Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第二部分:1910 年后的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第二部分:1910 年后的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,106 个评分
306 条评论

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

热门审阅

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM
Dec 7, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

筛选依据:

51 - 现代世界,第二部分:1910 年后的全球史 的 75 个评论(共 305 个)

创建者 Rob H

Jan 27, 2018

Basically everything from 20th century history that they should have taught us in Canadian Elementary and high school. Much better than learning about Canadian fur trade with natives for 12 years of education! This history is relevant to today and should be a staple of the Canadian education system!

创建者 Jane B

Jun 7, 2020

Excellent course. Professor Philip Zelikow has an excellent presentation style, congenial with an even pace and tone. He successfully explains complex issues in a manner that is easy to understand. This course really helped me to better understand today's world based on a historical context.

创建者 Maria F

Feb 13, 2017

Superb course on world history. I've just finished watching all the videos in this and the previous course. Twice.

The pace is wonderful. The blend of facts, anecdotes, notes, photographs, graphics, etc. keeps you hooked till the end.

Thanks for making this great course available to the world.

创建者 WMChen

Nov 9, 2019

This course is excellent to provide analysis of situation, problems, choices made at the time of the world events. I have learned a great deal. As many other students in the forum responded, I do hope that some reading lists can be provided to support further reading on relevant topics.

创建者 Ryan N

Sep 23, 2017

The professor is excellent. He is incredibly knowledgable, and was able to articulate specific moments in history through much wider lenses, describing broad trends that were happening, and other choices that key people in history could have made. I enjoyed this class tremendously.

创建者 Andrew O

Apr 18, 2018

Like the first part this was outstanding. Even if you know a lot about history this will help you put more of it together and understand how international and local forces work to influence events. Rather than the usual focus on the what, there is an intense focus on the why.

创建者 Chandrashekhar G

Jul 31, 2020

This is long course but compared to the vast amount time of history it covers, it can be considered short. I absolutely loved. It is not like traditional history course the approach is more analytical and it made it so much enjoyable and helped me understand more thoroughly.

创建者 Helena K

Jan 9, 2019

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

创建者 Bryan C

Mar 4, 2018

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.

创建者 Albana B

May 5, 2020

It was a real pleasure to participate in the course. Professor Zelikow has all the skills of an excellent teacher. He is not just demonstrating what he knows, he also guides our attention to sensitive and key points that clarify complex situations. A wonderful course!

创建者 Parthiban N

Jul 21, 2020

suggest to issues a single unified certification for those who passed both parts or don't print the word Part One and two as both are covering different period of history. having printed part 1 and 2, almost suggests that ,there might be more parts than indicated.

创建者 Neil H

Jan 16, 2019

An exceptional experience. I did it first back in 2014, with all the tests. I have since downloaded it and been through the videos for parts 1 and 2 several times. If you want a broad understanding of the last 250 years of history you will find this hard to beat.

创建者 Brian J

Jan 10, 2016

This is an excellent course. It provides a very good overview of world history since 1910, highlighting key events and providing the context in which decisions affecting those events were made. It whets my appetite for a more detailed treatment of this period.

创建者 Linda

Jan 9, 2016

It is a wonderful course. I highly recommend taking it soon after completing part one because of the way it builds on information described in part I. Information about money systems and thoughts the key world leaders thought at crossroads in history were fa

创建者 Adriana A

Jan 5, 2016

Excellent course, professor Zelikow is an excellent teacher-speaker who not only explain the history but also helps us to understand why things happen, the situation, the choices made and it effects. I took the two parts, I highly recommend both of them.

创建者 Steven C

Dec 20, 2017

A great, encompassing course on the global history of the past century. Professor Zelikow is a fantastic lecturer and has plenty of experience from his time as a diplomatic and government official. Highly recommended if you're interested in history.

创建者 Owen W

Aug 13, 2017

Prof. Zelikow gave a thorough analysis of 20th century history up til 2013, sticking to analysis of causes, decisions, and consequences of people and states. This course gave me the context to understand, not just spectate, our current events today,

创建者 Yvonne N

Jun 2, 2020

An excellent overview of 250 years of history by an engaging tutor that kept encouraging us to ask the reasons why things happen, the context that shapes events, and the choices countries take at a certain moment in history to solve their problems.

创建者 Heike R

Dec 9, 2019

I'm really enjoying this course. There are so many new aspects and perspectives presented that challenge my understanding of the historical facts I have learnt so far. It's been an eyeopening experience. The presentation is also great.

Thanks you.

创建者 RISHAV K

Aug 21, 2020

The second part, of course, was no less enlightening or engaging than part one. My sincere thanks to the University of Virginia and Professor Philip Zelikow. I shall recommend this course to anyone remotely interested in the history of the world.

创建者 Raju G

Nov 11, 2017

Excellent Course. Recommended for everyone interested in international relations, public policy and of course any student of history. Unlike most history courses which try to recount events, this course puts emphasis on global historical trends.

创建者 ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

Great Instructor/Course from great University as great as the rest of Virginia university courses. Well respected Universities in addition to Duke, San Diego and Michigan Compared to the very short courses from other reputable Universities

创建者 Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

创建者 Jennifer S

Mar 19, 2016

Fascinating consideration of Why history took the turns it did and what alternatives there might have been. As a professor in the area of biology, I admire his organization and I admire the extent to which he excites curiosity. Excellent

创建者 Heather Z

Sep 26, 2017

Wonderfully taught! Not just what happened but why it happened. This course, part one and part two, have really turned the light on for me, to see the significance of people's choices and how deeply every choice influences another