Chevron Left
返回到 Social Norms, Social Change I

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Social Norms, Social Change I 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,754 个评分
455 条评论

课程概述

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

热门审阅

PE
Mar 5, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
Jun 25, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

筛选依据:

126 - Social Norms, Social Change I 的 150 个评论(共 444 个)

创建者 anurag

Jan 19, 2020

This course gave me the reasoning behind all events which i see on day to day basis. From complex issues by the governments to minute details shown by my friends and family. Cant Thanks enough to learn this course.

创建者 Alvaro C

Sep 10, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this class. First of all, it gave us tools on how to approach norms and behaviours, and secondly it made is seem clear. I will definitely use some of the learnings in my future missions.

创建者 christine a a

Nov 25, 2020

A great initiative. This course has enabled me to be able view certain issues in different perspectives that I never knew existed in my community. Will definitely help in my mentorship dream!!!!! Thank you!

创建者 David L F R

Apr 16, 2020

It is a really great course. The content is very interesting, the topics are well divided and presented, all the given information is clear and the lectures are amusing. You can learn a lot in this course.

创建者 Rajaa B

Mar 26, 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

创建者 Nahum J A

Aug 30, 2020

The course materials are educative and just right for education purpose, I appreciate the facilitator and say thank you for your time and the knowledge you impact on me about Social Norm’s

创建者 Waqar A

Nov 23, 2019

its been really wonderful to have Social Norms, Social Change certificate course . Bicchieri C, Lindemans is wonderful lecturer , explain in simple and easy way which is easy to understand.

创建者 William M

Aug 31, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It absolutely made me reconsider how I approach a problem. Understanding the reason why people think the way they do is essential in driving positive change.

创建者 Pablo C G

Oct 4, 2020

The course provides very clear explanations of the theoretical concepts in connection with social norms, as well as numerous examples on how to apply such theory in real life situations.

创建者 Arwa A

Aug 20, 2017

GOOD course i learn from it a lot of information and concepts about the community and how to analyse the behavior of my community and think different about the solution of the problem .

创建者 Excellence T D

Oct 13, 2019

For a first time user, fresh to this information, it was stimulating and exciting to be learning how to identify social norms etc. and how to measure various aspects to effect change.

创建者 Mohamud M

Jun 6, 2020

The course materials, videos and readings are quite detailed and appropriate to enable one easily understand the subject, participate in discussions and answer the quizzes questions.

创建者 Sarah S Y

Jun 15, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

创建者 Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

创建者 Rex L

Aug 2, 2019

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

创建者 Saúl A

Jul 10, 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

创建者 Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

创建者 Michael T D

Mar 6, 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

创建者 Matt D

Sep 16, 2021

Very interesting and informative, everything being taught was taught in a clear manner, even for someone who has not previously studied this topic in any regard.

创建者 Damini B

Apr 9, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

创建者 umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

创建者 Diego P L

Oct 3, 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

创建者 सोच: T V

Aug 20, 2020

It was an informative course in practical life across the world. All facts and examples were very relevant and very much helpful to understand the society.

创建者 Lilen Q

Feb 10, 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

创建者 Gilbert A A

Apr 22, 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.