Chevron Left
返回到 穆斯林世界的基本冲突

学生对 哥本哈根大学 提供的 穆斯林世界的基本冲突 的评价和反馈

4.8
602 个评分
177 条评论

课程概述

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

热门审阅

LP

Nov 22, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP

Dec 28, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

筛选依据:

26 - 穆斯林世界的基本冲突 的 50 个评论(共 175 个)

创建者 Mohamed A

Aug 24, 2020

To me the course was a reality of what is happening in the muslim world. What We need to answer is question that we always hear from our schoolers is Islam complete civilization that answers all human needs? If it is then our Ulima must work and get the answers from Quran and the Sunnah.

I want to thank whole heartedly and pray Allah to protect him wherever he is Dr. Ebrahim Afsah, who changed partially my thinking towards Muslim ulima, Islam in general.

创建者 Anirudh B

Jan 26, 2017

Truly excellent course content that really serves as an excellent entry for people new to this field.

My one crib is with the testing methods employed in the course. The quizzes were far too easy and the peer review system does not really give comprehensive feedback. I understand that grading is a huge problem for online education, and I wont claim to have the answers to this, but this really needs to be fixed to help the students learn more.

创建者 Afaque R A

Mar 06, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Excellent and a very thorough analysis. Very high quality, informative course which might have changed my personal preference in terms of pursuing a doctorate in Law / Islamic Law. Simply, respect and more respect for the Instructor for his oustanding scholarship, especially, for such a controversial and a sensitive subject. But sometimes, what needs to said, just needs to be said without sugar coating!

创建者 Davut H

Mar 29, 2020

Taking CSMW is like watching an addictive Netflix series: you cannot let go. The teacher, the content, the delivery, the readings, comments of other students are all exceptional. A better future of the region can and will be built, I am sure. It will mean a better future for Humanity. Whether you are from the region or not, you will benefit from a better understanding of how the past has played its role to shape the present.

创建者 elizabeth e

Sep 20, 2016

I felt this course was fantastic - and it is my opinion that the course should be a requirement for all members of the US Senate and House of Representatives - as they might make less dumb decisions when pedalling democracy in Muslim countries. And I took the course because I felt I could learn a lot. And I did. Thanks to the University, Dr Afsah and Dr Afsah's team for a very pertinent and well done course.

创建者 Iva V

Sep 07, 2016

The course is absolutely fantastic. The instructor and the team are well read, approaching topics from a variety of perspectives. The course uses all kinds of texts and materials. If you are into public law, history and social science, this will be great for you. Even if you are a reasonably advanced student, you will learn a lot, and if you are not - it's easy enough for a beginner to understand. Well done.

创建者 Abraham L

May 30, 2020

A massive and comprehensive travel through the islamic countries of the world. It has been hard to follow sometimes, but I found myself learning a lot; a useful and rich soil from which continue to grow. I highly recommend this course. Mr. Afsah is a nice teacher, showing the challenges both researchers and political actors, killing both essentialism that constricts the human flourishments.

创建者 Thomas R

Jun 07, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this class, and I highly appreciate the instructor's approach. Mr. Afsah is obviously very well-informed but never failed to urge participants to question and reflect upon what was being heard and read. I'm also very thankful for the reading suggestions, and I am now looking forward to reading and learning further beyond the scope of this class. Thank you!

创建者 Si-Maan W

Dec 27, 2016

This is an outstanding piece of intellectual works that has opened my mind to understand Muslim's world systematically, removed my misconception and enabled me to connect with Muslim in greater openness and love. This is enlightening not only to Muslim worldview, but is relevant to every worldview that in process to harmonize the rationality and reality for better living.

创建者 Alejandro A S L

Jul 30, 2019

It's been a magnific journey through a very interesting region, in which I have come to better understand the underlying dynamics of the Muslim society. I want to thank wholeheartedly Ebrahim Afsah and his team for their endeavours and their work, I truly appreciate them. Ebrahim and team, you can be proud of your work, a total success. Many, many thanks!!

