Chevron Left
返回到 音乐与社会运动

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 音乐与社会运动 的评价和反馈

4.6
112 个评分
41 条评论

课程概述

What is a musician’s response to the condition of the world? Do musicians have an obligation and an opportunity to serve the needs of the world with their musicianship? At a time of crisis for the classical music profession, with a changing commercial landscape, a shrinking audience base, and a contraction in the number of professional orchestras, how does a young musician construct a career today? Are we looking at a dying art form or a moment of reinvigoration? In this course we will develop a response to these questions, and we will explore the notion that the classical musician, the artist, is an important public figure with a critical role to play in society. The course will include inquiry into a set of ideas in philosophy of aesthetics; a discussion about freedom, civil society, and ways that art can play a role in readying people for democracy; discussion on philosophy of education as it relates to the question of positive social change; and an exploration of musical and artistic initiatives that have been particularly focused on a positive social impact. Guiding questions for this course inquiry will include: - How can classical music effect social change? - How has music made positive change in communities around the globe? - What can the field of classical music learn from other movements for social change? - How have educators and philosophers thought about the arts and their connection to daily contemporary life? Each class will explore one critical question through lectures, discussions, interviews, or documentaries....

热门审阅

DO

Mar 15, 2018

This is exactly what I needed. I have upgraded from just having a passion for music to having a passion for what music can do to the society. I am a better leader. Thank you YALE, thank you Coursera!

L

Jun 02, 2020

This course was so informative and insightful. I have thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and the readings and look forward to doing further research on the subject.

筛选依据:

26 - 音乐与社会运动 的 41 个评论(共 41 个)

创建者 Felipe V R

Jul 21, 2016

Yale is the Best! really! my dream is study there! oh capitalism... =)

创建者 Bart S

Mar 18, 2016

outstanding and thought provoking

创建者 Nguyen K N

Oct 04, 2019

This is very thought-provoking.

创建者 Ayu

Aug 07, 2019

very good course

创建者 Maria C L

Jun 22, 2020

amazing course!

创建者 Missagh D

Apr 28, 2020

Remarkable

创建者 Adrian B C G

Jun 04, 2019

The course was very interesting and had a lot of interesting insights. The problem was that a lot of the reading material was very difficult to get, if not impossible, so I felt that I missed a part of what I could've learned. Other than that I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Katerina S

May 30, 2018

Very interesting course. I would like to point out that some material is not accessible for international learners, like me. Appart from that it is a balanced course, with a lot of food for thought.

创建者 Education J

May 03, 2016

there wasn't' much classroom discussion lead by staff/or mentors. having more then two people peer-review would be ideal. readings were not easily accessible.

创建者 AKHILA A

Jul 04, 2020

I really enjoyed completing this course.

创建者 Sharita H

Apr 17, 2017

I

创建者 Joan E F

Jan 04, 2017

This course is mis-titled. There is very little music involved and a lot of social action. The discussions and videos are interesting, buy I am confused about the use of "music" to carry the course's agenda. Perhaps "The Influence of the Arts on Social Action" would better define the intent of the course.

创建者 Veda R

Feb 29, 2016

I think that this course has wonderful material, however, I think that more than 2 people should be required to peer review the assignments so it is a balanced grade. In my other classes, at least 5 reviewers are required to review each individual assignment.

创建者 Joy S

Apr 03, 2018

ok, I guess

创建者 Maksim O

May 06, 2016

A pure misapprehension it was. The course involved many interesting conceptions (like how modern conceptions of civil society differ from Hegel’s) and discussions of many really worthy persons (like Pablo Casals, Bronisław Huberman, or Ai Weiwei) but did not pertain music as such. Mere two peer reviewers per submission turned peer reviewing into a kind of lottery.

创建者 alex s

Apr 18, 2016

Could not follow very easily. Confused, gained nothing from the lectures. Really no substance to it.