Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,751 个评分
455 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
Aug 4, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

筛选依据:

51 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 75 个评论(共 444 个)

创建者 Oana V N

Dec 28, 2019

An essential course for helping professionals. I can't wait to read professor's Bicchieri work on social norms!

创建者 Albert B

Jan 15, 2019

An awesome, concise, and detailed introduction to understanding how to approach social norms and social change.

创建者 Carlo

Nov 27, 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

创建者 Rodrigo S

Jul 23, 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

创建者 Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

创建者 鈴木日出海

Jan 29, 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

创建者 ANANT S

Aug 4, 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

创建者 Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

创建者 Farhad B

Feb 23, 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

创建者 Godwin K

Sep 17, 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

创建者 Najib a A

May 1, 2020

It is an important course for all workers in social work and leaders of change in their societies

创建者 Musa Y S

Dec 30, 2019

Dear Professor Cristina Bicchieri just was amazingly present that course for us thank u so much

创建者 Hafþór L

Oct 16, 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

创建者 Shrabanti K

Jun 11, 2020

This is such an wonderful course i have with an amazing instructor, she is really really good.

创建者 Vertika H S

Aug 9, 2019

the course really helps one understand the social issues prevalent all across the globe.

创建者 Ayush J

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course for development communicators, and social norms change practicioners.

创建者 Salman K

May 10, 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

创建者 Abdula K

Jul 25, 2020

Good information but i felt a little bored during the lectures.

创建者 Ivana V

Feb 19, 2020

It would have been more interesting if the focus wasn't predominantly on theory which is all quite similar and gets kind of dull after a while. Including more diverse practical examples, or even better presenting case studies would have made the course much better for me.

创建者 Zohre S

Apr 6, 2020

I've learnt some interesting useful terms like "reference network" to describe daily struggles but I wish I could intellectually challenge myself more. Another significant downside to the course is the examples and the colonial mentality behind them!

创建者 Juan E

Mar 4, 2019

No es suficientemente claro en las explicaciones por lo tanto las opciones de respuestas a los cuestionarios complican mas la percepción de haber o no comprendido los conceptos.

创建者 Cheryl C

Apr 9, 2020

The class was well taught; However, I would have preferred more examples. That is more applications across different topics where the need for social change is indicated.

创建者 Danielle G

Mar 26, 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.

创建者 Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

创建者 RECEP B

Feb 22, 2020

4.Haftanın videolarında Türkçe altyazı olmadığı için pek anlayamadım.4 haftanın videolarına Türkçe altyazı eklenmeli.Onun dışında güzel bir kurstu.