Chevron Left
返回到 Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,296 个评分
330 条评论

课程概述

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

热门审阅

RM

May 22, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

M

May 28, 2020

In my undergrad I have learned about fabrication in the VLSI course, now I have got the gest of cooking. thank you for such a course, hope I will get some further help from rtnn.org & RTNN team.

筛选依据:

1 - Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course 的 25 个评论(共 336 个)

创建者 Kh S A

Apr 07, 2019

It helped me a lot giving brief description of nanocharacterization and nanofabrication processes. It will definitely help me in further study and researches on nanotechnology.

创建者 Abhishek R

Mar 05, 2019

Topics covered and concepts were precise, to the point and well explained. Both practical and theoretical aspects were taught which is very rare to receive in an online course.

创建者 GAN K C

Feb 14, 2019

Very informative, the structure of lectures were well-organised and nicely done. Fantastically, I was able to learn and gain so much from this course. Really appreciated :-)

创建者 Ashutosh W

Oct 27, 2017

Hello guys, My name is Ashutosh W from India. I have done MTech in Nanotechnology and now I am planning to join PhD in the field of Nanotechnology. This course is beacon for my higher education in material characterisation. The rudimentary concepts along with a practical demonstration gave a better perspective to learn about these equipment. Thank you so much to all the instructors and demonstrators to make this course very interesting.

创建者 Jahnavi Z

Mar 31, 2020

I had a real fun time learning with Coursera and Duke University. The classes, explanations and demonstrations were so simple and to the point. The video segments, quizzes were light and crisp, not much time consuming. In a span of few days, I got to explore so many things. I really prefer this over my regular academics. This is the best platform for anyone who is looking out for good knowledge, skills and inspiration. Thank you so much.

创建者 Salil S N

Feb 17, 2019

Enjoyed and learned a lot, lectures and demonstrations in the same course helped me understand the processes with ease. Thanks to the Professors, Laboratory Managers and Students for their sincere effort to make this course a grand success.

Looking forward to utilize some of the RTNN facilities for my PhD research work, thus enriching my knowledge and getting valuable teachings from eminent and expert individuals.

Thanks a lot. God bless

创建者 Christoph M

Dec 08, 2019

Terrific course!!! Very well designed and organized, exciting, challenging and informative at once, if you are interested in this matter. Would love to learn more in comparable or sequel courses from RTNN. Definitely interested in engaging more in nanotechnology in general!

Big thanks to all the involved lecturers, tutors and other contributors to this delightful online course!

创建者 Christin S

Mar 19, 2019

Very comprehensive course covering important topics in the field of nanotechnology and nanofabrication. The course is well structured and well understandable combining videos about theory background and practical demonstrations and also tests your aquired knowledge on the go with multiple choice tests after each section.

创建者 Mitesh J

Apr 11, 2020

Its a really nice informative course. But Etching was really boring part and difficult to understand compared to other parts of the module. If that can be made more friendly it would be great.

创建者 Hemen H

Mar 17, 2019

I would like to express my thankfulness to you, for your wonderful lessons. I learned a lot of things from you. Your expertise and the way of teaching are quite fantastic. Many thanks again.

创建者 Sarmad A Q

Sep 18, 2019

This is a very informative course for scientists and researchers especially working in materials science and engineering. I would gladly recommend this course to my research fellows

创建者 Daksh M

Apr 10, 2019

excellent

创建者 Pooja G

Oct 16, 2018

This course offers an overview of the main nanocharacterization and nanofabication techniques. I would definitely recommend it as an introductory course to anyone curious about a career in nanotechnology.

The weekly quizzes help retain relevant information although I found some questions to be superficial while others focus on information that's not adequately highlighted in the video lectures.

Though the professors themselves are enthusiastic about the course content, the PhD students that aid them along the way could show more liveliness -- often they talk too softly, don't enunciate words clearly, seem down right angry at the teleprompter.

创建者 Salma A

Jun 06, 2020

As I have a keen interest in Nano-science specially Nanotechnology, this the best suited course for me. The collaboration of three renowned universities is just wonderful and they have done their best to arrange the course in a systemic and organized way. Besides the step by step approaches to the characterization and fabrication of nano-materials is easy to catch and learn. And also the demonstration after discussing the basic principle of a process helps a lot to understand the lessons as well as I have got the opportunity to have a look of these modern labs just staying at my home. So this is a great chance to pursue this course and having the practical knowledge at a time. I want to thank the Professors and beloved graduate students for their utmost try and passions for making me interested in this topic and I have now a desire to prepare myself for higher studies on Nanotechnology. I would conclude by saying this it has been a great experience and want to thank you all.

