Chevron Left
返回到 Economics of Money and Banking

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 Economics of Money and Banking 的评价和反馈

4.9
780 个评分
193 条评论

课程概述

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

热门审阅

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

筛选依据:

76 - Economics of Money and Banking 的 100 个评论(共 188 个)

创建者 SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

创建者 Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

创建者 Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

创建者 de f h

Aug 10, 2018

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

创建者 Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

创建者 Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

创建者 Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

创建者 Zongxi Y

May 19, 2017

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

创建者 Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

创建者 Cristian E E N

Feb 12, 2020

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.

创建者 Shahab M

Jan 24, 2019

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

创建者 Joviano C d P J

Dec 23, 2019

This is a very good course, with a whole perspective about how the banking system works.

创建者 Rene F

Dec 08, 2019

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

创建者 Gustavo G

Oct 29, 2018

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

创建者 Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

创建者 Alexander L R Y

Mar 03, 2017

Fantastic course and Professor Mehrling is an incredible mentor with great insights

创建者 Dmytro H

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course providing in-depth understanding of modern finances and banking.

创建者 Cagdas R O

Jan 11, 2017

awesome professor interesting lectures thank you columbia university and coursera

创建者 Jimena M M

Oct 14, 2018

AS an economist working in external statistics at the national bank of Belgium

创建者 Beau B

Jan 19, 2017

One of the most interesting and fascinating courses I've watched on Coursera!

创建者 KARTHI

May 11, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO GAIN NEW KNOWLEDGE AND HELPS ME TO IMPROVE MY PROFILE

创建者 Roberto A A Z

Apr 24, 2018

great teacher great understanding , but do you have courses on spanish?

创建者 Oleg

Aug 05, 2019

Unbelievable course, one of the most enlightning! Thank you very much!

创建者 Ibrahim N

Sep 04, 2018

The best course on my entire Coursera experience. Really recommend it.

创建者 Franklin M

Apr 10, 2017

Fantastic, it is rare to found a course as profound as this in a MOOC