Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,222 个评分
313 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

筛选依据:

226 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 250 个评论(共 303 个)

创建者 Anjali L

Jul 16, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. It was easy to understand with so many examples and having other students' participation and reading their examples as well. Giving it 4 weeks to complete provided ample of time to complete the course however next time I will try to complete it asap because it always forced me to remember harder of what I learned last week. Plus it would be great if we could download the translated words/text of each week in a complete whole rather doing it one by one (smaller units). I tried downloading it but it did not worked for me. Thank you so much for such a lovely opportunity to learn from you. I look forward to many more to come. :)

创建者 Kelli S

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent ideas with real-world examples. Repetition of concepts was a bit too frequent and made the course significantly longer than it needed to be. The last section in week 4 jumped from 5-8 minute videos to 15-18 minute videos, which felt like it was cramming things together. A slight alteration in pacing would be beneficial. The cyclical structure of idea generation and building is great, just a bit too repetitive. Quizzes mid-video really highlight main points and focus the attention. Overall, a fascinating and deeply educational course.

创建者 Miho W

Sep 14, 2017

Well designed and informative course. It was very interesting. There are a lot of theories at the beginning, which tires you out a little, but there are also some practical courses towards the end -i wish more time was spent on the practical part to walk us through how to measure social norm. Examples were relevant, although it would be good if there was a way to further engage students in discussions. Overall, very happy with the course, and I definitely learnt a lot!

创建者 sophie p

Aug 10, 2019

The topic is very interesting , at least for us who find understanding humans alluring. What I also really liked and found innovative was the colaboration penn university had with ''UNICEF'', which provided videos with specialist discussing what is happening to developing countries related with the lectures of the course .

Easy to comprehend -thus suitable for beginners-, interesting and innovative ,I highly recommend it !

创建者 Massimo I

Aug 09, 2017

I found the course very informative and well-structured. However, I would have a appreciated more external resources as well as more case studies, not only in rural areas and villages in the developing world. A reference to the role of social norms and social change in large cities and the role of social media, for example, would have made the course even more relevant.

创建者 Candra P

Apr 25, 2017

It was great to learn the course with a simple quiz within the video presentation, it helps us to understand the material clearly. Despite the new unfamiliar terms so sometimes I need to open my note back, but Ms. Bicchieri explanation using flow chart really helped me. This is very interesting yet important for my work in the development program, thank you.

创建者 Alexandre D

Jul 21, 2019

The course was fun! It was a bit challenging but I think it was very well structured, so kudos to you guys. The text should be translated in other relevant languages such as Arabic, French, and Spanish. Additionally, I found a powerpoint by Cristina Bicchieri titled 'What are norms?' on Academia which could have served useful for other class members.

创建者 Tejaswi M

Oct 17, 2019

Interesting course with valuable theoretical concepts explained. The organization of the content could have been done better, as there seemed to a bit of repetition of some concepts and some concepts not being dealt in depth.

A must-do course for someone interested in Behavior Change Communication. Hoping to learn more in part II of the course.

创建者 Nabaraj G

Jul 25, 2019

The Course has excellently delivered the contents which rightly explain the understanding of Social Norms from global perspectives. The lectures and videos are clear and well guide the course contents too. The social change is inevitable and differ from community to community. It would be better to offer next advanced version of the course.

创建者 cengiz y

Jul 17, 2017

Great course.

Nevertheless it should be improved further. Examples are not sufficient to understand the concepts and processes to deal with identifying problems for pluralistic ignorance and how to use vignettes.

thanks for the course, in any case it is very beneficial for the people who are from the outside of the field. Thank you!

创建者 Lærke L G

Aug 16, 2017

Good content and great that you have the opportunity to learn a lot in very short time (I was able to do the whole course in two days, which is great!). The only critique I have is that several of the questions in the quizzes are formulated quite unclearly, which makes you doubt questions you would probably not doubt otherwise.

创建者 Philip H

Aug 12, 2018

Fascinating subject matter, presented in a reasonably easy to follow way with good readings, videos and graphics. Some of the ideas were repeated many times and several of pieces of terminology were so similar in name that it could become a little confusing at times, other than that a very educational and enjoyable course.

创建者 Rahul K

Apr 01, 2019

I must say that, It is a really well structured and detailed program. It helps me to understand the nuances of the society in regard of the situation and practices that occurs due to the social norms. I would highly recommend this course to all people who wants to work on the ground with people.

创建者 Youra A

Oct 05, 2019

I enjoyed taking the course very much. It was very helpful understanding the social norms. However, some of the concepts that were introduced in the course were very confusing. I had a hard time understanding it and I think I still need to spend lots of time reviewing the materials.

创建者 Jacqui H

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the concepts and applications of Bicchieri's social norms theory. I also appreciated very much the grounding in practical examples, and the combination of graded questions and practical questions for us to consider how to apply the theory in our own lives.

创建者 Morgan S

Jul 28, 2017

I found a lot of the information repetitive, so there were times where I felt like it was redundant and disliked hearing the same information repeated multiple times. However, the information I learned was useful and helpful. I just think the course could have been more concise.

创建者 Ricardo H S d S C

Sep 08, 2016

It was a great course. In the first to weeks the concepts were not so clear, but after this, the lessons became more clear and everything fit. It gave me really good insights. I look forward for social norms, social change II. Hope it come soon.

创建者 CHILLUMULLA S M

Dec 29, 2016

This is one of the most interesting and interacting course, makes you not to move from your chair. The course prepares the participants to understand the simpler issues in a broader way and serious issues in a simple and straightforward way.

创建者 Franklin H

Aug 03, 2019

The course was engaging, interesting and informative. I learnt a lot of new things but the information was not too high above my normal level of knowledge and I did not need too much extra reading to understand the content.

创建者 Desiree B

Oct 01, 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

创建者 Anna K

Apr 02, 2020

Good and understandable introduction to the theory of social norms. Examples used are illustrative and helpful. Sometimes, the readings and lectures were repetitive rather than complementary.

创建者 Mai M A E L

Jul 05, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

创建者 Ricardo R I

Oct 09, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

创建者 Sezin I

Jan 09, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

创建者 Mahesh J

Nov 08, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though