创建者 Abhijeet B

Nov 01, 2018

The course is well structured and takes you through the chapters in a seamless manner where each consecutive lesson makes sense. Additionally, it opened my eyes to a lot of physical characterization techniques, and their importance can be gauged by the glut of online research articles that depend on such characterization. I'm grateful to the course administrator, Duke University, UNC, NC State and Coursera for the approval of my financial aid, which enabled a Graduate Student like me to gain access to the best of resources when it comes to micro and nanofabrication. For any student interested in physical characterization, nanofabrication, advanced devices and microsystems, please take this course. You will not regret it.

创建者 Esteban G

May 07, 2020

Very interesting course. I'm a lecturer at a higher University in Colombia, at a bachelor program called Nanotechnology Engineering. Specifically related to this, I teach two courses: "Nanomaterial Characterization Techniques" and "Nanomaterial Synthesis and Manufacturing Techniques". In these courses we have around 2/3 of theory and 1/3 experimental. Unfortunately, with the Coronavirus crisis we couldn't return to the University nor use the laboratories. We were not prepared for online lab demonstrations. Together with my group of 20 students we followed your course and could at least cover some of the experimental aspects that we couldn't cover during our courses. Thank you!

创建者 Edgar C L

Mar 28, 2018

Basically, the course is well-organized. As a graduate student from the Philippines, I was able to gain understanding on the basic's of the nanotechnology tools and fabrication techniques that are helpful in the conduct of my thesis. I will be using SEM and TEM to characterize my nanotubes and chemical wet etching in the cleaning of my samples prior to fabrication of nanotubes. I would grow my nanotubes electrochemically. Hence, I also suggest that perhaps in the future, you can incorporate electrochemical techniques of nanofabrication such as electrodeposition, electrospinning, and electrochemical etching.

创建者 Asokan J

Jun 26, 2020

First I Thank Duke University, Head, Dr. Nan Jokerst and Faculty members for giving me the opportunity to learn this Nanotechnology - A Makers Course- All video lessons are easily understanble and well explained by the faculty members. i am very much grateful to all of you. i also request the university to provide downloadble study notes. As I am a Botany Faculty I request you to add content about the use of Nanotechnology/ Nano particles in plant based experiments, particularaly medicinal plants. Thank you.I Once again thank Cousera community

创建者 Dr. M K

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course on Nanotechnology and its characterization which was meticulously planned for any Nanomaker to prepare nano particles with ease

My Special thanks to Course Instructors ( Professors) for their detailed explanation about preparation of films, characterisation and lithographic techniques

The Graduate students and Lab technicians demonstrated every technique by characterising a sample.

It was a delightful online experience both theoretically and experimentally on how to prepare and characterize a nano material.

创建者 Youssef B N A D

May 13, 2020

I applied for a joint master's degree in Nanomedicine, thus I looked up for a course to get familiar with Nanotechnology and its applications. "Nanotechnology: A Maker's Course" is a great choice to obtain the prerequisite knowledge to confidently pursue a career in Nanotechnology related field. Furthermore, the practical demonstration in each week is the most unique part offered by this course; enables the participant to learn the detailed steps and precautions of each technique mentioned through the course.

创建者 Patrick L C

Apr 14, 2018

This was a very informative course on Nano technology. It had me wondering things like "could I create a giant platform of (LaB6) lanthanum hexaboride crystals to excite electrons on earth and build a space station of sorts as an anode to pull them into outer space. Could I transport things in the particle beam? Space is already a vacuum could I focus a massive particle beam in space through giant magnetic lenses and travel through it? Can Ununpentium be implanted into a substrate? Like ion implantation...."

创建者 Sunil S

Jun 24, 2018

This is one of the basic course on the Nanotechnology and Nano-science for beginner and any student who want to learn about the basic of Nano-science and Nanotechnology ; instrumentation, techniques and methodology and the application and scope of this filled. The teaching methodology and the incorporation of animation and demonstration video on all related techniques helps me to visualize, how things works (The working principle). This is an most simple and interactive course on Nanotechnology.

创建者 Kushagra N

Mar 01, 2018

I want to thank the organizers and the Coursera community for making this course available world wide. Nanotechnology is an amazing field with lots of new stuff to learn about. Coursera and the RTNN has helped me throughout the course to gain insight into this field to a great extent.

It would have been difficult for me to gain such knowledge in a region where I reside because of the lack of resources. I am truly thankful to all the instructors / Presenters for guiding me throughout.

Regards.

创建者 Suhail H

Jan 03, 2020

This course introduces a large variety of topics based on nanotechnology, both on analysis and fabrication. As a student, I was able to easily understand the informative yet succinct lectures. I especially appreciated that the processes or phenomena described were also clearly demonstrated. I am grateful to the makers of this course. Now I can better understand results of nano-scale analyses and have more insight about how they are conducted.

创建者 Jayachandra S Y

Apr 20, 2020

A wonderful experience of online Coursera, detailed and in-depth training about the Nanotechnology: A makers Course, was very useful for Young Researchers and Scientists like us...I am glad and thankful to the whole team (Professors, Scientists and Researcher's ) and wish to congratulate Duke University, North Carolina State University, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for offering such amazing Course.