Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,807 个评分
462 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
Aug 4, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

筛选依据:

426 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 450 个评论(共 453 个)

创建者 badrul h

Aug 17, 2020

it is good to learn .

创建者 Mahender G

Nov 15, 2019

Very much appreciated

创建者 Ragini B

Sep 25, 2021

Very Well explained

创建者 Atupele M

Aug 13, 2019

It is very helpful

创建者 Abdalla O H

Jun 7, 2017

helpful Course

创建者 Yahia A

Jan 27, 2021

Goooooood

创建者 Mohamed A

Jun 24, 2017

Thanks

创建者 Idoko D S

Oct 18, 2020

Good

创建者 Simon C

Nov 4, 2020

The material is very interesting, if somewhat hypothetical. I enjoyed it - thank you.

I would have appreciated more real life examples (in number as well as in nature) to help me understand the concepts.

The lecturer and the contributors all have strong accents which made following them difficult. The transcripts quite often didn't help as they also failed to catch what was being said and also failed to correct mistakes in the English and the grammar & punctuation were not always correct. All in all, it was difficult for me as a native English speaker to understand at times, so must be very difficult for non-native English speakers. I suppose could create a survey to discover what other students thought and see if they were following a social norm or not...

创建者 Koko W

Dec 30, 2020

The course was very useful and interesting. However, week four could have been divided into two or more weeks--the material became significantly more technical and lengthy, which was like a "speedbump" to to my learning and progress. Distributing the materials more evening and assigning more application homeworks would be useful.

创建者 Catherine H

Dec 22, 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

创建者 Anton Z

Jan 2, 2018

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

创建者 Harry J J

Sep 2, 2021

A fairly simple approach to complex components of society. It's a good way to become familiar with the terms used by sociologists for societal behavior.

创建者 Sharon S

Sep 21, 2021

Interesting but: too much jargon, hard to follow and missing examples in western world. Would like to see more the limitation of this theory

创建者 Lujain A

Jul 28, 2019

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

创建者 Rishabh S

Apr 28, 2020

The course is not that interesting but I really like the example from the different countries that was given by UNICEF.

创建者 Gilbert H

Aug 15, 2020

I think this course in very important for researchers in order to get the right answers from the communities

创建者 Bassel M A A

Jul 5, 2017

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

创建者 Jan S

Feb 10, 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

创建者 Ni N

Aug 7, 2020

the pace is too slow, even for the introductory level.

创建者 Annie

Apr 3, 2020

Easy and fun!

创建者 Lucia K

Oct 27, 2017

Good course!

创建者 Ibrahima

Mar 22, 2019

Excellent

创建者 Suraj k

May 13, 2020

I learnt to critically question how peoples behaviors are motivated. Examples from different communities were good. The language jargon could be lesser so concepts could be understood more easily.

I wish the course could have been more valuable in terms of teaching us how to measure behaviour and also in terms of the hours spent.