Chevron Left
返回到 模型思维

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 模型思维 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,898 个评分
418 条评论

课程概述

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

热门审阅

GK
Feb 24, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

AA
Nov 23, 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

筛选依据:

351 - 模型思维 的 375 个评论(共 409 个)

创建者 Xavier

Jul 20, 2017

I rate 4 stars for the originality of the theme of his course ... not really an academic thing as far as I know. Doesn't get a 5 stars because I would have wished something more formal and rigorous. Indeed many models are covered and the lack of proper definitions make some concepts "blurred"

创建者 Nikita B

Aug 31, 2019

This course let me unserstand basic things about models, I think it was the target of this one. I would prefer to have more mathematics, more depth, but I think it is perfect for beginners, all topics in this course are quite easy understandable for the majority of people. Thank you!

创建者 Andrew C

Jun 29, 2017

An fascinating but difficult course, especially if you are just doing it out of interest rather than having a background in the subject. There is a fair bit of maths which isn't difficult but is rather swept over if you haven't done any for the last 30 years!

创建者 Samuel D

Jan 10, 2020

Broad range of modeling topics covered relatively quickly. Depending on your background, some of the concepts will be more or less difficult to understand. Nice way to familiarize and challenge yourself with new material at the same time.

创建者 Roberto G R

Dec 27, 2015

This course is both very instructive and fun. The professor covers a lot of interesting topics. It would be better if he speaks a little bit slower, so the non native English speakers like me can understand all he is saying.

创建者 Dmitry U

Feb 28, 2016

The course focus is broad and instructor is great. However, some particular models have been described too general, e.g. the lectures on Lyapunov functions had no connection to the ODEs and other mathematical phenomena.

创建者 Christopher A

Jan 10, 2016

Very interesting course. It isn't a hard course whatsoever but the concepts you learn are very fundamental and can be applied in so many domains. Very important to be a well rounded thinker.

创建者 Milind G

Dec 31, 2015

A must do course for everyone.. It's a rejoinder to all those who say that what you learn in schools/colleges is of no use in practical life.

创建者 Toke S

Mar 27, 2016

I found this course very educational and i feel brighter after finishing.

Modelthinking helps me to interpret the world and my surroundings.

创建者 George T M

Feb 25, 2019

Model Thinking by the University of Michigan makes one a better thinker and helps one to understand practical situations using models.

创建者 Никита

Feb 19, 2016

One of the greatest courses on MOOC! The only thing which is still hard to handle with is the temp of speech of the tutor. :)

创建者 Luuk T

Jan 16, 2016

Contributed to making me a clearer thinker and was a good refreshment of material from my MSc Business Administration.

创建者 Sid R

Jan 28, 2016

Love it! This is my first foray into model thinking. I wish there is a better way to say thanks to Professor Page.

创建者 Venugopal B

Nov 14, 2019

Good introduction to the material. But don't depend on the lectures / course if you want to go deeper

创建者 李培春

Oct 9, 2016

The teacher is witty. It's a great course, but more mathematical calculating would be better.

创建者 chandra s

Sep 14, 2016

I think everyone should take this course although some of the lectures are hard

创建者 Kirk r

Sep 14, 2017

Good class. A little topical, I would have liked more time Net Logo.

创建者 Albert N

Oct 24, 2017

The main takeway for me is the ability to understand complex models

创建者 bob n

Jul 2, 2020

very interesting material, easy to follow, useful quizzes and tests

创建者 Ross T J

Jan 18, 2020

Pretty good course. The book is also very interesting.

创建者 Pietro P

Jun 9, 2016

I think it is terrific course - it is just right for me

创建者 Salvador V P G

May 18, 2020

very good, format for this class have improve a lot!!.

创建者 Roland v L

Feb 9, 2018

Very interesting material, lectures were a bore.

创建者 Vishnu U

Apr 1, 2016

Gives perspective to the decisions people take

创建者 JeromeTang

Nov 10, 2019

Good course to start model thinking. thanks.