Chevron Left
返回到 Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) 的评价和反馈

4.9
272 个评分
95 条评论

课程概述

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 5, 2020, and will conclude on November 16, 2020. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 5 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

热门审阅

WC

Mar 21, 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF

Dec 30, 2016

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

筛选依据:

51 - Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) 的 75 个评论(共 92 个)

创建者 Lucinda J

May 27, 2020

Loved reacquainting myself with the familiar and exploring the unfamiliar and completely new. Will take this course again and look forward to lingering longer on the poems and poets who Inspired, moved and spoke to me here. Thank you, ModPo 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

创建者 Lucy C

Nov 22, 2016

This is an exceptional course. The range of material, the depth of discussion and the support from staff and other students far exceeds many university courses on literature. This course will change your life for the better.

创建者 Stephanie R

May 01, 2020

A terrific course. Sometimes the students' comments were wandering and full of hesitation and I would have preferred to hear more from the professor. But overall, I enjoyed the format and the content very much,

创建者 Scrambled E

Dec 10, 2016

Best online poetry course ever! I highly recommend it to all writers, not just poets. The development of modern and contemporary poetry goes hand and foot with the development of American literature and art.

创建者 Maria R

Jun 24, 2018

I really enjoyed how dinamic it was. Although the classes were like little debates, the professor was able to guide the students. When talking about poetry, I find this method very refreshing. Good job!

创建者 Celina C F

Sep 21, 2016

Excellent every way you look at it. Great discussions, learned a lot with all the poems and papers. Also, you get to be a part of a really great community. You will never feel lonely again.:)

创建者 Maeve O

Nov 17, 2016

I did most of this on my commute and it was so much fun. It has impacted my perception of modern poetry - the difference is spreading.

创建者 Xinshu A X

Nov 20, 2016

Tons of thanks and appreciation to Al, TAs, and everyone who has enjoyed Modpo as much as I do in the past two months!

创建者 Treva S

Sep 14, 2016

More than a course. More than poetry. More than it's international community. More than edifying. More than inspiring.

创建者 Lawrence T

Mar 20, 2019

Oh, where to start??? The community!!! Thank you just for being there.

If you wander far enough

you will come to it

创建者 KayCee K W

Nov 21, 2016

Any one who loves poetry or reading, as in what you think about the words your reading will enjoy this class!

创建者 Niels M S

May 29, 2017

Mind blowing and life-changing. Some of the best teaching I have ever received, in class or in the internet.

创建者 Shabab N K

Nov 22, 2016

Simply the best course you will ever participate in. Online or in real.

Modpo is like a family to me now.

创建者 Yaron A

Oct 24, 2016

Wonderful course! Very enlightening. It taught me a lot about reading poetry that I didn't know.

创建者 Christopher F

Nov 28, 2016

In both its content and its pedagogy, this is the best MOOC I've taken. Highly recommended.

创建者 Brian S

Jan 30, 2020

This class was challenging, enriching and it was worth every moment that I put into it.

创建者 dina h

Nov 22, 2016

If there were more stars, I would have selected them. Highly recommend this course!

创建者 Bin L

Oct 11, 2017

Wonderful course. I love all the discussions and interpretations of modern poetry.

创建者 Juliana L B

May 09, 2020

I LOVED THIS COURSE AND IN MY OPINION IT IS A COMPLETE COURSE ABOUT LITERATURE

创建者 Charles L

Nov 09, 2016

A great course to enhance one's curiosity in the art of modern poetry!

创建者 Piyush S

Oct 06, 2016

Exceptional course content. Very creative way to make students learn.

创建者 Bob B

Mar 31, 2020

It's 10 weeks of bliss.... this is what education should be like!

创建者 Purnima

Apr 19, 2020

It offered a totally new dimension to reading poetry.

创建者 Katia R

Jul 27, 2017

Fantastic community! Have been with ModPo since 2014!

创建者 Louiza

Sep 21, 2019

One of the very best courses!!!!