Chevron Left
返回到 Economics of Money and Banking

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 Economics of Money and Banking 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,168 个评分
325 条评论

课程概述

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

热门审阅

BG
Jul 16, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM
Jun 26, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

筛选依据:

76 - Economics of Money and Banking 的 100 个评论(共 322 个)

创建者 Jose R N D

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.

创建者 Sachit K

Aug 20, 2020

"Economics of Money and Banking" is a comprehensive and well-presented course with detailed study materials. It connects the theoretical aspects of academic literature with practical aspects of the modern banking system.

创建者 Doruk

Aug 13, 2020

The teacher is really passionate about teaching and teaches the course with great and simple examples. Also the pop questions in the videos are effective to ensure that you learned the topic. An excellent course overall.

创建者 Nadav A

Jun 20, 2020

Super intersting and relevant subject, Prof. Mehrling explains the subject matter in a way that is easy to grasp while not losing any depth and I find it quite useful in analyzing current events in the global economy.

创建者 David V

Sep 18, 2018

Professor is incredibly knowledgeable, class is taught at a good pace, and videos are broken down into an order which makes sense. I really enjoyed my time with this course, despite not having a math background.

创建者 David

Dec 4, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best course I have taken in coursera. Both because of the contents, the approach and the professor. Surprising approach to the economy, and IMHO, one that once taken, is prevalent.

创建者 Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

创建者 Jace T

May 17, 2020

One of the best course that i had in coursera that made me have a different free in the banking world moving away from finance and economics view, giving me a much fresher and wider perception of the world.

创建者 Panayiotis A

Sep 6, 2020

Difficult course for an individual like me with no academic background in Economics. My understanding now of the field and some its major terms has advanced. Utterly an enlightening month full of learning!

创建者 Petar K

May 29, 2020

The "Economics of Money and Banking" course provided an inspiring look on the modern international finance system. Definitely, recommending it for both newcomers and already experienced students.

创建者 Santanu K

Nov 17, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

创建者 Prathamesh M

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

创建者 Shawn S

Dec 6, 2020

Very well explained and easy to follow for a non-finance/economics person. If you want to have a deeper understanding of the Financial Times or The Economist, I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Sonia L S

Jan 16, 2021

Great Course! It even exceeded my high expectations! Instructor's explanations very interesting and well presented. I would definitely follow more courses lead by P. Mehrling.

创建者 Dan Z

Jul 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed the way it was delivered and the was the Prof explained the concept. He is extremely knowledgeable and communicates very well.

创建者 Perikli P

Dec 4, 2016

Prof. Mehrling's ability to explain such complex items is just amazing. His passion in teaching as well as his neutrality are really thrilling. Thank you very much Professor.

创建者 Vusal T H

Dec 10, 2017

This course is something priceless. Best course about money and banking in internet. The tutor was great. There is not a word to discribe the perfectness of this course.

创建者 karey d

Jul 27, 2020

Very helpful course. Professor is very knowledgable in the field and way of teaching is easy to follow. Help to understand the modern money system and capital market.

创建者 Morgan M

May 19, 2020

This course is definitely not for everybody; then the insights are crucial to understand the current economic and financial situation amid the COVID 19 induced crisis

创建者 Udit P

Aug 15, 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

创建者 Alexandra F

Oct 8, 2020

Perry Mehrling is an amazing teacher and his course is so interesting and detailed! It was a great way to spend the summer in a time like this. Highly recommended.

创建者 Priyam o

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

创建者 Paulo B

Feb 24, 2021

Professor Perry is brilliant and explains very well. This course is great and opens your mind to a different perspective of how money and financial systems work.

创建者 Uros K

Apr 6, 2021

Loved the course material but it is not beginner-friendly entirely, well suited for people interested in finance and additional research outside of the course.

创建者 Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.