Chevron Left
返回到 Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why 的评价和反馈

4.2
424 个评分
111 条评论

课程概述

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

热门审阅

MM

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

GS

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

筛选依据:

1 - Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why 的 25 个评论(共 107 个)

创建者 Angelina W

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

创建者 Beatriz A A S

Oct 09, 2018

I'm very grateful of this course because it's help me a lot. I'm an adult beginner and I've tried understanding music theory with poor results. It wasn't enough for me just repeating memorizing techniques or 'cooking recipes' in order to dominate some topics of Music Theory. Even I got frustrated. This course hit the nail and open my mind to new questions and dimensions about the music. And the most important is that it let me see that not everything is said in music. After the third module I could come back to music Theory and get easier concepts. Even I could found some of them by myself. I mean, I was not memorizing anymore but figuring out by myself how it works.

I highly recommend this course. I like the way Professor Dale explains, keeping it easy and organized. Additional material is super useful for music students and Ruby's participation was suitable. I'd like that last module would've been longer.

创建者 Vincent A

May 10, 2016

Note: I am coming in from the perspective of a dude wanting to create and compose music. I especially love module Week 6. It gave me a new insight on how to create newer types of sounds (I can't get enough). SPOILER ALERT: I would have never thought there would be a correlation between speech and music. I think Dr. Purves makes an excellent case for this connection. I'm sold! Very well organized course; and if you are a music junky like me, I'm sure you'll find tremendous value in it.

创建者 Vinod L G

Sep 13, 2017

I used to believe that the concept of music is purely mathematical and physical.

But this course has made me realize the biological aspect of music perception, and how it has been effected by emotional evolution of humans.

Thanks a lot.

创建者 Muhammad A M

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

创建者 miguel a g p

May 18, 2017

Muy completo e interesante, didáctico y muy intuitivo, aprendí demasiado... definitivamente lo recomiendo para aquellos que apenas inician en el mundo de la música!

创建者 George S

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

创建者 maria e b m d

Jan 28, 2020

muy didáctico aun cuando no seas médico ni músico. explica bien un analsis de la música como parte de la expresion del ser humano

创建者 Fernando V

Apr 12, 2018

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

创建者 Ian E C A

Nov 20, 2017

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

创建者 Al-Rashid J

Jun 21, 2018

Great course. I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed his previous course "Visual Perception and the Brain".

创建者 James A

Oct 17, 2017

This is an exceptional course, with very intriguing information about why we like the music we like.

创建者 Peregrine H

Jan 02, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.

创建者 Renny G L

Aug 29, 2018

Very interesting course! especially if you are musician or you like Physicis and Biology

创建者 Lluis G T

Nov 29, 2016

I learned awesome things on that course, things that I never imagine

创建者 Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

创建者 Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

创建者 Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

创建者 Miguelina G

Aug 29, 2019

Excelente curso, entusiasmada para aprender más. Gracias!

创建者 Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

创建者 Erich C

Oct 03, 2016

Very interesting, a stimulating and in depth course!

创建者 Walerson S C

Mar 29, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

创建者 Karen B

May 21, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto.

100% Recomendado

创建者 Muntassir H

Sep 16, 2019

It was an amazing experience studying this.

创建者 Theo L

Apr 23, 2018

Really informative and superbly in depth