Chevron Left
返回到 现代与后现代(第 1 部分)

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 现代与后现代(第 1 部分) 的评价和反馈

4.8
904 个评分

课程概述

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

热门审阅

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

筛选依据:

201 - 现代与后现代(第 1 部分) 的 225 个评论(共 245 个)

创建者 Alex J

Jun 8, 2020

Great course!

创建者 Accelerator

Oct 26, 2019

good lecture

创建者 Jon C

Apr 12, 2016

Great class!

创建者 Mónica M G

Aug 14, 2016

excellent!

创建者 Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

创建者 Mike H

Oct 21, 2015

very clear

创建者 Wen Z

Jun 2, 2020

worth it!

创建者 Aparicio C C

Jan 19, 2020

Excelent.

创建者 Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

创建者 Carolina P d S

Aug 5, 2017

wonderful

创建者 Hossein D

Dec 22, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

创建者 Deleted A

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

创建者 Tooba Z

Apr 23, 2022

.

创建者 Armie M

Feb 4, 2018

I

创建者 John

May 21, 2016

Q

创建者 Camila A

Jun 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the readings and videos. Also, I liked the assignments because they were challenging but possible to do. And I think the correction system works. But I think the forum organization could be better. When I was writing the essays I wanted to post ideas, questions, resources, but everything was invaded by requests from peers to correct their essays. I know everyone is anxious to get their corrections, but maybe all of the posts related to that topic can be gathered in one place so other discussions can take place. I think ideas and resources exchange is a big part of studying, and as in this course the classes are not live, the forum is the only available place for that.

I just wanted to say that because I enjoyed the course and really liked professor Roth's classes. I'm really thankful for that.

创建者 Patrícia R P

Oct 3, 2021

The course has strong references, mainly in the areas of philosophy and classic literature. I was delighted while exploring all the different approaches and impressions made by such renowned figures. It offers extended material and insight for access knowledgeability on an array of diverse subjects. Delving deep in the long readings and accessing the week's assignment on time can be quite a challenge. I am currently delving into Part 2 of this course, as I mostly want to engage with different philosophical viewpoints while making the necessary adaptations following my thought and life view.

创建者 Divulgación f

Jun 16, 2021

T​engo una sensación agridulce del cuirso. El contenido y desarrollo del mismo adelantado por el profesor es inmejorable: excelente didáctica, gran campo de contexto nada que mejorar. Sin embargo, me pareció terrible el sistema de evaluación de los escritos, no me parece este sistema algo serio, pues no se sabe realmente quien realiza la evaluación y la competencia que tiene para realizar dicha evaluación. Este último elemento desvaloriza la riqueza que el mismo curso ofrece.

创建者 Eimeren M

May 11, 2020

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

创建者 Lynne H

Aug 4, 2020

This course was excellent; Michael Roth is an excellent lecturer who clearly knows his subjects very well.

My only wish is that this online course would find additional learning methodologies, other than lecture/videos for the entire course. (I chose not to do the written assignments and discussions). I particularly liked the final segment giving more context to the subject matter, through painting.

创建者 Madhushree K

Jun 20, 2020

Wish the course would provide a framework within which essays ought to be written. For ex: One of my essays got marked as "plagiarised" because I didn't cite my sources. The thing is, I have never written academic essays after high school. I didn't even know there are supposed to be citations, or that there are different ways to go about them.

创建者 Emmanouil P

Apr 4, 2017

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

创建者 Katy S

Oct 16, 2015

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

创建者 frank t

Oct 18, 2015

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

创建者 Chris R

May 19, 2020

Great course. As stated in the title this is very much a part one and lays the foundations for the topic by looking at the enlightenment and build up to modernity, which are covered in more detail in part 2.