Chevron Left
返回到 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
741 个评分
184 条评论

课程概述

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

热门审阅

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

筛选依据:

126 - 现代中东的兴起 - 第 I 部分 的 150 个评论(共 180 个)

创建者 Giuseppe

Oct 14, 2017

Very very interesting!!!!

创建者 Muhammad i R

Nov 10, 2019

Amazing learning it was.

创建者 Therese R

Sep 30, 2016

A superb in depth study!

创建者 Emerson M A

Jan 26, 2018

Excellent. Thank you.

创建者 Dilshod M

Feb 18, 2017

Very good explaining

创建者 Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

super informative

创建者 John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent Course

创建者 cheryl b

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent Course

创建者 Hamid S

Feb 18, 2016

excellent course

创建者 Alex R

Dec 06, 2015

Very informative

创建者 Jakub S

Feb 29, 2016

An eye opener.

创建者 Gijs v S

Nov 18, 2019

Very thorough

创建者 Tayfun K

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!

创建者 Dan O M M

Aug 31, 2017

Great course!

创建者 Ioannis V

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent!

创建者 Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

very good

创建者 EDUARDO A

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent

创建者 Bárbara T

Jul 14, 2017

I like!

创建者 Daan B

May 15, 2016

I very much liked this course. Iam reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/History-Modern-Middle-East-5th/dp/0813348331

this course is a good addition. I think it is necessary to also read about the topics because the course covers a lot. Still without reading I think this is an interesting introduction to get an overview of the past centuries. One may get lost in some of de details but the teaching is very good so you will always get something out of this course.

Hopefully more courses on the middle east will be available on Coursera in the future.

创建者 Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

创建者 Karin H

May 08, 2018

Good overview. Wish we could have articles rather than books for complementary readings (from a time perspective). As well, would be great if, when showing and talking about maps, the professor could point to the area he is talking about. Sometimes it was really hard to make out what was on the maps.

创建者 Kimberly K

Sep 10, 2016

The information is great and delivered in a way easy to understand. It is clear the presenter is passionate about the topic and presenting. The quizzes capture knowledge that is actually important to know. There are photos, literary sources, and many maps. However, slightly boring to watch.

创建者 Richaundra P

Jun 14, 2016

The professor was very pleasant to listen to. The pacing was overall good, though the last few lessons have quite a bit of information packed in. My only real complaint was that I was hoping for more explicitly direct links to be made to modern events. Still, very enjoyable class.

创建者 Euin C K

May 24, 2018

Information organized in an accessible manner and articulative of key points.

However, note takings are time consuming due to lack of presentational material during the lectures.

Perhaps extra addition of visual aid would enhance the educational experience.

创建者 bethany l

Jul 15, 2017

Thorough and in-depth without being overwhelming. An interesting perspective with logical arguments. The final exam is reliant on remembering facts rather than the bigger picture, though the facts aren't simply directly copied from the lectures.