Chevron Left
返回到 Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Network Dynamics of Social Behavior 的评价和反馈

4.7
221 个评分
60 条评论

课程概述

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

热门审阅

PG

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

SC

Jan 21, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

筛选依据:

26 - Network Dynamics of Social Behavior 的 50 个评论(共 59 个)

创建者 Manyu

May 31, 2018

Very down-to-earth. Highly recommended for anyone who wants basic knowledge on network dynamics.

创建者 Venkataraman G

Dec 10, 2019

This is an excellent introductory course. Highly recommended for students of social sciences.

创建者 Fabián J G V

Apr 06, 2020

Excelent course to start in Network Dynamics. I hope a more advanced course after this one.

创建者 Aleix D

Mar 17, 2019

Very interesting topics. I can't wait to apply them to current research.

创建者 Jack O

Aug 04, 2018

An excellent and inspiring introduction to a new approach to sociology.

创建者 Skyler S

Sep 25, 2019

Very interesting course. Occasionally test questions are too vague.

创建者 Ramkumar I

Jan 09, 2019

Simple concise videos. Crisp explanations. Cool demos with Netlogo.

创建者 Fayez K

Dec 01, 2019

Amazing course! Taught me a ton. Buying a new one real soon

创建者 Ana G R M

Sep 09, 2019

Both Professors easily give an overview of Network Dynamics

创建者 Daniel H J

Jan 17, 2020

It's a good course for introduction to social networks

创建者 Ignacio O

Feb 01, 2019

Great introductory course, although a bit too easy.

创建者 Kedric W

Oct 21, 2019

A great entry level course for network dynamics.

创建者 Gabriela M

Nov 21, 2017

Extremely educational. Totally recommend!

创建者 Reka P

Jun 03, 2018

It was extremely didactic and logical.

创建者 pranav n

Sep 05, 2018

needs more practical exercises

创建者 bhanu

Aug 07, 2018

wonderful experience

创建者 Siddhi G P

May 31, 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

创建者 bernard

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general

创建者 Laurent G

Dec 11, 2017

I found this a very good introduction to network dynamics. The problems addressed are very interesting, and explanations are very clear. One drawback is that it is not very technical, but in the allotted amount of time it would not be possible to cover so much ground otherwise.

创建者 Thomas K A W

Feb 22, 2018

The course gives a very good overview of the main insights and is enjoyable at the same time. Great course that would deserve a five-star rating if it would not be for the many typos, incomplete sentences in the tests, and errors in the videos.

创建者 Jean C

Jun 20, 2018

Very good topic and teachers' expertize. It is a pity that the "rules" used in teh simulations are not made explicit, leading to some doubts. Also, could go a bit deeper in the influence of key network parameters.

创建者 Sunil K Y

Feb 12, 2018

Content is neatly laid out, not mathematically rigorous as I believe course is targeting a wider set of audience. Week 2 material can be improved with regard to clarity about the different types of networks.

创建者 Milad y

Apr 07, 2020

For me, from a non-mathematical background, it was an excellent introductory course. I wish it can paw the way for more in-depth exploration around the issue and advance steps.

创建者 ramya h

Jan 09, 2018

An good course that will provide gist of Agent Based Modeling with out dragging it too long. Introduces an Agent Based Modeling software NetLogo with examples and codes.

创建者 Christo Z

Feb 23, 2018

very good overview. i'm missing the maths behind the theory which will enable me to apply the knowledge to own problems