Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,550 个评分
376 个审阅

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

326 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 350 个评论(共 366 个)

创建者 Jack J

Aug 23, 2017

Very interesting, and probably useful too, as a student starting UK A-Levels next year. I thought it was slightly Eurocentric, but unlike many others taking the course, I was quite happy with it being rather self-contained.

创建者 Dylan L

Oct 16, 2015

This course was great because history has always fascinated me and this helped fuel my love of history.

创建者 Ila P

Oct 12, 2016

It took a little while to get interested in the course, but by the end of first week it began to get interesting. I liked the professor and his friendly style. It is definitely an overview of the major events of history. One can always find out details about events that one wants to know more about. This course gives a broad idea about world history and in a way helps us see what the future would be like. Because history does repeat itself.

创建者 Vincent A

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting

创建者 Mary S

Feb 09, 2016

Very engaging professor, easily understood. The obvious editing was very distracting and made one wonder what was being deleted.

创建者 ally a

Nov 08, 2015

It had a lot of information, however there wasn't a vary of sources.

创建者 Ayushi

Jun 08, 2018

Excellent course. Good way of giving details and illustration

创建者 Nishant S

Nov 10, 2016

Loved it !

创建者 Derek W

Jul 16, 2017

Excellent overview of the period. Engaging professor who alternates well between zooming in and keeping the big picture. The course could do with some readings or notes separate from lecture transcripts to cement a few topics.

创建者 Kimberly S

Sep 20, 2016

Good presentations. Enjoyed the lectures, good information, and good illustrations and maps. I'm grateful to have this opportunity to learn about this period. Phillip Zelikow takes you through the history through time zones, while visiting various ideas and happenings around different parts of the world, and how they are interconnected. I would like to see some reading material for further understanding (not just suggested books). Overall, I would recommen

创建者 Rhea L

Nov 15, 2017

Very broad history, good for people who want to cover a lot of basic history. The professor is easy to listen to and gives great examples for better understanding!

创建者 Umair N

Jan 16, 2017

This was great. For em, a person who's just in need of learning new things, this is great. Besides, there's no limit of certifications that you can have. But, I still don't think these videos cover everything covered in a professional university.

创建者 Liane L

Nov 30, 2017

Good lectures, analytical narration, with short quizzes at the end of each lecture. What I didn't appreciate (more about the Coursera platform) was needing to pay to take the final quizzes in order to count as having progressed to the next parts of the course. The quizzes themselves are a little too facts-based to be too useful as a marker of having understood the concepts in the lectures.

创建者 Haihang W

Oct 19, 2015

Would be great to have slides available to help for future review.

创建者 Muhammad A F

Feb 18, 2016

A much much valuable course...

创建者 Cheryl L D

Feb 26, 2016

Another great course from a professor at UVA! Almost all of the lectures were engaging. He teaches history in an easily accessible way, using very good maps, diagrams, paintings, and clear illustrations of his topics. I would recommend this course everyone, but especially folks who find history to be a dry, dusty thing, as he breathes life into the material.

创建者 Rui F V

Aug 01, 2017

Great contents. Great professor. Loved it.

创建者 Michael L

Mar 26, 2016

Overall good class--instructor is lively and engaging

创建者 Johannes Z

Apr 22, 2016

Great overview showing the real movements and influences that spurn history!

创建者 Johann Q

Aug 28, 2015

Good lectures, although I prefer application based courses.

创建者 ana b

Nov 02, 2015

Being a professor as well (though in computer science), I know how hard it is to get the full attention of the students. I congratulate Prof. Zelikow for his achievements. This course has capture my attention and I was eager to watch the next presentation. I learned a lot and I just have a single point (actually a suggestion), which is that each module should finish with a list of literature for those seeking more info on particular topics. Apart from this, a well balanced course. Not easy to put together stuff about 250 years of History.

创建者 Virginia C

Jun 18, 2017

Dr. Zelikow is a fairly engaging lecturer. I like his emphasis on the why things occurred and the focus on the situation and decisions people were making which made the course much more interesting than just reciting the facts. I would encourage him to consider making fuller use of the media available for online courses which I think could increase student engagement. I plan to take the second half of this course.

创建者 Laura B

Jul 07, 2016

The course was very interesting and the professor explained really well in simple ways.

创建者 Clifford L B

Sep 22, 2016

Interesting course, well presented with just the right amount of charts and graphics, a talk and chalk approach. Some of the diagrams could have been higher resolution to enable better understanding on a first run through

创建者 Liju G

Nov 26, 2015

I liked the approach of the topic and the narration style. The focus on finding reasons behind historical moments is a good feature of this course.