Chevron Left
返回到 希腊和罗马神话

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 希腊和罗马神话 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,433 个评分
421 条评论

课程概述

Myths are traditional stories that have endured over a long time. Some of them have to do with events of great importance, such as the founding of a nation. Others tell the stories of great heroes and heroines and their exploits and courage in the face of adversity. Still others are simple tales about otherwise unremarkable people who get into trouble or do some great deed. What are we to make of all these tales, and why do people seem to like to hear them? This course will focus on the myths of ancient Greece and Rome, as a way of exploring the nature of myth and the function it plays for individuals, societies, and nations. We will also pay some attention to the way the Greeks and Romans themselves understood their own myths. Are myths subtle codes that contain some universal truth? Are they a window on the deep recesses of a particular culture? Are they a set of blinders that all of us wear, though we do not realize it? Or are they just entertaining stories that people like to tell over and over? This course will investigate these questions through a variety of topics, including the creation of the universe, the relationship between gods and mortals, human nature, religion, the family, sex, love, madness, and death. *********************************************************************************************************** COURSE SCHEDULE • Week 1: Introduction Welcome to Greek and Roman Mythology! This first week we’ll introduce the class, paying attention to how the course itself works. We’ll also begin to think about the topic at hand: myth! How can we begin to define "myth"? How does myth work? What have ancient and modern theorists, philosophers, and other thinkers had to say about myth? This week we’ll also begin our foray into Homer’s world, with an eye to how we can best approach epic poetry. Readings: No texts this week, but it would be a good idea to get started on next week's reading to get ahead of the game. Video Lectures: 1.1-1.7 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 2: Becoming a Hero In week 2, we begin our intensive study of myth through Homer’s epic poem, the Odyssey. This core text not only gives us an exciting story to appreciate on its own merits but also offers us a kind of laboratory where we can investigate myth using different theoretical approaches. This week we focus on the young Telemachus’ tour as he begins to come of age; we also accompany his father Odysseus as he journeys homeward after the Trojan War. Along the way, we’ll examine questions of heroism, relationships between gods and mortals, family dynamics, and the Homeric values of hospitality and resourcefulness. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 1-8 Video Lectures: 2.1-2.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 3: Adventures Out and Back This week we’ll follow the exciting peregrinations of Odysseus, "man of twists and turns," over sea and land. The hero’s journeys abroad and as he re-enters his homeland are fraught with perils. This portion of the Odyssey features unforgettable monsters and exotic witches; we also follow Odysseus into the Underworld, where he meets shades of comrades and relatives. Here we encounter some of the best-known stories to survive from all of ancient myth. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 9-16 Video Lectures: 3.1-3.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 4: Identity and Signs As he makes his way closer and closer to re-taking his place on Ithaca and with his family, a disguised Odysseus must use all his resources to regain his kingdom. We’ll see many examples of reunion as Odysseus carefully begins to reveal his identity to various members of his household—his servants, his dog, his son, and finally, his wife Penelope—while also scheming against those who have usurped his place. Readings: Homer, Odyssey, books 17-24 Video Lectures: 4.1-4.8 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 5: Gods and Humans We will take a close look at the most authoritative story on the origin of the cosmos from Greek antiquity: Hesiod’s Theogony. Hesiod was generally considered the only poet who could rival Homer. The Theogony, or "birth of the gods," tells of an older order of gods, before Zeus, who were driven by powerful passions—and strange appetites! This poem presents the beginning of the world as a time of fierce struggle and violence as the universe begins to take shape, and order, out of chaos. Readings: Hesiod, Theogony *(the Works and Days is NOT required for the course)* Video Lectures: 5.1-5.9 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 6: Ritual and Religion This week’s readings give us a chance to look closely at Greek religion in its various guises. Myth, of