Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,389 个评分
354 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

筛选依据:

126 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 150 个评论(共 343 个)

创建者 Amr M S R

Dec 13, 2018

I was a great course and we learned a lot and learned how to work with society in a different waymany thanks

创建者 Rodrigo S

Jul 23, 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

创建者 Nirmal G

Aug 28, 2019

It is wonderful to learn about how our society and the way people living in it behave;cause and effects.

创建者 Lucy D

Oct 18, 2017

I was evaluating the 'manageability' of these types of courses and found it very 'manageable'! so 10/10!

创建者 Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

创建者 Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

创建者 Luz H H

Dec 05, 2019

The content was clear, relevant and contextualized for a better understanding throughout the lectures.

创建者 Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

创建者 鈴木日出海

Jan 29, 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

创建者 ANANT S

Aug 04, 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

创建者 Kirubhaharan j

Jul 24, 2019

This course social norms and social I can help to understand current situation take in part of world

创建者 Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

创建者 Farhad B

Feb 23, 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

创建者 Godwin K

Sep 17, 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

创建者 Ritsu N

Jun 26, 2017

Very useful course. Gave me a lot of ideas on how to go about designing social change initiatives.

创建者 Najib a a

May 01, 2020

It is an important course for all workers in social work and leaders of change in their societies

创建者 Quji B

Apr 11, 2020

Very practical and concise course. Very useful in identifying and treating various social norms.

创建者 Musa Y S

Dec 30, 2019

Dear Professor Cristina Bicchieri just was amazingly present that course for us thank u so much

创建者 Hafþór L

Oct 16, 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

创建者 Oiram J B d S J

Nov 22, 2019

Excelent course to whom need critical information about how to change the society to welfare.

创建者 Jacob A M

Sep 10, 2019

I was much interested and have learn many concepts in this course. The course very excellent

创建者 Md. M M

Mar 11, 2020

Great lectures. Repetition made catch the previous discussions and go on to the next level.

创建者 Basudev M

Jan 28, 2019

It's a very useful course to understand the society and various dynamics of social change.

创建者 Tofail A

Sep 06, 2019

Excellent way of learning in collective approach with examples. I am enjoying the course.

创建者 Marta G

May 05, 2020

Good course! I refresh a lot of my old competence and learn new things! thankyou so much