创建者 Andreas U

Dec 13, 2015

I recommend this course to anyone interested in the historic background of the current situation in the Middle East. The course gave me an enlightening insight into the origins of many problems in this troubled region. Instead of merely describing historic facts Dr Afsah systematically analyses the historic and political structure of the Middle East.

创建者 Temur D

Jan 23, 2016

One of the best self-paced courses I've taken in a while. I would highly recommend to everyone interested in the history of Muslim countries. The course looks not only at the constitutional aspects of development of the Muslim countries, but to their development on the whole! Sign up and prepare yourself for a long, but a very interesting journey!!!

创建者 Richard D

Aug 02, 2017

Really excellent course that has opened my eyes to the Muslim world in a way I couldn't have imagined. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has any interest at all in understanding this very important area. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to learn provided by the Professor and his team plus of course Coursera.

创建者 Gunhild J

Jun 20, 2016

Very interesting and thought-provoking course! I would like to do it again (took the course a couple years ago) and wonder whether it has been updated to include events in the last couple years? So much happens! I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to get an overview and some understanding of the Muslim world as it is today.

创建者 Jet

Feb 22, 2016

Understandibly a controversial course, but one that shows some much needed insight in the situations of many different countries with the common denominator of the muslim faith. I respect professor Ebrahim Afsah very much for his great intellect and also bravery, for this must not be easy. I am still enjoying the course very much.

创建者 Pranav B

Sep 25, 2020

Very informative course. I really loved the way of teaching of the professor. The course really helped me to understand the background and historical aspects regarding current problems in the Middle-East. The course also vanished some stereotypes I had regarding Islamic countries. Really need such informative courses. Thank You!

创建者 Anne T

Dec 08, 2015

Best course I have ever studied...important information well presented for our world in 2015. It's nice to be able to contribute a balanced opinion to some of the lop-sided dialogues going on around me at the moment. Hopefully enough of us can do this to bring about peaceful change. This is my second attempt at this course.

创建者 Simon C

Nov 08, 2015

An outstanding course on a challenging subject. Informative and thought provoking series of lectures from Dr Ebrahim Afsah who is both passionate and well-informed about his subject matter. It should be a required course for all politicians and government officials, whatever country they govern.

创建者 Christian S

Mar 27, 2017

Extraordinary course! Excellent analysis, clear and understandable exposition of a complex subject. Academic depth, cross-disciplinary approach. Congratulations to Prof. Afsah and his team! I am profoundly grateful for the thrilling and enriching hours of study and will miss the course!

创建者 StephenH@47

Sep 25, 2016

One of the best MOOCs I have done. I learned a huge amount about how the Muslim countries became what they are now. I recommend this course to anyone interested in understanding international politics. Dr Afsah is a very good lecturer, and the course is well-paced and easy to follow.

创建者 Ganapati K

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent comprehensive course, whether one happens to be a Muslim or otherwise, or living in a Muslim majority country or otherwise. Admittedly, every intricacy of the vastness of the subject cannot be covered, yet all aspects regionally have been covered by the Professor.

创建者 Barbara S L

Sep 12, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken recently. The professor provided informative and thought-provoking information and opened my mind to better understand how the history of the MENA helped to shape current struggles. I will take many more courses from this professor.

创建者 James P

Jan 01, 2016

This course is a phenomenal entry point for those who wish to better understand the great variety and complexity of the Muslim world. Dr Ebrahim Asfah makes this difficult task not only understandable but positively enjoyable. I can't recommend this course highly enough!

创建者 Neil K

Feb 19, 2016

Illuminating and broad. this course was much more than the titles suggest, or its provenance from a law lecturer would hint at. Spanning history, culture, sociology and politics this is a wide ranging tour of the modern world muslims live in. Utterly fascinating.

创建者 fatima r a

Jun 29, 2017

it was very amazing, this course made me understand a lot of things that I didnt even know.Also I could learn a lot of new thing that made me capable to know more about this subject. also learn about history and others aspects is good to know for culture in general