Chevron Left
返回到 模型思维

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 模型思维 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,445 个评分
305 个审阅

课程概述

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

热门审阅

GK

Feb 25, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

YK

Apr 07, 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

筛选依据:

1 - 模型思维 的 25 个评论(共 297 个)

创建者 Saikat G

May 25, 2019

An Excellent Introduction to Applied Mathematics

I have always loved Mathematics as I am a Computer Science student. However, my interests have hitherto been on the pure side. This course was my introduction to Applied Mathematics, particularly in the social sciences. (Of course, I have been exposed to Applied Mathematics before, but it was always in the context of Physics or Engineering.)

I heard about this course because I was reading Scott Page's book - Model Thinking. I thought I'd take the online course parallelly as I read the book. It is an excellent course.

The modules are small and digestible chunks and practical examples are given about each of the models. The course is all about the virtues of thinking of situations in multiple models and recognizing that almost all models are wrong, because by definition, a model must make simplifications from the real world. However, that doesn't mean that the model cannot explain a substantial part of the real world of provide genuine insight !

The tests are great. This was my first CourseEra course. Since each test can be taken multiple times, there is no pressure or stress before the test. I started thinking of the test as another educational experience. The tests really reinforce the material.

I really recommend the course, particularly if you love Mathematics and have not been exposed to how it is used in fields like Economics, Politics and Social Sciences.

The only complain I have is that there is no project or paper required to be written. This is the reason I still do not feel like I have truly mastered the material in depth. I will now try to do something deeper with the material I learnt in this course.

创建者 Bradley G

Jan 26, 2019

I learned much more than anticipated. In fact I've already started exploring areas of my work that model thinking would apply and how to use the tools presented in this class. Highly recommend!

创建者 Qinling Y

Jan 19, 2018

Perfect syllabus and topic arrangement, clear lecturing, except few Chinese

创建者 Umut B Y

Apr 07, 2019

Course is touch with understandable nice language. Also there are many real life situation to support what being taught. Definitely suggested for those who want to look at world differently

创建者 Christian G H

Feb 22, 2019

Extraordinary. I was a pretty good thinker but now I am way better.

创建者 Deleted A

Feb 11, 2019

This is the course that I recall many times in my work and studies

创建者 KD H

Mar 05, 2019

Great content, well explained, straight to the point without filler.

Excellent teacher.

创建者 Warwick T

Mar 08, 2019

This was a very interesting course. Scott Page is an excellent lecturer. The lectures often have questions in them that make sure the student understands the lecture. The reviews also ask good questions to help the student learn. One suggestion for improvement is that the lectures that have corrections in them should be recorded again.

创建者 Din K

Mar 16, 2019

Very good introduction to model thinking. Thanks for providing this free course and the excellent delivery from Scott Page.

创建者 Fernando P

Mar 18, 2019

This is an EXCELLENT CLASS. If you're someone who isn't math savvy and wants to see how math can be used in the real world, check this course out. It really helps you to see the underlying commonalities between all kinds of problems. Great course. Relatable instructor.

创建者 Ludo A S

Mar 19, 2019

Essential for everyday life!

创建者 Milind G

Dec 20, 2018

Excellent Teaching and Good content for getting an introduction for Model Thinking.

创建者 John H

Dec 22, 2018

Best high level modeling course! The course uses Interesting important examples for each category of model.

创建者 Amber635

Dec 13, 2018

it is great and thanks for instructor teaching this course. I have learned much

创建者 Vladimir K

Apr 10, 2019

AWESOME!

The day I started the course I thought like 'well, maybe i will look through several lectures', but during the course i understood that i was wrong. The course is super useful and interesting! Especially for engineer guys like myself.

创建者 SUN W

Feb 19, 2019

This is a very informative course, highly recommend!

创建者 Jose J L

Dec 29, 2018

Outstanding Course

创建者 Armand R

Apr 09, 2016

Eye-opening cross-disciplinary program with an outstanding teacher. Cannot be better, thank you Internet for bringing this to everyone.

创建者 Şükrü B

Jun 02, 2017

This was one of the best courses I've taken so far. Thanks for providing this great material and information to students worldwide.

创建者 Alvaro E

Aug 01, 2017

Simply deep.

创建者 Oscar J D R

Jan 23, 2016

It offers excellent tools so as to understand networks, totally recommended.

创建者 Anshul T

Jun 07, 2016

Wonderful course and equally wonderful instructor. I really like how Scott builds up from a very simple model and by explaining the intuition behind how we got the math, explains the maths.

创建者 Islam A E

Dec 02, 2015

Brilliant subject, awesome teacher!

创建者 Oana G

Apr 15, 2017

I have thouroughly enjoyed this course; it was a great introduction to many new concepts and reasoning frameworks and I cannot wait to dwell deeper into the technicalities of each model. Scott's lectures and explanations are easy to follow, entertaining and I liked having diverse extra readings for each topic.

创建者 Steven B

Dec 19, 2016

Excellent in depth course on modelling