Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,510 个评分
369 个审阅

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

1 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 25 个评论(共 359 个)

创建者 Anne M

Apr 25, 2018

I am giving this 3 stars for one reason. Although the instructor was terrific and the subject matter interesting, you cannot take the quizzes/tests without purchasing the course (I like to test my retention of the material). As I am an elderly and retired audit-only student and have NO interest in getting a certificate or using the course for college credit, I found that off-putting and dropped the class. Hopefully, other Coursera courses are not going to adopt the same requirement.

创建者 Vinayaka H

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you

创建者 John H

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

创建者 Kelvin L

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

创建者 Ulises A

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

创建者 Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

创建者 Maira R P d C

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,

I am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

创建者 Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

创建者 Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

创建者 Dimitris S

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

创建者 Manjula g

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

创建者 Fernando H U

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

创建者 leslie c

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

创建者 Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

创建者 Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

创建者 Ramez T

Nov 16, 2018

Professor is clear and goes at a great pace. I like how he tackles the deeper things in history; ie, the how and why, not just the what.

创建者 Samuel O

Jul 23, 2018

Considero que la explicación del Profesor Philip Zelikow es genial y aporta elementos muy claros y claves sobre la historia moderna. Hay que corregir los quizes porque realizan preguntas que no corresponden a la semana (a veces se pregunta sobre temas que no se han visto) pero es genial, recomendadísimo para los amantes de la historia.

创建者 Dimitrios E

Sep 02, 2018

It was a truly amazing course that allowed me to learn so much about the period between 1760 and 1910, gave excelent insight to how people though and understood the world at that time and refueled my interest in modern history. I highly recomend it

创建者 Derik B

Aug 27, 2018

An excellent course.

创建者 Kelly R

Oct 11, 2018

Amazing course!

创建者 Victoria D

Oct 13, 2018

This is a phenomenal introduction to what happened in the world between 1760 and 1910. Not only the professor is able to explain ''what'' happened but most importantly he makes a super emphasis on ''why'' things happened the way they did. The split between the ''what'' and the ''why'' is about 50/50 which I find quite rare as many of my previous learning experiences concentrated primarily on the ''what'' which is not enough to truly understand life and the world. Super course for those interested in the innerworkings of human beings, the choices they have made and the systems those chhave created.

创建者 ashlie s

Aug 19, 2018

excellent

创建者 Ahmed A e A A

Sep 15, 2018

it's very hard and useful course

创建者 Hao S

Sep 26, 2018

It's definitely great experience to follow the professor. In seven weeks, you can experience a lot. You need to think about a lot of issues in this course and maybe you can have more different insights about it. Thanks a lot.

创建者 Vitaliano D G

Oct 03, 2018

Great professor, no waste of time, great points of view!