Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,579 个评分
668 条评论

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

DT

Mar 17, 2022

Excellent if concise overview of a fascinating period of Global History. Presented in a very engaging manner but with a logicakl structure to tie together what often appeared to be disparate strands.

MC

Nov 5, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

筛选依据:

601 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 625 个评论(共 662 个)

创建者 Scott M

Jun 12, 2020

Presentation and content are excellent. The only thing I dislike is that some of the videos are excessively long (30+ minutes). Coursera recommends no longer than about 10 minutes per video. It's hard to pay close attention for such long periods in an online course.

创建者 Bonnie L

Jul 28, 2019

I thought the instructor was excellent. He engaged with the viewer in the video and was not dry and boring. He really kept my attention and framed information well. Some prompting questions once a week for discussion in the work forum might be nice.

创建者 Umair N

Jan 15, 2017

This was great. For em, a person who's just in need of learning new things, this is great. Besides, there's no limit of certifications that you can have. But, I still don't think these videos cover everything covered in a professional university.

创建者 Nora B R

Sep 11, 2016

Someone who doesn't know history is destined to repeat it. I'm not a fan of history, so why take this class? Because I believe in the first statement and wanted an overview of how we got to where we are. This is a great course for that.

创建者 Derek W

Jul 16, 2017

Excellent overview of the period. Engaging professor who alternates well between zooming in and keeping the big picture. The course could do with some readings or notes separate from lecture transcripts to cement a few topics.

创建者 Jack J

Aug 23, 2017

Very interesting, and probably useful too, as a student starting UK A-Levels next year. I thought it was slightly Eurocentric, but unlike many others taking the course, I was quite happy with it being rather self-contained.

创建者 Clifford L B

Sep 22, 2016

Interesting course, well presented with just the right amount of charts and graphics, a talk and chalk approach. Some of the diagrams could have been higher resolution to enable better understanding on a first run through

创建者 Nadezda T

Sep 17, 2015

I think the course is interesting, but very general.

The lecturer is very good and all presentations are clear.

There is a lack of references and links to self-study.

创建者 Rhea L

Nov 14, 2017

Very broad history, good for people who want to cover a lot of basic history. The professor is easy to listen to and gives great examples for better understanding!

创建者 Nell E

Mar 21, 2022

V​ery informative and well presented. This course is a good way to begin a study of world history by providing a foundation from which to start further readings.

创建者 Liju G

Nov 26, 2015

I liked the approach of the topic and the narration style. The focus on finding reasons behind historical moments is a good feature of this course.

创建者 Mary S

Feb 9, 2016

Very engaging professor, easily understood. The obvious editing was very distracting and made one wonder what was being deleted.

创建者 Ricardo C

Jun 27, 2019

Course presentations are very, very interesting. However, quizzes only very poorly assess the knowledge of the participants.

创建者 Ms.Supriya A K

Aug 27, 2020

Very glad to have found this course. Thank you Coursera and to the guide Mr. Philip Sir for taking us through this journey.

创建者 James D

Dec 2, 2018

Zelikow is great at explaining things. Would love if the slides were downloadable and had a bit more content in them.

创建者 Alessandro B

Jun 18, 2020

Very interesting course, Philip was a fantastic guide through this period of history that built our odern world

创建者 Russell L

Apr 3, 2022

Good solid course, would be nice to have others taking course so I could have discussions about the course.

创建者 Dylan L

Oct 15, 2015

This course was great because history has always fascinated me and this helped fuel my love of history.

创建者 Melissa R D

Oct 11, 2020

A veces la dinámica del curso fue muy monótona. Del resto estuvo excelente, corto y comprensible.

创建者 Vivek

Jul 31, 2020

the colonisation of Indian subcontinent and its economic degradation was not properly reflected

创建者 ANDRES A G L

Sep 13, 2020

Increible. El facilitador hace la narrativa muy interesante y entretenida. 100% recomendado

创建者 laura

Jul 7, 2016

The course was very interesting and the professor explained really well in simple ways.

创建者 Vikash R P

Oct 9, 2015

Excellent Oration packed with wonderful analysis. History has never been so much fun.

创建者 Gonzalo G

Mar 28, 2020

Is a very good course. It will be better if multimedia tools are included as well.