Chevron Left
返回到 Economics of Money and Banking

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 Economics of Money and Banking 的评价和反馈

4.9
768 个评分
190 条评论

课程概述

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

热门审阅

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

筛选依据:

51 - Economics of Money and Banking 的 75 个评论(共 185 个)

创建者 Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

创建者 Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

创建者 rohit r

Nov 02, 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

创建者 Chen L

Jan 21, 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.

创建者 Jesus S

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

创建者 Kolybina A

Mar 28, 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

创建者 Steven R

Feb 13, 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

创建者 Agustin P

May 10, 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

创建者 Pramanshu R

Jul 29, 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

创建者 Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

创建者 Yechen H

Jul 05, 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

创建者 Thoshitha

Jan 02, 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

创建者 Atulya S

Jun 11, 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

创建者 Ilias M

Jan 10, 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

创建者 Pablo S A

Oct 06, 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

创建者 Parth G

Sep 20, 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

创建者 Erik M

Sep 06, 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

创建者 Jiao S

Apr 07, 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

创建者 sarah a m a a r

Jun 07, 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

创建者 Yiannis B

Aug 27, 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

创建者 Borja P O

Jun 05, 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

创建者 tomer z

Oct 05, 2017

Excellent professor and intersting topic. the reading material is unique and expands on the material in the course

创建者 SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

创建者 Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

创建者 Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.