Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,552 个评分
376 个审阅

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

76 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 100 个评论(共 366 个)

创建者 Admario L R

Dec 06, 2015

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

创建者 Daniel Q C

Oct 31, 2015

Great content, the teacher makes it easy to understand in few minutes the general idea of every topic

创建者 Bhanu S

Apr 10, 2018

The best Modern World History course. I wish professor had a book on the course written by himself, he explains every event from a number of perspectives, which is absolutely great.

创建者 Claudia B V

Nov 07, 2015

I love what I'm learning and the way the teacher carries himself while explaining.

创建者 Lisa S

Aug 01, 2016

I just audited this course for the fun of it with an interest in seeing patterns from the past in order to understand our present. I enjoyed the presentation and the professor's thematic approach and his relaxed conversational presentation style. I feel like I got exactly what I hoped to get out of it. I particularly found his use of images from the various countries and time periods helpful and memorable.

创建者 Ellen W

Dec 23, 2015

The professor is very knowledgeable and engaging. It is fascinating to hear every word he says. I like the way he analyses WHY this or that happened and what we could learn from an event.

创建者 Nelson N

Jun 24, 2018

Still trying to make myself comfortable with so much insightful information.

创建者 Trevor W

Jan 01, 2017

Great course. Awesome professor.

创建者 christophe s

Apr 14, 2016

Excellent course, very complete and insightful

创建者 stuart s

Apr 10, 2018

Elegantly composed, clearly articulated, brilliant analysis of modern world history from a primarily political aka "diplomatic history" perspective.

创建者 Edward S T W K

Jan 30, 2017

Very easy to follow yet imparts a deep understanding of the subject.

创建者 Iurii G

Aug 31, 2016

excellent

创建者 Dawn J

Jul 08, 2017

Fascinating and broad, I have studied this time period on two occasions at different educational establishments as part of other courses but I still found this course engaging. It gives a broad and fairly global view of events - and shows the interconnections, which I thought was very good. I hope to be able to find time to take the second part of this course in the near future.

创建者 Diana M

Feb 18, 2018

This course shows an excellent view of the main historical facts. I recommend this program who is interested to understand the current global movement.

Thanks professor Zelikow.

创建者 Aleksandr S

Feb 15, 2016

This is the way I wish history was taught everywhere.

创建者 Agim C

Jan 26, 2018

This is a excellent course.

To know in advance what happened during this period is advisable.

创建者 Hilde K

Aug 17, 2016

Thoroughly engaging and Part 2 is even better. Not full of dates etc. just full of explanations for why things happened and why they could or couldn't have happened another way.

创建者 Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

The course covers an extensive important period of time and in a very organized way. You never get lost. The quizzes are of remarkable level, very well-thought and never superficial. The way things get related and start making sense helped me get to another level in my knowledge of history. I will never study any subject without making reference to other important events that happened elsewhere. And will always refer my readings on this theme to what I learned in this course. Great chance to watch Professor Zelikow's classes from Brazil. Thanks Coursera!

创建者 Beth G P

Jun 27, 2016

One of the single most interesting and useful courses I've ever taken. It definitely gave me a greater context for both history and for current events.

创建者 Antonios K

May 26, 2016

Excellent Professor!!! Not the same old boring history course! Prof. Zelikow really digs into history and poses the fundamental question "Why?"

创建者 Goran P

Dec 08, 2015

Interesting and well presented.

Why questions are so much more important than what.

创建者 Natalia

Jan 06, 2016

very good overview of world history

创建者 rodrigo a m

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic!!!

创建者 Magdalena M K

Nov 13, 2015

I have already done this course before. Now I wanted check do I remeber everything or not. I'm very satisfied because I can say 'YES', I remember nearly all material and I would like to thanks for that course. :)

创建者 Valorie H

Apr 24, 2016

Extremely interest course. Learned a lot. Really puts everything into perspective. Professor tells history like a story.