course, forms one important aspect of religion, but so does ritual. How ancient myths and rituals interact teaches us a lot about both of these powerful cultural forms. We will read two of the greatest hymns to Olympian deities that tell up-close-and-personal stories about the gods while providing intricate descriptions of the rituals they like us humans to perform. Readings: Homeric Hymn to Apollo; Homeric Hymn to Demeter (there are two hymns to each that survive, only the LONGER Hymn to Apollo and the LONGER Hymn to Demeter are required for the course) Video Lectures: 6.1-6.7 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 7: Justice What counts as a just action, and what counts as an unjust one? Who gets to decide? These are trickier questions than some will have us think. This unit looks at one of the most famously thorny issues of justice in all of the ancient world. In Aeschylus’ Oresteia—the only surviving example of tragedy in its original trilogy form—we hear the story of Agamemnon’s return home after the Trojan War. Unlike Odysseus’ eventual joyful reunion with his wife and children, this hero is betrayed by those he considered closest to him. This family's cycle of revenge, of which this story is but one episode, carries questions of justice and competing loyalties well beyond Agamemnon’s immediate family, eventually ending up on the Athenian Acropolis itself. Readings: Aeschylus, Agamemnon; Aeschylus, Eumenides Video Lectures: 7.1-7.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 8: Unstable Selves This week we encounter two famous tragedies, both set at Thebes, that center on questions of guilt and identity: Sophocles’ Oedipus Rex and Eurpides’ Bacchae. Oedipus is confident that he can escape the unthinkable fate that was foretold by the Delphic oracle; we watch as he eventually realizes the horror of what he has done. With Odysseus, we saw how a great hero can re-build his identity after struggles, while Oedipus shows us how our identities can dissolve before our very eyes. The myth of Oedipus is one of transgressions—intentional and unintentional—and about the limits of human knowledge. In Euripides’ Bacchae, the identity of gods and mortals is under scrutiny. Here, Dionysus, the god of wine and of tragedy, and also madness, appears as a character on stage. Through the dissolution of Pentheus, we see the terrible consequences that can occur when a god’s divinity is not properly acknowledged. Readings: Sophocles, Oedipus Rex; Euripides, Bacchae Video Lectures: 8.1-8.9 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 9: The Roman Hero, Remade Moving ahead several centuries, we jump into a different part of the Mediterranean to let the Romans give us their take on myth. Although many poets tried to rewrite Homer for their own times, no one succeeded quite like Vergil. His epic poem, the Aeneid, chronicles a powerful re-building of a culture that both identifies with and defines itself against previously told myths. In contrast to the scarcity of information about Homer, we know a great deal about Vergil’s life and historical context, allowing us insight into myth-making in action. Readings: Vergil, Aeneid, books 1-5 Video Lectures: 9.1-9.10 Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. • Week 10: Roman Myth and Ovid's Metamorphoses Our consideration of Vergil’s tale closes with his trip to the underworld in book 6. Next, we turn to a more playful Roman poet, Ovid, whose genius is apparent in nearly every kind of register. Profound, witty, and satiric all at once, Ovid’s powerful re-tellings of many ancient myths became the versions that are most familiar to us today. Finally, through the lens of the Romans and others who "remythologize," we wrap up the course with a retrospective look at myth. Readings: Vergil, Aeneid, book 6; Ovid, Metamorphoses, books 3, 12, and 13. Video Lectures: 10.1-10.9. Quiz: Complete the quiz by the end of the week. *********************************************************************************************************** READINGS There are no required texts for the course, however, Professor Struck will make reference to the following texts in the lecture: • Greek Tragedies, Volume 1, David Grene and Richmond Lattimore, trans. (Chicago) • Greek Tragedies, Volume 3, David Grene and Richmond Lattimore , trans. (Chicago) • Hesiod, Theogony and Works and Days, M. L. West, trans. (Oxford) • Homeric Hymns, Sarah Ruden, trans. (Hackett) • Homer, The Odyssey, Robert Fagles, trans. (Penguin) • Virgil, The Aeneid, Robert Fitzgerald, trans. (Vintage) • Ovid, Metamorphoses, David Raeburn, trans. (Penguin) These translations are a pleasure to work with, whereas many of the translations freely available on the internet are not. If you do not want to purchase them, they should also be available at many libraries. Again, these texts are not required, but they are helpful....

