Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,510 个评分
369 个审阅

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

301 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 325 个评论(共 359 个)

创建者 Qiyu T

Aug 23, 2019

Very well organized content! I love Professor Zelikow's way of teaching, he really draws the big picture of the global history and helps me to understand not only on what happened, but also why that happened. I can link what he teaches in the nowadays world. I would love to continue studying with him!

创建者 Federico C

Aug 22, 2019

I could stay listening to that guy for months.

创建者 Renee x

Aug 30, 2019

I haven't particularly finished all the lessons, but the overall course is quite good, especially when you're able to highlight your notes after or during the lesson.

创建者 Desrochers S

Sep 01, 2019

Cours très intéressant, un peu de difficulté avec certains concepts.

创建者 Huda J

Sep 13, 2019

An absolutely complete and rich course carefully prepared by Professor Philip Zelikow. I feel privileged for attending his outstanding lectures. Grateful for learning such rich and complete content on World History. This course is going to make an enormous difference in my career and my life.

创建者 Toni C

Dec 15, 2018

very interesting

创建者 James D

Dec 03, 2018

Zelikow is great at explaining things. Would love if the slides were downloadable and had a bit more content in them.

创建者 Richard K

Jan 29, 2019

The course is good, but requiring a purchase to do the quizzes is not.

创建者 Liane L

Nov 30, 2017

Good lectures, analytical narration, with short quizzes at the end of each lecture. What I didn't appreciate (more about the Coursera platform) was needing to pay to take the final quizzes in order to count as having progressed to the next parts of the course. The quizzes themselves are a little too facts-based to be too useful as a marker of having understood the concepts in the lectures.

创建者 Lukas S

Jan 07, 2018

Interesting take on history

创建者 Muhammad A F

Feb 18, 2016

A much much valuable course...

创建者 Liju G

Nov 26, 2015

I liked the approach of the topic and the narration style. The focus on finding reasons behind historical moments is a good feature of this course.

创建者 Nora B R

Sep 11, 2016

Someone who doesn't know history is destined to repeat it. I'm not a fan of history, so why take this class? Because I believe in the first statement and wanted an overview of how we got to where we are. This is a great course for that.

创建者 Haihang W

Oct 19, 2015

Would be great to have slides available to help for future review.

创建者 Johannes Z

Apr 22, 2016

Great overview showing the real movements and influences that spurn history!

创建者 Vikash R P

Oct 09, 2015

Excellent Oration packed with wonderful analysis. History has never been so much fun.

创建者 Johann Q

Aug 28, 2015

Good lectures, although I prefer application based courses.

创建者 Rui F V

Aug 01, 2017

Great contents. Great professor. Loved it.

创建者 Michael L

Mar 26, 2016

Overall good class--instructor is lively and engaging

创建者 ana b

Nov 02, 2015

Being a professor as well (though in computer science), I know how hard it is to get the full attention of the students. I congratulate Prof. Zelikow for his achievements. This course has capture my attention and I was eager to watch the next presentation. I learned a lot and I just have a single point (actually a suggestion), which is that each module should finish with a list of literature for those seeking more info on particular topics. Apart from this, a well balanced course. Not easy to put together stuff about 250 years of History.

创建者 Cheryl L D

Feb 26, 2016

Another great course from a professor at UVA! Almost all of the lectures were engaging. He teaches history in an easily accessible way, using very good maps, diagrams, paintings, and clear illustrations of his topics. I would recommend this course everyone, but especially folks who find history to be a dry, dusty thing, as he breathes life into the material.

创建者 Virginia C

Jun 18, 2017

Dr. Zelikow is a fairly engaging lecturer. I like his emphasis on the why things occurred and the focus on the situation and decisions people were making which made the course much more interesting than just reciting the facts. I would encourage him to consider making fuller use of the media available for online courses which I think could increase student engagement. I plan to take the second half of this course.

创建者 Glen D C

Sep 27, 2015

Content is 5 for sure. The fact that they keep suggesting to go for a verified course however is a little bit annoyig, so 1 star off for that. I think it would be more appropriate to give an option to disable future asking similar to how ratings on Android work. That being said, the course is excellent I'm taking this for pure fun and it really is, ... fun! :D