were explained very well.