Chevron Left
返回到 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的评价和反馈

4.7
897 个评分
219 条评论

课程概述

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

热门审阅

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

筛选依据:

26 - 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的 50 个评论(共 215 个)

创建者 Leo K

Mar 08, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is a very good speaker, and the course is very well organized. The subjects he discuss are very interesting; I enjoyed listening to him for hours. I will absolutely participate in the second part of this course as well as the course about the modern history of Israel.

创建者 Kunal S

Jun 04, 2020

A brilliant course for someone who wants to learn about the origins of States in Middle East During the Ottoman era. Brilliant instructor with deep knowledge and simple lectures, helps students to understand better. Strongly recommended to undergo both the Parts for complete understanding.

创建者 Sergio d l R

May 21, 2020

Excelent course! A very clear outline and explanation of the context and series of events that led to the creation of the modern Middle East, focusing on each region to extract very interesting details. I took the course for personal interest in the matter, and found it to be very useful!

创建者 (Rob)Wang S

May 08, 2018

A very informative course on the state building in the middle east. Would be great preparatory course if someone would like to have a deeper understanding for the current political unrest in the region. Very clear and succinct lectures, and I enjoyed this course a lot! Thank you, prof!

创建者 Miriam l

Dec 27, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to all those who are curios about Modern Middle East history or simply love Arab culture. To me, this is a very in-depth course which need to be accompanied by extra readings to have a more complete picture in mind. I'm going to take the secon

创建者 Robert A J

Aug 08, 2018

A very good course to understand the beginning of the modern Middle East. This course allows a novice to understand the important players that would shape future events and we can see the impact of the actions taken by the key figures in this course in the present day.

创建者 Hannah L

Jun 28, 2016

Very informative and fascinating. I knew some of the history in very vague lines, but this really brings clarity to how that area of the world developed into what it is today.

The professor is very interesting and obviously extremely knowledgeable about this topic.

创建者 Melissa J H

Jan 09, 2017

This course was a wealth of information. I was a history major in college, yet not much of this information was ever presented to me. I am so happy to finally be able to understand some of the reasons behind the current difficulties in the Middle East.

创建者 Swathi M

Nov 16, 2017

Really well structured course that does a solid job at laying out the messiness that is the history of the Middle East. Really good professor who has pragmatic interpretations and makes intellectual connections without losing the student's attention.

创建者 VASCO T N

Jun 01, 2020

Trata-se de um Curso de excelente relevancia para aquisição de conhecimento notório a cerca da geopolítica do Oriente Médio, desde o domínio Otomano até a criação do Estado de Israel e o advento do Sionismo patriota judaico na região.

创建者 ONG E D

Aug 21, 2017

Very informative course which discusses the historical developments that lead to the creation of the current middle eastern states. The PDF lecture notes are very useful. Great for anyone looking to understand middle eastern politics.

创建者 Rodrigo S M M

Aug 22, 2017

Wonderfully taught - a delight to experience. The instructor knew the syllabus by heart, and was able to convey the sheer quantity of information with such a precise, striking ease, that it made the ordeal a captivating thing to do.

创建者 Anna R

May 14, 2017

Very interesting and in-depth course on the history and past of the Middle East. Professor Susser is very knowledgeable and thoroughly explains the reasons behind the strategics movements and their impact on society and development.

创建者 Shourjo C

Jun 26, 2016

A clear, concise and comprehensive course on the history of the Modern Middle East. Masterfully presented by Professor Asher Susser. Highly recommended if you would like to know more about the history and origins of the Middle East.

创建者 Ahmed D

Nov 17, 2017

Professor Susser is an excellent tutor - His presentation of the course was outstanding, making the course extremely exciting and a joy to undertake. I look forward to doing Part II. Honored to attend Professor Susser's lectures.

创建者 Matteo L

Jan 09, 2016

Great insight by a person that profoundly knows Middle East; I would sugget it both to those that need to do business with ME people, both to those that are willing simply to know a bit more about today's world.

Enjoy it!

创建者 Rodrigo H S

May 13, 2017

Excelente curso, ayuda a comprender de mejor forma la conformación del oriente medio moderno. Además de llegar a conocer cuales fueron las consecuencias de la primera guerra mundial dentro de Medio Oriente.

创建者 BRIAN K C C A A A A A A

May 08, 2020

This is a tremendous asset to any student of the Middle East. This is especially the case in the Post 9/11 World. The course is well taught by Professor Susser. Excellent scholarship, great presentation.

创建者 Katie E

Oct 31, 2016

I learned a ton in this course. I have a much more solid foundation for understanding religious differences, issues with national borders/geography, and conflicts between religious rule and secularism.

创建者 Khaled H Z

May 20, 2016

One of the best courses on the Middle-East. The Professor is excited about teaching it, and his excitement reflect on all participants and learners. It is not just educational, it is fun and enjoyable.

创建者 Ruth V

Jun 27, 2016

Lot of information and hundred of years of history in four weeks it is a great challenge. Only if participants interact more in the forum.

Professor is excellent lecturer away from bias

创建者 Tracy T

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

创建者 Mardohar B B S

Jun 18, 2020

This is the course that gives me the pleasure of following the dynamic movement that provides me with the basic understanding with what is happening in the Middle East nowadays.

创建者 Aakash A

Sep 08, 2017

A complete breakdown of the Middle Eastern States emergence from the Ottoman Empire's rule to the Mandates imposted by the European Powers post WW1.

Looking forward to part 2.

创建者 Armin E

Jan 31, 2016

I thought it was a great course, very well produced, rhetorically excellent. I very much enjoyed learning and I think I profited in my understanding of Middle Eastern affairs.