热门审阅

TS

Jul 08, 2020

Well thought out well presented. I feel I have gained a very knowledgeable and thorough understanding of both Greek and Roman mythology and their historical gods and goddesses from taking this course.

PS

Jul 02, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable and instructive introduction to a different world and our historical and present interpretation of its meanings and mysteries. Would recommend to a friend or family member.

筛选依据:

176 - 希腊和罗马神话 的 200 个评论(共 418 个)

创建者 Vandhana C

Jun 02, 2018

I loved it. the material was precise and helped me to explore more. Thank you so much for such an awesome and well planned course.

创建者 Tan S T C

Aug 08, 2020

Loved this course and I really managed to learn more about Greek and Roman Mythology. A really satisfying and enjoyable journey!

创建者 Ieva B

Jun 01, 2020

I'm very thankful for this course and enjoyed it a lot! Meaningful, interesting and educative topics as well as video lectures.

创建者 Daisy N

Jul 27, 2020

AMAZING COURSE! Professor Struck brings ancient mythology alive and presents tools to analyze these myths. Really fascinating.

创建者 Emma M

Jun 03, 2020

I loved this course and I believe it will really help me get through the rest of my English classes along with other classes.

创建者 Milagros C

Jul 06, 2020

Prof. Struck is really dynamic and clear in his explanations. The course equipped me with new and interesting knowledge!

创建者 susan

Jul 30, 2019

Love this subject. Love the professor also. Took his course on the Odyssey and enjoyed so much. I could quote the text!!

创建者 elaine J

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent course. Good selection of topics well delivered by lecturer who clearly is an expert in the field. Thank you!

创建者 Wibo K

Jun 22, 2020

Great course, kept very interesting by professor Struck. Highlight for me was the part where the Odyssey is discussed.

创建者 Alisha R

May 30, 2020

A wonderful, insightful taste of mythic material, presented in an extremely engaging and inspiring way. I loved it!

创建者 H K

May 01, 2017

Peter Struck is one of the best teachers i have ever studied from, really looking forward to more courses from him.

创建者 Kenneth V

Oct 24, 2019

Very fun course, learned a lot about ancient Greek and Roman mythology and some nice applications to modern times.

创建者 Carlos E O S

Jan 04, 2020

Amazing professor and brief review through some of the most important ancient civilizations and their mythology.

创建者 Aleeka K

May 26, 2018

A good course, Fairly in-depth exposure and a grand sweep of the important works in Greek and Roman mythology.

创建者 Sergios

Sep 05, 2017

Amazing instructor, very enthusiastic, you can feel his energy and passion for mythology and ancient cultures.

创建者 Stephanie S

Jun 06, 2020

Great course! Enjoyed very much Professor Peter Stuck's teach. I learned a lot of Greek and Roman Mythology.

创建者 Cecilia C

Jan 30, 2017

Great course! Professor Struck really brings mythology to life! I learned a lot and enjoyed myself immensely!

创建者 Soren K

Apr 20, 2019

I have taken this course twice and now I am returning for a little refresh. To its excellence, that speaks.

创建者 Manuel M

May 17, 2020

I enjoyed so much! It gave me sense of purpose, insight, internal strength. I´m sad it´s over!! Thank you.

创建者 Milagros C G

Jun 21, 2020

Aprendi mucho con este curso y lo disfrute mucho. Ademas de ser muy interesante, supero mis expectativas!

创建者 Linda C

Sep 01, 2017

The narrative really enriched the readings; increased my understanding of the Odyssey and exposed me to

创建者 Christian T

Jul 15, 2020

Amazing tutor and very interesting material, handled well and with care. I will recommend this course

创建者 Rangsima S

Apr 06, 2020

good course to make us realize the deeper meaning of literature more than just to have fun. Thank you

创建者 David O

Sep 24, 2018

Is very interesting learn about ancient cultures and how their myths represents the world around them

创建者 Lisa F

May 07, 2020

I enjoyed this course. It is a good overview of the main pieces of Greek and a Roman myth literature