Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,730 个评分
432 条评论

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

76 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 100 个评论(共 422 个)

创建者 Nikolaos T

Nov 19, 2015

I think Professor Philip Zelikow is a charismatic speaker. I enjoy listening such an eloquent teacher.

The content of the lesson is compact, complete, enlightening and inspiring.

I find some of the quiz questions ambiguous.

Thank you very much.

创建者 Seersha N

Nov 02, 2015

Gives an outline of world history emphasizing on the "whys" instead of the "whats". Great course for a beginner in International Relations who seeks to gain a wide view of happenings helped create current political and economic situations.

创建者 Carla S

Jul 06, 2018

I´ve loved every lesson! I have enjoyed Professor Zelikow´s explanations and it´s been easy to understand for me. I had only studied History when I was in High School and this course has encouraged me to keep learning. Very interesting!

创建者 Clio L

Feb 04, 2016

Just excellent!!!! Thank you for this enlightening course, not just for what I've learned but also for the variety of topics for further study the course raised. Already started Part Two!!! Philip Zelikow you are really a great teacher!

创建者 Antony J D H

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent. Thoroughly engaging, thoughtfully organized, and insightful. For anyone interested in the historical events leading to the conditions of the 20th Century, this course is a gateway to that understanding. Highly recommended.

创建者 JACKSON M C

Feb 02, 2020

Simply sensational, I really liked its cheerful way, the use of excellent paintings, maps, tables. Despite being condensed, I was able to recall several historical facts and combine the knowledge in a more coherent and harmonious way.

创建者 Eirini L

Apr 28, 2017

It's a very open minded course for everyone who wants to learn more about the global history of this period and for everyone who wants to learn some of the skills of a histrian. It has a great pace and a very understandable professor.

创建者 mario a m f

May 14, 2018

The professor Zelikow is so clear in his ideas, and with examples all around the world. He gives the essentials of History: everything happens for something and the causes are interconnected. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you.

创建者 Erika K

Jul 03, 2017

Great course! I really appreciated how Dr Zelikow explained context and why major world history events happened the way they did. Lots of visual aid made this course really interesting. I would make this course a must in schools.

创建者 Ana F

Aug 28, 2017

The course is great, very complete and didactic. The professor is friendly, talks patiently and deeply about the subject, what makes it easy for us, foreigners, to capture and understand the message. Can't get enough. Thank you!

创建者 Huyen N T T

Aug 20, 2016

The greatest thing about this course is the connection of different events in the history to create a comprehensive picture about the global history. The professor is so nice and presents the course in a very interesting way :)

创建者 Nufdriew

Nov 03, 2016

Although I already had much of the conceptual framework and general history of the course, the presentations filled in the missing detail of events and causes. Beautifully illustrated with art and maps from the different eras.

创建者 Hao S

Sep 26, 2018

It's definitely great experience to follow the professor. In seven weeks, you can experience a lot. You need to think about a lot of issues in this course and maybe you can have more different insights about it. Thanks a lot.

创建者 William R

Apr 15, 2020

Great presentation and knowledgeable professor. Maybe adding some videos would have been interesting and links to outside resources. But overall, this course was definitely worth it and I learned a lot.

Thank you M. Zelikow

创建者 Akhilesh S

Jul 12, 2018

This has been a really intriguing course. Professor Zelikow passionately narrates the significant historical developments during the early Modern age, and also goes on to answering some of the 'Why' questions that crop up.

创建者 Laurence G

May 20, 2018

I learned many new things from this course. I believe it will an excellent background to understanding the World Wars. I am particularly interested in World War II and the Holocaust. I look forward to the next course.

创建者 Charles G

Mar 17, 2017

Simply awesome! I really appreciated the professor's approach and I enjoyed the videos, always looking for the next one to come. For people who have a personal interest in history, this course is definitely a must.

创建者 Faulkner

Jan 15, 2016

This is a tremendous course which revived my intellectual curiosity after many years out of structured eductation. I am now much looking forward to completing Part 2 of the course. My thanks to Professor Zelikow.

创建者 Magdalena M K

Nov 13, 2015

I have already done this course before. Now I wanted check do I remeber everything or not. I'm very satisfied because I can say 'YES', I remember nearly all material and I would like to thanks for that course. :)

创建者 Etore S

Aug 30, 2015

An interesting economic and geopolitical analysis of a crucial era in global history. The topics were perfectly arranged and precisely introduced by a very well prepared professor. Nice course, enjoyable classes.

创建者 Saiprasad C

Apr 05, 2016

I loved attending the Modern World, Part one course.

I have been a student of history all my life but i learnt a lot during the course.

I would like to take up other history courses time permitting in future

Thanks

创建者 Nikita S P

May 28, 2020

Professor Philip Zelikow, it was a very informative course. One can learn analytical skills, time management, reasoning skills(the why questions) through the part 1 of your course.

Thank you so much Mr. Zelikow.

创建者 Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

创建者 Jonas T R

Oct 16, 2016

Despite a bit confusing use of info-screen, this really opened my mind and view to the rest of the world. It´s if he made me see world history + our present world in a whole new light. Thank you so much :)

创建者 Farhan S

May 23, 2020

It took me a long time to finish this. By having an all-nighter, I continued learning different aspects of the world that shaped our today's world. The course materials are very informative and analyzed.